We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service for group of youngsters. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here with 46 students for 2 nights. The hotel were very considerate to them, and were very helpful to the group planners.
My room had a shower that wasn't working but I was moved within 10 minutes- excellent service.
Breakfast was good, and kept well topped up. We had a conference room set aside for breakfast so there was plenty of room.
Simple choice of eggs, beans and sausages for hot food, plus yoghurt, fruit and croissants. Also a temperamental toaster, which was the weakest link, leaving toast either too pale or burned.
Beds were comfy enough especially given the price and had no problem getting extra pillow and blanket. Staff and manager were super helpful. Thanks to everyone who works there.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank Silvergnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Silvergnome

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It was great to be able to welcome you all to the hotel and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

I do hope that one day we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back when you are planning another visit to the UK.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

545 - 551 of 880 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

A great hotel. Rooms are basic but have everything you need for your stay. Reception staff are welcoming and helpful. Food was fine but a bit limited in choice. Would definitely stay again. Would recommend to a friend.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Angela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Angela W

Many thanks for such a lovely review and of course the recommendation.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We spent 2 nights here on a business trip to Cardiff Bay. Our opinion on the Good, Average and Bad is as follows:

GOOD
- Location: A 10-minute walk from the bay. The hotel is tucked away in a residential neighbourhood.
- Parking: Has its own car park, which is convenient. It is well-lighted and more secure than parking in the streets. Worth the nominal £5 charge. However, you could park on the side streets to avoid paying the charge, if you can find a space. Barrier code provided in order to leave car park.
- Staff: Very friendly and helpful, especially at reception. Given all the info we needed at check-in, including wi-fi access, map of the area and detailed directions to where we needed to go.
- Towels: thick and of good quality

AVERAGE
- Wi-fi: It's free, but inconvenient that code is only good for 24 hours so have to ask for new code. Also, need to re-enter code every time computer is turned off or on sleep mode.
- Free breakfast: Stay away from the cooked items (generic eggs, sausages etc) but the other options are suitable for a light breakfast (croissants, yogurt, tea/coffee, toast). Toast machine is rubbish. Breakfast room has a nice view of the water.
- There was a gambling machine tucked into a corner, near the vending machine. Not a good impression when you see scruffy locals hanging around the area just to gamble.
- Upon checking-in greeted at entrance with a hoover in the way. Housekeeping proceeded to start hoovering whilst we were checking in. Had to ask reception to keep repeating because we couldn't hear. Surely housekeeping could have waited a few minutes to start hoovering? We were the only people checking in at the time.
- Mattress and pillows not great, but OK. Spotted very little difference between firm and soft pillows.
- Housekeeping: Vacated the room for over 2 hours to attend our business meeting. Room not done during this time, despite housekeeping cart right by the door. Had to work when we got back at 1pm so could not be interrupted to vacate room. We just asked for new towels and the housekeeper left some more tea/coffee items. Very nice and pleasant housekeeper.

BAD
- Shower: Very small and uncomfortable to use. Water pressure very weak. Scalding hot water when tap first turned on, despite being on coldest setting.
- TV: series of problems. The first time, we only got a grey screen. Staff promptly came to the room, jiggled a few wires behind the TV to get a picture. Remote control poor quality so buttons kept getting stuck. Had difficulty changing channels and the second time we had a lot of difficulty just turning on the TV.
- Soundproofing: Walls are paper thin. Even when guests are not being purposely noisy, you can hear the slightest noise (toilet flushing, wake-up alarm, mobile phone beeps, etc). We were woken up repeatedly during the night by plumbing noises and did not appreciate the 6:30am 'wake-up call' from the neighbour's mobile phone alarm. Our room faced the front (car park) and was located on the first floor above the entrance. The windows are not doubleglazed.... you can hear every single noise, even a motorcycle miles away. We had to check to make sure the window wasn't open.... because the noise level made it feel that way.
- Building works: loud, intermittent hammering in the morning. As we left we noticed builders replacing windows on the top floor. We had planned to get some work done in the room before checking out at 11am but could not concentrate and making business phone calls was not possible, with all the noise. The works could have been scheduled after 11am, between check-out and check-in times, in order to minimise the inconvenience. It shows very poor consideration on the hotel's part for guests not to be advised beforehand of the works. Had we known we would have scheduled our workload differently or planned to check out earlier than anticipated. Budget hotel or not, this is just inconsiderate to guests and does not leave them any options, other than to just put up with the noise.

This is not a terrible hotel. However, we have been to budget hotels that are much better, and provide better value for money, a good night's sleep, etc. We definitely got the impression that everything was of inferior quality and a lot of things just didn't work properly. We may return for leisure purposes if it's just for one night but would definitely not use this hotel again for a business trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PB&PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear PB&PA

Many thanks for taking the time to give a full overview of your recent stay with us.

Firstly, I'd like to thank you for your kind comments with regards to the team here at the hotel. It's pleasing to read that they were friendly and helpful during your stay.

I note your comments with regards to the noise from the windows, and as you experienced during your stay, we have been having these replaced. This is something which has to be done during the day as you can imagine. As a Holiday Inn Express, we do find that the majority of our guests use us as a base to sleep and normally have plans during the day, so the noise that this involves would not really be an issue - but I do apologise for any inconvenience that this caused you.

I am pleased that our reception team were able to rectify the initial problem which you had with the television. I know that the remote control in your room has now been changed to avoid further issues for future guests.

Our housekeeping team do try their best to service all of our rooms as quickly as possible. I'm confident that if you had spoken with our team to let them know that you needed to be back in your room at a certain time that this would have been actioned for you. Please accept my apologies for the experience you had when you checked in, as I agree, the hoover should have been switched off at that point.

I am not aware of any non residents coming into the hotel to use the fruit machine - which many of our residents do use during their stay.

You will be pleased to read that we are currently working with our internet provider to change the way our wi-fi codes work as I understand it is an inconvenience to re-input the code. We recently changed to Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and this will be addressed soon.

I do hope that this goes someway to reassure you that guest feedback is extremley important to us.

Thank you once again.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Breakfast is pretty bad, the scrambled eggs taste like rubber, sausages are fine, no bacon!
The beds weren't that comfy to be honest. Rooms were clean tho. Showers were rubbish. Staff were very friendly and helpful though.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear Colin H

Many thanks for taking the time to let us have this valuable feedback. I'm sorry to read that you didn't enjoy our free breakfast. We do advertise this as being a free continental breakfast with additional hot favourites - sausages, scrambled eggs & baked beans.

On a positive note, I'm really pleased to read your kind comments regarding the team.

Thank you once again.

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Situated on the huge long dock half way between Cardiff Bay and the City Centre, it is a good 10 minute walk down to the Bay, and a convoluted longer walk to the City Centre, but the hotel has the advantage of a car park, though they now charge an extra £5 per night for parking. Otherwise, it delivers a reliable Holiday Inn Express experience, completed now by free wi-fi as well as the usual HIE breakfast and a complimentary newspaper. Annoyingly the wi-fi requires re-logging in every time the laptop goes to sleep. Usual helpful friendly staff. At £59 per night a great stay to get the benefits of Cardiff, centre and bay.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms and morning sunshine on the dock-side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerTomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights for my mate's wedding. The location is nice - the back of the hotel looks out onto the wharf and is quite pretty. Staff during check in and check out were friendly and knowledgeable and always willing to help - giving us directions to the train station, sorting out an ironing board, printing documents etc.

The room was modern and very clean with a decent shower and television. As a few friends stayed here I saw a few rooms and they all seemed perfectly reasonable. We spent some time in the bar and it was comfortable enough plus they had Dave on the telly (albeit with subtitles) which made for a pleasant evening.

The breakfast is, as advertised, free and whilst not of the highest quality is... free. We were extremely happy with the sausages, scrambled eggs and beans with toast and range of yoghurts, muffins, cereals, croissants and juices which set us up nicely and helped ease hangovers. The WiFi was also free.

All in all a comfortable stay and when I saw where the groom was staying - a shabby looking Travelodge which was strangely hidden behind a female toilet door in a Toby Carvery - the HI Express was definitely the better choice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrPhilH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2013

Dear MrPhilH

Many thanks for the great review and I'm delighted to read that the team were able to help you throughout your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Everything about this hotel was fine for a one night stay. Must say on the night we stayed it was expensive (over £100) but their must have been some event on and demand was high. Stayed at an express before only wish they would improve the quality of the breakfast, it's ok at best.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank andrewbcarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,215 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Cardiff Atlantic Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £43 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing