We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good simple hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good simple hotel”
Reviewed 20 June 2012

I stayed one night at this hotel while on business. The hotel provides everything for the business traveller - Quiet room, parking, WiFi, and work space. As with all HIEX Hotels breakfast is a bit average.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear Stuart123456

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. I am pleased that you had everything you needed as a business customer and do hope that we will welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    342
    175
    45
    9
See reviews for
215
293
30
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just had a weekend break at Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay.
Location: By the river, close to cardiff bay and Mermaid Quay; Please note no shops for everyday things close by.

Rooms: were average, Tea & coffee making facilities, Hairdryer, shower jel all provided. The bed was abit too bouncy for a comfortable sleep. The decor could do with abit of update, the size of the room was just right. Views of either the car park or the river.

Staff: Very helpful, polite and have all the answers to your questions. All staff reception, catering and cleaning were smiling all the time; very welcoming.

Parking: The hotel charges £5 daily for car park, i parked on the street outside there was always space free whenever we needed.

Food: The breakfast wasn't the best very repetitive, scrambled eggs,sausages,fruits,croissaints,tea and coffee machine, fresh milk and cereals. There is a Pub right next door, however we choose to stroll up to the mermaid Quay.

Mermaid Quay: Lovely location something for everyone, the kids can go on rides, there's ice cream and desserts available, wide selection of restaurants for every taste all clustered together. Lovely views of the water you can also go on boat rides or simply sit outside and people watch or go for a stroll along the promenade. Beautiful place.

In summary Cardiff was very lovely and clean, oh the Cardiff castle is well worth a visit,money well spent. Nice for a short break.

Room Tip: we stayed on the second floor with view of the river. or you can have view of the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicknMarta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 5 July 2012
Dear NicknMarta

Thank you for leaving a review for us and I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again next time you are in Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012 via mobile

This hotel is an example of how good Holiday Inn Express can be. Check in was easy and the staff were friendly. The room was fine - clean and tidy.

Breakfast was as you would expect, but with nice views.

You do have to pay for parking which seems unnecessary, but it is not hugely expensive.

10 minute walk from Cardiff Bay and all it's bars / restaurants.

Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear JamesShelley

Thank you so much for your review. We are indeed very lucky to have such beautiful views here for guests to enjoy during breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards
Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed in Cardiff for a night. This hotel is in excellent location for City Centre and The Bay. Excellent price, with continental or cooked breakfast. Very clean rooms. Comfy bed! Receptionist was superb. Very helpful and cheery. Couldn't fault it. Will definitely use again next time in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Go for a lake view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Haydn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear HaydnC

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review of the hotel.

I look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Have become quite a fan of Holiday Inn Express Hotels recently and Cardiff Bay didn't disappoint. Within walking distance of both Cardiff City and Cardiff bay. Very comfortable rooms. All you need for a short break without the frills. Staff are very helpful and go to no end of trouble to keep the customer satisfied. Will return to this hotel again

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinSylvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear DublinSylvia

I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us - and that you found the team here to be helpful.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon!

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We were given early check in which was a bonus. The rooms are your typical chain hotel rooms and although the breakfast is free its rather simple. They have a nice pub next store called the wharf.

This is a good place if you have a car otherwise you would have to do a lot of walking or cabs because it's a 20in walk to the city centre.

Pros
Close to the cardiff bay entertainment area.
Breakfast inc
Hotel located in a quite area beside the canal.

Cons (I think these should be inc.)
Wi-fi not inc.
£5 to park in there parking lot

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelTimeCDA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear TravelTime CDA

Many thanks for leaving a review for our hotel.

I'm glad that we managed to assist you with an early check in - and that you enjoyed your time with us.

I have noted your comments with regards to charges for car parking and internet - all feedback is greatly received.

Our location is ideal for exploring both the city centre - which is a 20 minute walk and Cardiff Bay - which is only 10 minutes from the hotel.

I do hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Although this is just a chain hotel it has one big thing going for it (apart from the price - we paid £59 for bed and breakfast for one night which isn't bad), and that the location. It is about equidistant from Cardiff Bay and from the City centre: both are about ten minutes walk from the hotel.

This was our first time in Cardiff and we were both impressed. The City Centre has an impressive shopping area and added attractions such as Cardiff Castle and the Millenium Stadium. cardiff Bay itself has all the usual upmarket bars and restaurants and, although it can be a bit pricey, is well worth a visit.

The hotel itself is clean, comfortable and has helpful and friendly staff. The only quibble I have (and many hotels are guilty of this now) is that we had to pay for parking (only £5 but the car park is part of the land the hotel stands on so this should come as an obvious freebie to guests).

Other than that it's fine and for the price it's a very good base from which to explore Cardiff.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillofWythall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear WillofWythall

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

With regards to car park charges, we recently installed CCTV cameras and a barrier system into the car park to provide security and peace of mind for our guests - which is why there is a small charge for this.

I'm glad that you found our location ideal and look forward to welcoming you both back next time you are in Cardiff!

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,081 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 73 in Cardiff
2,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing