We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but not as central as hoped!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good hotel but not as central as hoped!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Booked here not knowing anything about Cardiff's layout and how close it was to the center. Stayed for three nights (Friday, Saturday and Sunday).

The hotel is pretty good and the staff are extremely helpful and friendly.

Our room was decent with a good view of the water. Room was a bit warn down in places (there was a draft from the window) however the bed was comfy. TV could do with more channels as there were only about 7 and they were in a random order, really an issue though.

The buffet breakfast was pretty basic for the price. Toast, (cheapo) sausages, scrambled eggs, beans, muffins, nice croissants, fruit, yoghurt and selection of cereal. Had been hoping for some bacon! Free newspaper was good and the selection of drinks was decent.

The selection of beer on tap at the bar is very limited, however there is a good pub directly next to the hotel.

If arriving late, try to make sure you have eaten beforehand. There aren't any takeaways or late night restaurants in the local area. We arrived around 10:30 and after inquiring at reception were given details for ordering a takeaway.

The city center is more like 20 minutes walk (30 minutes to the main street) and about 10 minutes to Cardiff Bay. There are a number of decent restaurants in Cardiff Bay, however not really any decent bars to speak of.

Luckily taxi's are cheap in Cardiff (less than £5 from the Castle).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Matthew M

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

You will be pleased to know that we are undergoing a programme which includes replacing our bedroom windows, which should resolve the issue you had with draftiness. We will also be replacing all of our televisions in the next phase, which will increase the amount of channels which we have on offer as we are limited with our current supplier.

Although we don't include bacon in our free breakfast, we do find that the majority of our guests appreciate the various choices which are available to them to start the day.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review your stay with us and I do hope that we can look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    337
    174
    45
    9
See reviews for
213
289
30
126
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Stayed one night with my husband ,the check in was quite quickly ,had room 201 that over looked the lake ,room very spacious , location great for the bay about a ten minute walk away , only let down was breakfast was the lack of choice and they did not replace anymore of it around 9 am , and know said that you had to pay of car parking when you checked in ,staff vere very cheerful and helpfull

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jahne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Jahne K

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I will certainly speak with the team regarding your comments to breakfast not being replenished after 9am and can only apologise if this was the case.

It's great to read your positive comments with regards to the team and the hotel and I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you both back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I haven't stayed in a Holiday Inn Express for a few years and my memories of the standard of the rooms were higher than we encountered. The room was tatty and not really quite up to the mark. The reception staff just handed us the key and never attempted to direct us to the room which they normally do. Television broke down but after half an hour somebody did come and replace it so that was acceptable. Internet printout said charge of seven pounds even though it is up everywhere that it is free. When I checked with receptionist she said they didn't know how to remove that from the print out. A simple thing but if it were me I would make sure I found out how. Such a shame for such a big hotel chain to let the standard of their rooms slip. Location was okay for Cardiff Bay.

Room Tip: There are better budget hotels
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patriciac780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear PatriciaC

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm sorry that on this occasion we haven't met your expectations, as we do pride ourselves on our usual high levels of customer service and cleanliness throughout the hotel.

You will be pleased to know that following your review, I have amended how we offer our free internet vouchers to avoid any confusion.

I do hope that you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with family last month. The rooms are large and spacious. The location is great, really central and the facilities are good.

The not so good bits were bits of the room (such as the lamp stand, toilet roll holder etc) were dusty and looked like they hadn't been cleaned in some time. Not really good enough! The food is good but the menu is limited. Some of the staff really let them down. A few were lovely and friendly but a couple were stinkers! Their attitude was unhelpful and disinterested. It's a shame because they really let the rest of the team down.

The accessibility at this hotel is good. Wide door ways, good lift access, spacious rooms, parking right out front.

Overall is say this hotel is worth a visit and a good choice. The main issues are small ones which come from unmotivated staff and hopefully the management team will be able to address this over time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Hanonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Hanonthemove

Thank you for taking the time to leave this valuable feedback for us following your recent visit. I must say that I am a little shocked to hear that you didn't find all of our team to be friendly. This is something which is very rarely said about the hotel, but I'll certainly feed back your comments.

I'm pleased that you enjoyed the food, however as we only serve breakfast at the hotel our menu is indeed limited. We do offer a takeaway service for any guests who would prefer to eat here in the evening rather than visit one of the many restaurants which are very close by.

I'm sorry that on this occasion we have not met your expectations with regards to cleanliness and service. If you would like to discuss this further with me then please email me direct and I will be more than happy to investigate further karen.matthews@exhicardiff.co.uk

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Pleasant location, right by the waterside and a ten minute walk to the bars and restaurants.

Staff were very friendly and helpful, they gave us advice on where we might like to eat and directions to the bay.

The rooms are what you'd expect from a holiday inn, fairly small bed (but we have a very big bed at home so maybe noticed this more!), sofa bed and a little en suite with toilet and shower only - no bath.

Our room was very hot, there seemed to be an issue with our heating system but we mentioned this at checkout and the receptionist apologised and gave us our parking free. (Parking is £5 per night)

The breakfast wasn't great, the only hot foods available are sausage, scrambled egg and beans.... no bacon! A few cereals and fruits to chose from but not much else.

All in all, a cheap and cheerful hotel, you get what you pay for and if you go in expecting the Ritz you'll be disappointed but overall, it's a satisfactory hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kellether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Kellether

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm so pleased to read that our team were able to give some great advice about the local area.

As a Holiday Inn Express we do offer a FREE continental breakfast, which we decided to enhance with additional hot items, which include scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans every day. Our bedrooms are a standard size, and all have walk in showers.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location and I do hope that we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Clean, comfortable and quiet. Drinks a tad dear but not a problem . Ideal breakfast after night out included.

Very attentive and helpful staff could not have been better,

A good weekender base. Good taxis not expensive,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chipchase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear chipchase

Many thanks for the great review! We hope to see you again soon

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Stayed here on the night before Wales v Italy. Even though very busy, the staff were very helpful. The tv remote didn't work, but when reported, we got a new tv!
The room wasn't big but adequate. The breakfast, buffet style, was excellent.
Parking is £5 per day. Within reasonable walking distance of both Cardiff Bay and the main city shopping and of course The Millennium Stadium.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Rob S

Thank you for the review!

I'm pleased we were able to resolve the issue with the TV so quickly for you.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel again the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,036 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Lastminute, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing