We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a good location but NO free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location close to Cardiff Bay with pretty secure parking in a quiet area. The room overlooked the water which is nice - BUT let itself down for the business user by the lack of any free wifi although the staff pointed out you can get free wifi in the pub opposite......which is the point !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JDNSKI1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2013

Dear JDNSKI1,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. I am pleased to know that our location suited your needs and our rooms exceeded your expectations. I apologize for the inconvenience the wifi may have caused you. We are continually reviewing the products and service we provide, therefore guest feedback is very important to us.

Again, I wish to thank you for your input and hope to see you the next time you travel to our area.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (860)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 860 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed here for 8 nights on business. Unlike in the US, the room rates in the UK seem to increase during the weekends. Another typical Holiday Inn Express property. Clean, spacious rooms, excellent breakfast, centrally located yet in a quiet neighbourhood, overlooking what I thought was the coast [thanks to the name of the hotel] only to realise later that it was some sort of a canal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ArunTourister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2013

Dear Aruntourister

I am pleased to read your comments with regards to your overall stay and do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting Cardiff for the first time. Easy to find and parking no issue. Check in was simple and friendly. Arrived at our room, water side as requested and sofa bed made with extra towels etc. Reception answered all our questions and gave us a map to help us get around. The Bay is only a 10min walk away. Ample restaurants and 2 mini supermarkets if you need supplies. Breakfast was well stocked and tables cleared and cleaned very efficiently, breakfast staff always seemed happy and smiling. I cannot find fault with any part of this hotel, will definitely stay here again when we return to Cardiff as there is so much more to explore.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Sarah H

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding your recent stay with us. I hope that we can welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

A week before our stay I phoned the hotel (029 2044 9000) and spoke to a receptionist. I asked for rooms on the first floor with the children's room next door. We were given rooms with a connecting door, which is ideal for a family. Room 101 had a walk-in shower, so was suitable for a disabled person.
The dining area looked on to the canal and was a pleasant place to sit during the day or evening and the tables and chairs outside would be popular in warmer weather. There was a drinks machine with tea, coffee etc. costing just £1.50. The pub next door, The Wharf (owned by Cardiff's Brain's Brewery) is a bonus. It serves reasonably priced meals and snacks with a chef's specials board and a children's menu. The beer is good too.
All the staff at the Holiday Inn were pleasant, friendly and helpful. A child's medicine was put in a fridge and cheerfully produced when required.
Breakfast was from 6.30 to 9.30 and there was plenty of fresh fruit, i.e. apples and bananas, as well as cereals, yoghurts and tinned grapefruit. Toast and hot drinks were d.y.o., but everything else was ready to help yourself and was quickly replenished. The croissants were warm and the mini muffins were popular. There were a few hot items, such as scrambled eggs.
Our bedroom was well equipped with a flat screen T.V., hair dryer and kettle etc. for hot drinks, but no biscuits. The shower was excellent and the large newish towels were changed daily. There were liquid soap dispensers and a box of tissues and a notice saying that other toiletries were available from reception. The weather was extremely cold and there was a noticeable draught from the bedroom window. Pillows were labelled firm and soft. There was a duvet, but no extra blankets. The studio couch cover was stained and a slat had been replaced.
We walked from Cardiff Bay railway station, which took about 10 minutes and the children were happy to see a playground, equipped for both children and adults, off Schooner Way. The bus fare into Cardiff City Centre is £1.75 for an adult and there are buses every 10 minutes, (but only at 43 minutes past the hour from the stop near the hotel). It is a 20 minute walk. We were not brave enough for the boat trip to Cardiff Castle.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal rather than the car park are more scenic.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear ElizabethChester

Thank you for your feedback with regards to your recent stay here at the Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay.

I am pleased to read that you all enjoyed your visit to the hotel - and in particular your kind comments with regards to the staff.

We are in the process of organising a schedule of works at the hotel, which includes replacement windows - which will overcome the issue which you had with the draught. We are also replacing our sofa beds shortly.

Thank you once again for reviewing our hotel and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from Cardiff having spent a night at this hotel. After booking earlier in the year we experienced some problems as we needed to amend our dates and felt that the service we received at that point was quite poor. However we did say that we would write an honest review following our visit. On arrival we received a very warm professional greeting. The hotel is very clean and warm. The rooms were nice and bright and very clean with tea making facilities. The bedding and towels were immaculate and the shower was lovelt and hot. The location is great, 10 minutes one way to the city centre and 10 minutes the other way to mermaid quay. The breakfast was a nice surprise, a good variety and plentiful. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone taking a short break in Cardiff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianefromLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear DianefromLeicester

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel again following your recent stay with us. I am pleased to read that we have managed to improve on your initial expectations and do hope that we can have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

This is a standard layout - newish HIE - so from the moment you arrive, you know what you are going to get.

Service at reception was fine - profession and quite fast and soon I was in my standard layout room (I like consistancy). Delighted to be looking out over the docks - nice view, just a bit cold to go walking out there.

As usual, I slepted well in the bed, but was awoken by a fire alarm at 8am - I suspect it was a sneaky smoker in this all non-smoking premises.

Breakfast is the usual, slightly chaotic affair, but I can live with this - it was Easter, so plenty of children in the hotel and because of the alarm, I suspect a lot of people came to breakfast at the same time.

What was nice is that there is space in this HIE for breakfast - sometimes the number of tables to guests is very lacking.

I do like HIE breakfasts - not the widest choice, but everything I need is there and the quality is fine.

If you want to be in the centre of Cardiff - this is not the best choice, but it is a short walk or Taxi to the centre and nice and quiet in the evening.

Nice stay and I will stay again when I need a 1 night stop in Cardiff - if I stay longer, then I go to the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkwind1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Hawkwind 1966

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am aware that the fire alarm was sounded during your stay - which was caused by a guest using a hairdryer when there was lots of steam from the shower in their room. This in turn meant that the majority of guests chose to have breakfast before heading back to their rooms after the fire evacuation had taken place. I am pleased to read that regardless of this you enjoyed your breakfast.

We do advise our guests that to walk to the city centre takes approximately 20 minutes and likewise to cardiff bay would be 10 minutes from the hotel. We can of course organise taxis for those who would prefer.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the view of the East Dock and perhaps on your next visit it will hopefully be warmer outside so that you can enjoy a bit more!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

I've stayed here twice within the past 2 wks and it's perfect for a stay due to business.

I'm not using the word budget to be negative as its a very GOOD budget hotel and a sign outside also describes it as such.

Good, clean and comfortable and the staff are superb - nothing is too much trouble.

Within walking distance of both Cardiff Bay and the city centre it is ideal and on the waterfront facing the Wharf.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Wharf - waterfront.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SunTan_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear SunTan_14

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review of your stay and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £52 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing