We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great stay for cheaper nights away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Thank you to all the staff at Holiday inn express.
a particualr outstanding member of the Team is Lewis, who helped make suggestions of where to eat etc and various locations.
everyone was extreamly pleasent there, and nothing is too much trouble for them. Real joy that everyone on the front desk is Welsh/English and not Far Eastern European, as tends to be everywhere i have stayed!
stayed in twin room, the bed are a tad uncomfy, but the breakfast and location more than makes up for it, used as a base for NYE, so cheap and great Value for money.

Room Tip: all rooms in odd numebrs have a few of the Wharf!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Dear Alexellie

Thank you for leaving such lovely comments with regards to the team here at the Hotel - I'll certainly make sure that these are passed on.

I agree, we have one of the best locations - ideal for venturing into both the City Centre and Cardiff Bay.

Kind Regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 13 December 2011

I use this hotel a lot for my business trips to Cardiff, Catherine and Kerry Ann are always very pleasant and abliging. it is perfectly situated to explore either Cardiff Bay or Cardiff City Centre both being about a 10-15 minute walk. The rooms are clean and tidy with Flat Screen televisions, radio facility and adequate bathrooms with showers. Breakfast is served most days from 6.30am and is mainly continetal, but this year they have started offering scrambled egg and sausage. The small lounge bar is very useful with draft lager and bitter on tap, there is also a small selection of wines and spirts on offer. Overall a great place to stay to explore Cardiff..

Room Tip: The end of the corridor rooms are quieter 337/237/137
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear PAButo

Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments about our Hotel. I am very lucky to have such a great team here - who look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The hotel is fine but at this time of the year it is a bit to far from the city. If it rains or at this time of the year a cold wind is blowing the 20/25 min. walk is a bit to far. The road is flat all the way in to city.
The walk to Cardiff Bay is 10/15 mins. again no hills.
I would like to return to this hotel in the summer (hope it does not rain ) as the city has a lot to offer also walking to the bay with all it's restaurants would be a joy.
The hotel is very good for a w/e break ,the staff always very polite @ jolly. B/Fast was good. The coffee was the best I have had in a hotel.
There is pub next door serving food, However if you want a bar meal on rugby w/e BEWARE if you want a bottle of wine, they pour into a very large plastic jug ( 2lt ) without warning you. The food was fine, they suggested the meal would take 30/45 mins.so I counted the number of people in the pub, It was 13. So I complained, the food arrived in 10 mins. and it was good.
The staff did not seemed interested. This was a Saturday night. 3rd Dec.

Room Tip: If you book a room overlooking the water on the far side of the dock there is a very busy road,it ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOGAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear Logan

I'm glad that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that the team here were able to look after you. I'm sure you know only too well about the good welsh weather, so fingers crossed when you return in the summer that the sun will be shining over Cardiff Bay!

Kind Regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

Our family stayed here for one night when touring around Cardiff and we were pleased. The hotel room was clean and comfortable, and the staff was courteous and helpful. We walked from the hotel to the downtown area (Cardiff Castle and Millennium Stadium). It was about a 15 minute walk, and was super easy. We could have reached Cardiff Bay area in 10 or so minutes on foot from the hotel (opposite direction of center city), but we were too tired at the end of the day to go! The breakfast buffet was average, but satisfactory. All in all, we would recommend the hotel, no problem.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2011

Dear Sherri M

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. The hotel does have a fabulous location which makes it a perfect base to explore Cardiff City Centre as well as Cardiff Bay area - and there is so much to see and do of course!

I'm glad that our Free Breakfast met your needs - we have only recently started offering the hot items along with the continental selection.

I look forward to welcoming you and your family back next time you are in the area.

Kind Regards
Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Stayed for one night for the Lee Evans concert at The CIA. Close enough to the event. Not an expensive taxi ride. Rooms were not very big, but big enough. The bed was extremely comfortable. The Hotel was clean. Staff were friendly and helpful. Not overly important but the shower towels were a very good size, and good quality. Hate drying on a postage stamp sized towel. These were great! Breakfast concidering it was included in the price of the room was much more than adequate. Worth getting up for. Also when we got back lateish after the concert the bar was still open and remained open for a while. Quite late actually. The price of the room was inexpensive compared to others in Cardiff. Over all a very comfortable night.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackSwans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear BlackSwans

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel on this site. We do appreciate all feedback and I'll certainly make sure that your kind comments are shared with the whole team here.

Kind Regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

This hotel was very nice and well located... Bad points: a little bit col within rooms, and the breakfast was not exceptional!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear bchevallerau

Firstly, many thanks for leaving a review for us. It is our aim to ensure that all guests are comfortable here at the hotel and I'm sorry that you felt the bedroom temperature to be cold. We have now ensured that all guests checking in during the winter months already have the bedroom heating switched on for their comfort.
With regards to breakfast, we have recently started offering our free continental buffet, which does include selected hot items as the Holiday Inn Express Standard.

I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

We've stayed here a number of times and always found it of a very good standard. The hotel is clean, the staff friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and quiet.
10 - 15 min walk and you're in the city centre.
If it's the right price and they have a room, stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Regen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £41 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing