We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap value hotel - you get what you pay for.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #15 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Cheap value hotel - you get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Over the years holiday inn has steadily declined to join the likes of travelodge & premier inn. This is fine so long as you know you get what you pay for.

Pros :
Location location location! In a quiet residential area but you can walk to anywhere.

Clean & tidy

Cons

The bed!!!! So uncomfortable - my hubby and I were rolling into the middle. It was like sleeping on a hill!

Busy road to rear (noisy all night)

Only one tea bag :(
(which we could have rectified but at 6:30am we couldn't be bothered!)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mrs_Vinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Mrs_Vinny

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We do value all feedback and will certainly make sure that your thoughts are shared with the team here.

I am concerned about your comments with regards to your bed and wonder if you could either call me on 029 20449000 or email me karen.matthews@exhicardiff.co.uk to let me know which room you stayed in so that I can investigate this further.

Thanks again

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    330
    172
    43
    8
See reviews for
210
282
30
122
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2012

This hotel offers the standard Holiday Inn Express experience, which is clean and modern rooms, comfortable beds and a free breakfast which includes a small range of cooked items (scrambled eggs, baked beans and sausages).

The hotel is well located in a quiet area next to Atlantic Wharf, but is 10 minutes walk to Mermaid Quay in Cardiff Bay which has a large choice of well known restaurants. There is also a cinema complex with some restaurants within 5 minutes walk.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonofagunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear sonofagunn

Thank you for such a lovely review of our hotel and the surrounding area. I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

Fantastic hotel and affordable too. Room very clean, serviced daily and if there were any issues, they were dealt with promptly and efficiently. The radiator didn't work in our room, but staff very quickly brought an oil filled one and apologised for the fault. Breakfast is as others have described: sausage, scrambled egg and beans with some hot croissants, as well as yoghurts and fruit. There's plenty of it though! We brought the kids for the Doctor Who Experience and it's a dead easy walk to the Bay for a great selection of places to visit and eat; Cardiff City Centre is a 20 min walk in the other direction.
All in all, it's worth it just for breakfast overlooking Atlantic Wharf! Staff very courteous.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil72Bolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Phil72Bolton

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review of our hotel.
I'm pleased to read that the team here were able to resolve the issue with your radiator so quickly.

I do hope that we can welcome you and your family back to Cardiff again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

We paid £57 for a family room for three which included breakfast - this was an advance rate and really good value. We were in Cardiff to see Michael McIntyre at the Motorpoint Arena just 20 mins walk from the hotel, and only 10 mins walk to Cardiff Bay in the other direction. Staff very friendly and efficient although breakfast is a bit of a scrum in the morning if everyone arrives at the same time.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper ask for a room on the car park side away from the river as it's by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bindu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willenhall
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My son and I stayed here for a long weekend, the main reason for our visit was to enjoy the Speedway Grand Prix at the Millennium Stadium. We arrived quite early but our room was ready for us. Great room on ground floor overlooking the car park. The room was spacious and well furnished and was very quiet. The location was fantastic less than 10 minutes to walk to the Bay area and about 20 minutes in the other direction to the city center.
All the staff were extremely polite and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. A particular mention for the staff who worked in the breakfast room. During our stay breakfast was particularly busy on all the days with both speedway fans and on Tuesday participants from the previous nights Paralympic Celebrations.The staff worked really very hard and were always polite, friendly and efficient in what were very busy and sometime hectic conditions. Well done everyone.
Breakfast was plentiful and provided a good and varied choice.
Would definately stay at this hotel again, great value for money, ideal location for a visit to Cardiff and a warm welcome from all ther staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Davids, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

My husband and I stayed here for two nights over the bank holiday weekend.
We were up in Cardiff for an event on the Saturday so booked over a year in advance for the Saturday night. This cost us a ridiculous £120!! (we had no choice as everywhere was full) A month or two ago we booked the Sunday night too, which only cost us about £65!

The hotel is in a great place, only 15/20 mins walk to the city center and about 10 mins walk to the bay, so we were able to leave our car there the whole weekend and go where we pleased. Car parking is £5 a night, although as others have said you could probably park on the road side outside the hotel if you wanted.

It seems to be in a nice enough area as we walked back after 11pm on the Saturday evening from the city and although walked quicker than usual didn't feel particularly unsafe.

The breakfast choice was slightly limited (as with all holiday inn expresses), but enough for what we wanted and we had the added bonus on the Sunday morning that as it was lovely weather we could sit outside and eat our breakfast by the river, which was really nice.

The room was a little worn in places. For example in the bathroom the grout was looking a bit rough round the shower and there were black bits on edges. Not from not being cleaned, just ingrained from water seeping under the silicon I think.
Our shower strangely was held up with an elastic band as the tightening bit had gone. It worked well enough but I was not impressed having been charged £120 for the room.
There was also a horrible eggy smell coming up from the sink drain.

My only major problem with this hotel was the bed. It may have just been me going by other reviews, but I have never felt so uncomfortable in a hotel bed.The mattress was very hard and had buttons on it (as mattresses do) but you could feel ever single one and I actually was left with button marks down the side of my body that I had slept on and had an awful nights sleep.

On our first morning I mentioned this to reception and asked if there was anything they could put under the sheet. They were very helpful and said they'd sort something and sure enough when we got back there was something under the sheet to make it a bit softer. Unfortunately it didn't make much of a difference and I still woke with marks and a numb hip.

So in summary, if you can help it, do not pay £120 for a room, but other than being ridiculously expensive for that first night it was a good hotel with friendly staff and perfectly located for what we wanted. Unfortunately due to the inability for me to have a good nights sleep because of the mattress we will not be staying again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BexAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 21 September 2012
Dear BexAnn,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I appreciate the compliments about our hotel staff and location. We are set on Cardiff Bay's picturesque old east dock, just 15 minutes walk into Cardiff City center for cosmopolitan shopping and vibrant nightlife. I apologize about the issues you experienced in your room accommodation particularly with our beds. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It is our regret that we fell short of our goal in this instance. While we understand that your stay was less than satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Lera M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Typically I'd stay in a travel lodge for one night if i'm out but we booked this as it was on offer and close to where we were going that night. Simular standard to a travel lodge, basic but clean. Better quality furniture and things to a travel lodge. Room overlooked car park, quiet area in amoungst a housing estate. Beautiful views in resturaunt/bar area onto a lake. Would definatley stay again, staff happy to help, ordered us a taxi in the night to our comedy club in the bay the deck which was also a different fun night out. Breakfast was appauling though, hardly any choice and warm food was only luke warm wouldn't go for breakfast included next time. Would definatley stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica_russ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,030 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
2,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing