We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 30 July 2013

nice hotel. situated near cardiff bay about 10 mins walk. Rooms good but we would have liked to be overlooking the water not the car park. Breakfast was a free for all buffet type with everyone piling in at same time, think it could be structured better. Hotel could do with pool fitness centre etc. Not the cheapest booking and on top of this was a £5 per night car park charge which i think hotel needs to review. Overall would stay again as enjoyed the weekend with froends.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the water not car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshmam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear welshmam6

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. As you can imagine, we do have lots of requests for rooms overlooking the Wharf side of the hotel and I'm sorry that on this occasion we were not able to allocate this for you. On weekends, we also do find that the majority of our guests enjoy a more 'leisurely' breakfast, which can mean some logistical challenges for us - especially as we offer a free breakfast in the morning.

I'm delighted to read that you will be back to visit us again and thank you once again for your valuable feedback!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (868)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

580 - 586 of 868 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights to visit friends in the area. We had moved from Cardiff a year before.
This hotel is easy to find by car. As is often the case, the car park isn't quite big enough. The counter staff seem efficient, and are very helpful & friendly. There is only one small lift, so you could have to wait for some time. They had also let one of the builder/decorators Woking on site take one of
the two suitcase trolleys for the day.
If you know Holiday Inn Express rooms in the UK, you will know them here. Enough room, decent telly, underpowered but ok kettle, comfortable bed.
Very handy for both the city and the bay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stevetupper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear stevetupper

Thank you for taking the time to leave a positive review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted to read that you found the team helpful and friendly and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We are a family with small children but this is best for adults as its full of stag parties! Initially it seemed perfect for visiting Cardiff and if you just want a room its great, but the discussions over breakfast from the other guests is not for the under 18s

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samsam2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear samsam2007

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am sorry to read that your experience at the hotel was marred by some of our other guests and have shared your comments with the team here, to make them aware and so that other guests are not affected in the same way.

Thank you once again for your feedback I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed here for one night. Our initial impression was disappointing as this is not in Cardiff Bay as we had expected. Nevertheless, the Bay is about a 10 to 15 minute walk away, so not that far away.
The rooms are adequate and I guess standard for Holiday Inn Express. Being hot weather, the air conditioning was certainly welcome.
Breakfast is usual fair, help yourself to a selection of pastries, fruit, cereals, yogurts, toast and even scrambled eggs and beans if so desired.
A reasonable Hotel for the money.

Room Tip: Request a water facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennyjcamp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Jennyjcamp

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and although our location was not as you had initially expected, I'm glad that you were able to enjoy your stay.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this lovely, friendly hotel and wanted to post a review as soon as possible by way of a thank you for an excellent 2 days. We found the hotel via Tripadvisor and, having seen some of the others we nearly stayed in, are pleased we chose it.
Why?

The location is lovely - very quiet, close to the Bay and the City Centre, by the waterside and close to the Bay Bus Route which was a real plus. (i.e. we paid £3.40 each for an all day ticket which gives you great access to a bus which does a circular route all day and stop about every 10 minutes). We caught a taxi to the Bay once and it cost us between £3.80 and £4.40 - very convenient.

From the moment we contacted the hotel we were impressed with the friendliness of the staff - all were very welcoming and were always smiling and full of useful information
The breakfast was enough to keep you happy - we had only paid £75 for our room so were not expecting the sort of breakfast that we would have in a 4 star hotel where we had paid double the amount.

The lounge area / dining area was by the water side and there were some seats where we were able to sit out in this beautiful weather.

The pub close by is ok for a snack / drink. The hotel also has a bar.

The room was spotlessly clean and extremely quiet - we hardly heard anyone and we were right by the lift. We had a lovely view of the water and the numerous ducks and swans ! The air con was much appreciated.

Why only 4 stars out of 5? I think we wanted to put 4.5 !

Basically, we had a great time and would not hesitate to book again. Thank you everyone at this HIE - we will be back!

Room Tip: Facing the waterside and the top floor is quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Presto2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Presto2

Thank you for taking the time to write a review so soon after your stay with us! I have shared your comments with the whole team and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Good location for visiting the Doctor Who Experience which was our main reason for visiting Cardiff. Hotel was clean and tidy and the staff are a credit to this establishment.
Great value for money, being the cheapest hotel we stayed in (2 adults 2 children) during our 3 weeks of touring the UK. The area around this hotel could do with some love and attention, but don't let it put you off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shuey803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear Shuey803

I'm pleased to read that you found our hotel to be value for money and an ideal base for exploring some of the attractions which Cardiff has to offer.

Although the area around the East Dock has not been developed as much as Mermaid Quay at the moment, I know that there are some plans to improve this in the future, which should make a difference.

Thank you for the review and I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst visiting family. It is about a 10 minute walk from the bay area and about a 20 minute walk from the city centre.
Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.
The room was adequate, comfortable and air conditioned, a bonus during the heatwave. The buffet breakfast was good value when you consider what you are paying, although bacon would have been nice, and perhaps a gluten free option, as my wife is gluten intolerant.
We were very pleased with the price promise, which meant we had two nights for the price of one, and that was also at a reduced rate. This was because we found the room was being offered cheaper on Trivago!! Well worth checking!
Would certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgstips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2013

Dear pgstips

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your break.

When we know about dietary requirements, we do offer gluten free bread & cereals and normally have a stock of these readily available on request.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again when you are planning your next visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £48 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing