We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast, nice view”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 26 August 2013

More affordable than typical hotels of the area. We feel we got our money's worth. Very clean, but somewhat spartan feel to the decor. The breakfast was great - and this is being critiqued by our sons who are young adult males - quality of food is very important to them. They also loved sitting out on the deck looking over the water in the evening. We all appreciated the convenience of location - about a 15 min walk to the castle. We have used many Holiday Inn Expresses in the past years - but always when traveling down to the States. This is our first experience using one in the UK. I say this up front, in case the fact there was no free coffee in the lobby (except at breakfast) and no free wifi is that this is standard for the UK. My husband and I didn't try the TV, but my sister and sons did and they said theirs came and went in terms of working. Besides lack of free coffee and wifi, (and if we had needed parking there was a fee for this as well), it was a great place to stay. Last but not least - the staff were great. Despite feeling nickled and dimed to death (should we see the US hotels as spoiling us rather than UK one being cheap?) - would stay there again.

Room Tip: We got turned around trying to find the hotel when walking from city centre. It is not readily visib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed prior to Bruce Springstein concert. Good location & we were able to walk to the stadium. Basic double room £167. £5 for car park. Breakfast basic help yourself. Juices horrible & no bacon,muesli or even prunes on offer. No shampoo or extras in room but had notice to request at reception items required. Staff helpful & friendly. Don't know if I would stay here again especially at the price we payed. Concert was absolutely brilliant so hotel didn't seem too bad.

Room Tip: Request room not overlooking car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bevnalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Just had 3nights break at this hotel ,pleased with the staff on arrival very welcoming ,the room was clean ,new bed ,and good condition,the breakfast was a buffet and the food was was good.i thought the hotel was good value for money and would defiantly stay there again

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Jonathan B

Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

Rooms in need of a refurb' bathrooms and door key card systems definately need renewal' location pretty well perfect' staff very helpful and friendly. Pretty good price too.would recommend this hotel. Breakfast pretty good too.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank freightmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear freighmate

Thank you so much for your review and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We booked this hotel on the basis of rate and proximity to Cardiff City Centre. On that score the hotel was fine and no more than a 15 - 20 minute walk from St Mary Street. The location is not on the main Cardiff Bay but nonetheless is on the old Atlantic Wharf which having been renovated is now in desperate need of maintenance, the walkways having been neglected since renovation.

The rooms were as expected, basic. But with a very bouncy bed and an old and stained sofa bed it was clear that some investment is needed to bring the rooms up to the standard of some other Express Hotels we've stayed in.

Understandably the bar served only keg and bottled beers and our pint of Worthington Cream flow was served very cloudy. When asked the bar staff simply said "it always comes up like that". Not surprising if you do not pull off the stale beer in the pipe and clean the pipes regularly. Needless to say that was the only drink we had in the hotel.

Breakfast was fine albeit we arrived at the same time as everyone else in the hotel so it was a bit of a scrum but the kitchen staff tried hard to keep the food flowing so credit where it's due.

Cardiff is a beautiful city so we will probably come back. Would we stay here again - maybe!

Room Tip: The wharf side of the hotel offers views over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerryC657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear TerryC657

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We do value all feedback recieved, so that we can continue to offer a high level of service to all of our customers.

We are in the process of some refurbishment here at the hotel, which includes replacing sofa beds, bathroom floors, windows, bed bases and our lounge and restaurant area has recently had new carpets. I'm sure that you will appreciate this takes a little time, but we are seeing some progress with this.

I am concerned to read your comments with regards to pipe cleaning in the bar. Please be assured that this is done on a regular basis at the hotel.

Many of our guests during weekends and holiday periods especially choose a more leisurely stay which can sometimes mean a bit more of a challenge for us during breakfast - but I am glad to see that you enjoyed your start to the day.

Although we do not have any control over the local walk ways around the Atlantic Wharf Dock, I will certainly highlight your comments to the local council. I know that there is a lot of work done with the local residents and the Keep Wales Tidy organisation, which we all appreciate here to try and keep the area looking it's best and of course to look after the local wildlife.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I do hope that you will consider using us again the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We decided on a last minute visit to Cardiff and the Holiday Inn Express didn't disappoint. Staff very friendly and helpful. Room spotless and although over looked the car park was very quiet. Breakfast was basic but hot and fresh where needed. We ate at the Whalf Inn over the footbridge which wa s very reasonable and good pub grub. Hotel was an easy 15 minute walk to the bay so very convenient.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madaboutthemaldives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear madaboutthemaldives

Thank you so much for the fantastic review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We had a fantastic time. Staff greeted us with big smile. Our room was on the waterfront as requested. Hotel atbthe best location .we never used our car. We spent 3 nights , our first visit to Cardiff . Tracy at reception guided us, we will difinetely come back. Breakfast was bonus. One hiccup our coffee mug were of different sizes and one cup was was worn out . Pls look into it . Even if I was going somewhere else . My first choice will be holiday inn.

Room Tip: Away from lifts and facing water front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harpal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Harpal D

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review of the hotel.

You will be pleased to read that we recently had some extra mugs delivered, so everything should be matching again! I'm really sorry that this wasn't the case during your stay.

I'm pleased to read that Holiday Inn hotels are your preferred choice and do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,242 reviews
1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,356 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £42 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing