We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent budget hotel, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel is rather difficult to find, but well worth persevering. When we arrived we were feeling rather frazzled but the friendly, helpful reception staff soon put us at ease. Our room was basic, but clean, comfortable and had everything we needed. The buffet breakfast was very good and must surely have catered for the needs of most people. Should we need to visit Cardiff again we will not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clare C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Clare C

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review and we all look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

611 - 617 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nice Hotel in beautiful location. Good access to Cardiff Bay and locate din nice scenery of canal. Clean rooms with everything as expected. Nice warm welcome from the staff member on arrival. Very nice lounge with the bar when you can recover and relax overlooking the canal. Secure car park. Good reliable Internet connection (charged extra).

Room Tip: Try to have a meal in the pub across the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonTravellerT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear LondonTravellerT

Thank you for your review - I was especially pleased to read that you found a good warm welcome when you arrived at the hotel and were able to relax and enjoy your stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nice waterside location, very freindly staff.
A little noise from the steelworks on the other side of the old harbour, perhaps compounded by some road noise, but only noticeable when you're outside.
Around a 10 to 15 minute walk to the harbour area which is very nice, great selection of restaurants to suit all tastes. The neighbouring pub (The Wharf) is also very convivial.
The only downside is the breakfast, not a great selection and my guess is that the sausages have never really contained any meat!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2013

Dear Chris C

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us - and in particular for your feedback on our Free breakfast. I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the selection which we have on offer.

On a positive note, I'm delighted to hear that you found our location handy for your visit to Cardiff and we do look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This was the second time we've stayed here. Nice, comfortable rooms, pleasant staff and not too far out from the centre of the bay, (15 min stroll). Would've got an extra point for free wi fi though. We'd stay again.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Hayley W

Thank you for taking the time to review your second stay with us.

I'm sure that the team here would have made you aware that from 1st July our current rewards scheme is changing to IHG Rewards. One of the benefits to the members is that everyone who has either Gold or Platinum Elite status will be entitled to FREE wi-fi during their stay. With this in mind, maybe we will get that extra point on your next visit with us!

We very much look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

This place is a little bit of a hike from Cardiff Central (with bags) but not too far. The service received more than makes up for the walk though. Extremely friendly and helpful. We had a hiccup with the keycards and the reception staff escorted us upstairs with the master just in case we had another problem. The staff seem happy to go above and beyond.
The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable.
The showers have good water pressure which seemed to make my wife very happy.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear Tim_Passe

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm sorry to read that you had an issue with your room key, but pleased to see that the team here looked after you well. I'll certainly make sure that your comments are shared with them.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

I was lucky enough to win a 2 night stay at this hotel, I really did not know what to expect but we had a great time. We were greeted by the very friendly staff & offered a coffee , our room was very clean & warm. The hotel is only a short walk from the city centre & the fantastic shops. The staff in the hotel gave some advice about the locat attractions & restaurants, the advice was first class & we had a great time. We had a good nights sleep the beds were comfortable & we were warm, the staff continued to be very helpful & we would definately stay here again. The only negative point was the scrambled egg for breakfast which was awful, but there were plenty of other things to eat so it didn't really bother us. Thankyou Holiday Inn you are doing a great job!!

Room Tip: We were on the first floor overlooking the car park it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susieq28Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear susieq28stone

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review of your stay with us. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to Cardiff and of course hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a trip.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Due to an error in our travel plans (always use caution when using points) we ended up staying at the Holiday Inn Express. I have to admit that I was rather happy with the change, though my spouse was less than thrilled. In the end, we had a great time and the hotel worked perfectly fine for us.

The hotel was extremely clean, the staff was fantastic and for us we found the hotels location to be very quiet and relaxing.

The location is interesting in that it is exactly between city centre and Cardiff Bay, it is a healthy walk or a brief taxi ride to either. We enjoy walking as much as possible, so we almost always chose the walk, but there were a few misty nights where it was just a bit too chilly for us to make the walk. But in Cardiff taxi's tend to be pretty cheap by comparison to other locations I've visited.

Cardiff is a great vibrant city and this is a more reasonable location than some of the downtown spots. It was exactly what I expected from a Holiday Inn Express in the US, with the notable addition of bangers, beans and an abundance of toast on the morning breakfast. Not my personal favorite and I somewhat missed the "make your own waffle" that I've come to know and love in the US, but I'm certain my waste-line wasn't missing the carbs.

I would recommend the hotel for any traveler looking to save a few bucks and who doesn't mind a bit of a walk. But do keep in mind that in this location you can easily get to the bay or the city centre, its a nice perk!

Room Tip: Try to get one on the water side, very nice hotel though!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjfry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Dear cjfry

I'm really pleased to read that despite an initial issue with your travel plans you were both able to enjoy your break with us and of course that you made the most of our location here in Cardiff.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,204 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing