We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel as it was the nearest to the city centre that was available at short notice at anywhere like a sensible price. There are many positives about the hotel: it is in a very nice location (on the waterside, in a quiet area, but within 10 minutes walk of the city's bars and restaurants), the staff were all very helpful and pleasant, the hotel was very clean throughout, the rooms were large enough for a weekend stay, and the breakfast was OK. Only a few negatives: some of the hot items at breakfast ran out and were slow to be replenished, the drinks were expensive (more like 4 star hotel prices) and the house wine was fairly horrible. Would definitely use it again if staying in Cardiff - especially because of the great team running reception.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Alan J

Many thanks for your valuable feedback. Quite often at weekends we do find that many of our guests prefer a more leisurely stay, which means that we can have a bit of a challenge on our hands at breakfast time. As we cook the hot items from fresh there can sometimes be a delay in this and I do apologise for you having to wait.
On a positive note thank you so much for your lovely comments with regards to the staff and the reception team in particular - it's always great to hear when we have helped to make a guest stay more enjoyable.
I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    335
    172
    44
    9
See reviews for
213
287
30
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We went there for one night stay. We asked for a double room but we got a twin beds one. Our TV was turning on by itself every hour and the one in the next room as well. Also there were a noise coming from the bathroom because of hot water.

They propose us to change the room without we asked, so the staff has been very very kind and friendly.

The new room was better, no noise and no broken TV. But at 4 am a group of drunk guys went in the room next to our, they screamed for a while then they started to having sex and moaning for more then 1 hour. After there theie friend came back and restarting screaming...until 7 in the morning when I was falling asleep.

The park costs 5P per night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank filosganga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear filosganga

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with this valuable feedback. As I'm sure that you can see from other reviews, we don't generally have many issues here at the hotel. It is then really unfortunate that there are rare occasions when we have an inconsiderate guest who disturb those round about them and I'm sorry to read that this happened during your stay with us. I have no doubt that if you had contacted our reception team then we would have addressed this for you quickly.

If you book one of our standard rooms then it does clearly state that the room will be allocated on your arrival to the hotel and asks for your preference of a twin or double room. Although we do our very best to allocate your preferred room type this is not always possible depending on the demand for certain rooms.

On a positive note, I'm pleased that the staff were able to resolve the issue which you had with the television and thank you for your kind comments.

If you would like to discuss any of the above further, then please feel free to contact me direct at the hotel. My number is 029 20449000.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I do that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Have to say, rooms were clean, view of the lake was beautiful from the room, breakfast was amazing, wifi was convenient. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a family or friend staying in the bay. There is even an ice dispenser next to the vending machine. I may not have used it but knowing it is there is very reassuring.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheknowsitsreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear sheknowsitsreal

Thank you so much for such a great review and for the recommendation. I hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2014

My husband and I stayed here overnight for a business trip, and were extremely impressed. Not only is the location great for accessing most of Cardiff's main attractions, but the hotel is immaculately clean, the breakfast generous, and the price very reasonable. The staff are this hotel's greatest asset, however, and are all extremely friendly, helpful and very informative. They turned the experience of staying in the hotel from being a practical necessity into a truly enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Ask to be shown how to turn the room heater on - we didn't, and got very cold in the morning unt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mellifluous1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear MelandMark2014

It's always great to receive fantastic feedback and to know when we have helped to make a guest stay extra special and I'm delighted to share your review with the whole team here at the Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay.

Thank you so much and I do hope we will be welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here as a last minute thing.
Very expensive for what we got, breakfast wasn't anything special but lovely room and staff on guest services were fab.
Location was ideal for taxis, buses or nice walks.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Wales
Level Contributor
305 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I booked on the internet an took advantage of their Advanced Saver Rate of £51 for a family room. What a bargain for a hotel in Cardiff.
Pleasant and informative reception staff. Our room was available when we arrived at 1pm - a double bed and a sofa bed for two. Nice and clean. The room included a nice bathroom with shower (no bath), tea/coffee facilities, hair drier, TV and a nice view over the lock. Free WIFI as well to as many devices as we needed.
The hotel is located half way between Cardiff Bay and the city centre. We saw a musical in the Wales Millennium Centre. We easily walked there (10 minutes) and back.
Parking costs £5. Very reasonable compared to the Marriott at £15.
When I booked I thought it was room only, but what a surprise, breakfast was free to all guests. Sausages, scrambled eggs, baked beans, toast, croissants, fruit, juice, yogurts, cereals, muffins. What a good start to the day.
We will definitely consider this hotel again. Much better than a Travelodge.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Craffwr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Rooms nice & clean lots of hot water & fluffy towels. Dinner could have been hotter but the never ending choices at breakfast next morning more than make up for it!! Plenty of tea & coffee making the start to the day pleasurable.This is our 2nd visit in 4 months & our 4th visit to holiday inns.Keep up the good work.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mariahowells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing