We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (909)
Filter reviews
909 results
Traveller rating
282
372
191
52
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
372
191
52
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscardiff bayhi expressscrambled egg and beanscar parkcity centremermaid quayminute walkbudget hotelthe breakfast areahot itemsper nightfree wifiquiet locationparking chargethe sofa bedbreakfast was includedyogurt
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
543 - 548 of 909 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Firstly it it a holiday inn express, so everything is functional and OK, however this has a nice location overlooking the water, and is only 15 minutes walk to the mermaid quay where there is most named chain restaurants located, or about the same length to walk into Cardiff.
The staff were very helpful on arrival and gave us a map of the local area and also directed to the closest newsagent.
I would recommend as a functional and reasonably priced hotel close enough to get around by foot.
The breakfast is free but if you want to try something local and better we went to the deck cafe near mermaid quay which was really good.
However be aware they charge £5 for parking in the car park, but you can park for free just outside if you want to save!

Room Tip: Ask to look over the water, rather than the car park!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamescim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear jamescim

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. Its great to see that you enjoyed our location - and I'm now going to have to go and try this breakfast which you have recommended in Mermaid Quay!!

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Great hotel, very clean and in a perfect location for both Cardiff City Centre and Cardiff Bay. Right on the dockside which makes it just a little different. Breakfast was very good and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a water side room for a better.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gingerdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear Gingerdee

Thank you so much for your great review - it's lovely to be able to share your comments with the whole team here at the Hotel and I do hope we can welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stayed for 2 nights, first time in the area. The area where the hotel is has been redeveloped, but is mainly residential. There is a good pub / restaurant next door - The Wharf - which we ate in both nights. Food OK, good value, and a good selection of beers. Building is really attractive. The hotel is new, standard modern Express. Rooms, bathroom, bed, etc. as you would expect, and staff friendly and helpful. Negatives are the fact that there is nothing close by, a taxi ride is really needed and the breakfast - as expected powdered eggs and sausages, but the sausages tasted like about 90% filler, not nice. rooms on the waterside have a better view but are noisier due to a road the other side of the wharf. Might stay again, but not definitely.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the water if you want it a little quieter.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woggsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2014

Dear woggsy

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to see that you found the team to be helpful.

I've noted your comments with regards to our free breakfast and will make sure that these are considered if we do make any changes in the future.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Hotel room and bathroom clean - bed was quite hard - sofa bed old and very uncomfortable. As an express you wouldn't expect anything different. The only thing that let the hotel down was the breakfast - not enough cutlery, toaster produced anaemic toast. The hotel was full capacity so management should have taken this into a account especially as it was Mothers Day.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Melanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Melanie D

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I'm sorry that we didn't meet your expecations with regards to breakfast. Many of our guests do choose to have a more leisurely stay at the weekend, which can be a bit challenging for us at breakfast time - we try to manage this as best as we can - but will definately take your comments on board and consider them for the future.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon and thanks again for your valuable feedback!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

A great hotel in walking distance of the bars, restaurants and the WMC in cardiff bay. Lots of parking, free breakfast and even a sea view! Lovely.

It is possible to walk to the city centre but there's also a train every 12 mins from Cardiff Bay station.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a water view
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hsc958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2014

Der Hsc958

Many thanks for your lovely review and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews