We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hen weekend hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Great hen weekend hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

Stayed here for a hen weekend, good value, lovely buffet breakfast. We all had rooms adjacent to each other and the management didn't mind us having music and a few drinks before going out. Would stay again. Very good location for going out in the bay

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fp1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    331
    172
    43
    8
See reviews for
210
282
30
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Easy acess to Cardiff Bay and Millenium Centre, turn left out of hotel to the end of Schooner Way and you will see Centre in front of you. Ten minute walk or £3.50 in taxi. You will also walk past Red Dragon Centre with shops,and restaurants.

Hotel clean and friendly though they do charge £3 for car park.

Cardiff Bay has most of the famous chain restaurants so plenty of choice plus a Tesco Express if you want to buy water, sandwiches, wine etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyduckBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

Booked four rooms here for a family function. Hotel was very welcoming. very clean a nd rooms were well laid out and spacious with good showers.
We checked in early evening and was given a restaurant reccomendation of the Bar&Grill across the way, the hotel hold their menu's so I assume they are in partnership with them. 8 of us had main meals with wine and he bill came to £90, nice food at a good price.
Although if you wanted to stay in the hotel seemed happy for you to eat your own food or have a take-away delivered, they even have menu's at the reception.
We was not able to get a table at breakfast the next morning as the whole restaurant was taken up with people watching the rugby!! However they opened one of their business suites and we had breakfast in there, food was basic but ok.
A £3 charge for the carpark is added to your bill.
Great basic hotel that I would be happy to stay at again.

Room Tip: Double rooms face the river, twins face the carpark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2011

We stayed here in July as part of a family wedding trip. The hotel was clean and comfortable with good facilities. Pleasant staff and comfortable bar area to relax in. We didn't eat at the hotel so can't comment on the food but the dining area looked spacious and clean.
The hotel is situated in Cardiff Bay so there are restaurants and cafe bars nearby to have a walk to, however the city centre is a short drive away.
Our room was clean and comfortable, all facilities were available in the room and we would have no qualms staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KealWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Went here for a hen weekend, was in an idea location, just a short train or taxi ride into Cardiff Centre and out of the hustle and noise so you can get a good nights sleep, great staff nice and friendly and they accomodated us with the bar staying open until late.

A great choice

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crissy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, Kent
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

We picked this hotel because of its location, between the city centre and the lovely quayside of Cardiff Bay and because it has a secure car park (£3 a night) which many of the central hotels don't have. We had heard that the city centre becomes a bit raucous in the evening at this time of year as it is 'freshers week' and the new students make the most of being away from home!
This hotel overlooks the river and is within easy reach of shopping and restaurants - approx 15 mins walk to Cardiff Bay (or just £5 taxi fare) which is a lovely new development with numerous restaurants to choose from overlooking the water. In the city centre, just a few mins drive away, there are modern undercover shopping precincts and some quaint older ones, plus the castle. Most shops were open on Sunday too. Hotel itself was very pleasant with a good choice of food for breakfast (included in the price). Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlook the river or the car park, so if given the choice I would pick the river - there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tandiFolkestone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2011

Stayed for one friday night. Room overlooked car park and not Bay. usual high quality standard of the room but sleep was interrupted due to chattering from youngsters for most of the night! Can't understand why they accomodate youngsters near 'mature' couples. Television had BBC1 on four different stations and little else. Breakfast ok but guest lounge is very small. Can't understand why they have to charge £3 for parking!

Room Tip: perhaps to ask for non-family room (without Sofa)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beatrice n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Expedia, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing