We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Due to an error in our travel plans (always use caution when using points) we ended up staying at the Holiday Inn Express. I have to admit that I was rather happy with the change, though my spouse was less than thrilled. In the end, we had a great time and the hotel worked perfectly fine for us.

The hotel was extremely clean, the staff was fantastic and for us we found the hotels location to be very quiet and relaxing.

The location is interesting in that it is exactly between city centre and Cardiff Bay, it is a healthy walk or a brief taxi ride to either. We enjoy walking as much as possible, so we almost always chose the walk, but there were a few misty nights where it was just a bit too chilly for us to make the walk. But in Cardiff taxi's tend to be pretty cheap by comparison to other locations I've visited.

Cardiff is a great vibrant city and this is a more reasonable location than some of the downtown spots. It was exactly what I expected from a Holiday Inn Express in the US, with the notable addition of bangers, beans and an abundance of toast on the morning breakfast. Not my personal favorite and I somewhat missed the "make your own waffle" that I've come to know and love in the US, but I'm certain my waste-line wasn't missing the carbs.

I would recommend the hotel for any traveler looking to save a few bucks and who doesn't mind a bit of a walk. But do keep in mind that in this location you can easily get to the bay or the city centre, its a nice perk!

Room Tip: Try to get one on the water side, very nice hotel though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear cjfry

I'm really pleased to read that despite an initial issue with your travel plans you were both able to enjoy your break with us and of course that you made the most of our location here in Cardiff.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 876 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2013

Three of us stayed for two nights for our annual get together. The hotel is well placed for walking into the city and also the bay. The rooms are on the smaller size but they're spotlessly clean and well equipped. Breakfast was a simple, help yourself buffet but had everything needed to start the day.

Karen and the other staff were fantastically helpful checking bookings for us and giving recommendations, all the staff we met were charming, it felt like a small, family run hotel, rather than a cheapish hotel in a large chain.

Would definitely use it again for a trip to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank igdm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear igdm4

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent weekend break with us. I'm delighted to read that you all enjoyed your stay and hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again the next time you are planning a trip.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Enjoyed a Sunday and Monday night here this week, very friendly and informative staff, very clean and functional. Close to Cardiff Bay Area and also short walk to city centre. Very close to Red Dragon Centre. I you don't want to venture out then there is a pub on the docks called The Wharf, which served some one best 'chain' pub food I have had in years.

Would I stay gain yes, will I return, yes, will I recommend, yes!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear andrewt3233

Thank you so much for your lovely review and your recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

very clean, comfy hotel our room was a bit noisy looking out over the water but it was hard to know where the constant noise was coming from perhaps the large industrial units? still it was easy to walk to the water front and into town, staff were very helpful and the breakfast was very good this would get top marks if the rooms were quieter and parking included

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scottynan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Scottynan

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

On the plus side. View over Canal , friendly staff clean and comfortable rooms. On the down side wifi is charged even in public areas. No satellite TV in the public areas. This is inconsistent with other hotels of this brand. I had booked the hotel expecting both.
If you book with independent hotels you check these things but with a national brand you expect consistency.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear longing-for-peace

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

At the moment internet is chargeable throughout the hotel, however from 1st July 2013, our current rewards scheme is change to IHG Rewards - and one of the many benefits will include FREE internet access to all Gold and Platinum Elite members during their stay with us.

Although Satellite TV is not a current brand standard for Holiday Inn Express, I have noted your comments for consideration in the future.

On a positive note, thank you for your comments with regards to the staff and the cleanliness of the hotel and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

I

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We booked this hotel for 37 people, ona Under 11's rugby tour from MAnchester, and I have to say we were very well lokked after. The staff were fantastic, the hotel is clean and very well laid out. The bedroom de3sign and layout was a bit awkward, but nothing worth complaining about. Very well recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Phil M

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us - and of course for the recommendation! We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back the next time the team are playing in Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

hello again just had a great 4 days bank holiday get away and stayed in the holiday inn at Cardiff bay am pleased to tell you that all the staff was ever so friendly and made us very welcome with are little dog Sammy we had a room faceing the dock and looked great at night time and some times there were swans in the dock with there babys here are the good bits about the hotel its very close to Cardiff bay its self which is lovely and all so close by to the red dragon shopping centre and very close by to Cardiff city centre and for all you shopers out there all I can say by jo there shopping centre is big you can get the bus by the hotel or if your fit enuff you could walk it in a short time sadly the only do breakfast at the holiday inn but there is the wharf pub and restaurant just over the canal by the hotel or you have restaurants nearby ie city centre or the red dragon centre I could only find 1 bad thing wrong which is daft really it can be noseie from the link way with motor bikes going up and down but hay it can be noseie any were we stay couldt it so really no bad points about the hotel we will be staying here again next time we go to Cardiff

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear mark h

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a lovely review. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your break with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you and of course Sammy back to the hotel the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing