We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heineken Cup Final, Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #13 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
oxenford
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heineken Cup Final, Cardiff”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Double room, very expensive £350.00 but the rugby was very good! I`m not sure if I should write about the rugby or the Hotel. Anyway about the hotel staff very good, standard high very attentive.Room double with shower! Right, after the Rugby went back to the hotel for food and a drink, met up wih a number of rugby supporters from diffrent parts of Britain. Also Karen I think she was the cook? joined us and a number of the staff and had a very good evening. I`ve stayed in a number hotels in different countrys and the staff in this hotel can pat thensevles on the back on being up there with the best!. Would I stay there again yes I would, but not on a match day! Seeing Jonny Wilkinson in his last game on British soil was worth £ 350.00 plus the ticket price.

Room Tip: Don`t go on a match day!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roncap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear roncap

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us from this weekend and for your lovely comments with regards to the team here. I'm sure that you are already aware that we do offer some great discounted rates throughout the year obviously when there are no major events on in the city.

I will be sure to share your comments with all of the staff - I know they will be delighted to be held in such great esteem!

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    342
    176
    45
    9
See reviews for
215
295
30
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We had 3 twin rooms booked for 2 night, for 6 guys attending the Amlin and Heineken Cup Finals.
The rooms were understandably expensive, due to the events in Cardiff, @ £250.00 per room per night.
However, i cannot remember receiving such fantastic customer service, despite many 5 star Hotels having felt the benefit of my wallet over the years!
It is clear that the GM has an absolute passion for exceeding customer expectations, and also recruits her team to the same exacting standards.
From complimentary pizza throughout the evenings, to "nothing is too much trouble" throughout really busy breakfast services, the whole team worked tirelessly ensuring each and every guest was made to feel valued and looked after.

Congratulations, Cardiff Bay Holiday Inn Express, I applaud you!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ColinG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear ColinG1234

Thank you so much for your fanstastic review.

I am extremely proud of my team here at the hotel and will certainly make sure that your comments are shared with all of them.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed here as a family in the beginning of April to watch 'Wicked' at the Millenium Centre. The hotel has a good location, halfway between Cardiff Centre and Cardiff Bay. Its about a 15 minute walk to the hotel from Cardiffs Central train station. This can be a problem for vistors not familiar to the area but if you use Google maps on your smart phone, no problem. The hotel is typical of the HIE francise, clean, modern and overall friendly. We stayed as a family, 2 adults 2 children. Although adequate, the rooms were small for 4 people but comfortable all the same. There are no real room thrills, you get the basics but as a family, we found this hotel sufficient to our needs. One thing which I found good was that there was free WIFI.
The breakfast was good with plenty of choice. No, there are no gourmet selections but whats on offer was enjoyed by all the family. Overall a great hotel perhaps better suited for the Cardiff Bay area attractions rather than the City but with that said, a great alternative. Would stay again.

Room Tip: You can find parking outside in the residential area. Ask for your free WIFI code
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catainjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear catainjack

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I do hope that we can welcome you and your family back to the hotel again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Visited this hotel for a counselling training. The staff were very helpful and we could help ourselves to unlimited tea, coffee etc throughout the day. Waterfront is great to look at throughout the day with the ducks etc. swimming by. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 813PatC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear 813PatC

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.We are so lucky to have a great location overlooking the Wharf - and you will be pleased to hear that the ducks are getting bigger!

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmarthenshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Arrived a bit late for our overnight stay, so ate at The Wharf pub next door and straight to room..
Had a bit of trouble getting tv to work but that was soon sorted,bed was very comfortable,but its the breakfast that disappointed us the most! Can see why its called express! it felt like everyone was rushing passed us trying to get to food,coffee etc and my partner was not happy that there was no bacon! not relaxing at all...

Room Tip: We overlooked river but think all rooms are similar..
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RINGLET55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear RINGLET55

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We really do appreciate all feedback which we receive as this helps to make sure that we can make our guests stay as comfortable as possible.

I'm pleased that we were able to resolve the issue with your television quickly. We do advertise that we offer a free continental breakfast with selected hot favourites, which include sausages, scrambled eggs and baked beans. I will of course note your comments with regards to bacon.

Thank you once again for your valuable feedback and I do hope that we will have the opportunity again of welcoming you both back to the hotel.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed for three nights and really no complaints. Room was nice, clean,bed good, everything worked. Internet was free and worked well but required daily signup for each device. Location worked well for us, short 10-15 min walk to center, less to Docks/waterfront shops/restaurants area. There was a good pub next door. Parking was 5.00/night extra, but breakfast free (and not bad), overall a good value for Cardiff. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Pleasant stay, would use again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OGLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear OGLH

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your valuable feedback. You will be pleased to know that we have almost found a solution for our WIFI codes, which will mean less hassle for all of our customers who enjoy the free wifi we provide throughout the hotel.

It's great to hear that you enjoyed our location and of course your lovely comments regarding the team.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

One of the Best Holiday Inn Express i have stayed in and i have done a few over the yrs
Booked in on a Trursday afternoon no problem all smoothly , Went up to our room clean smelling fresh and tidy !Nice clean towels and bedding !
Moved stuff in then When to desk to ask on pub near by The Wharf i was told was a good pub good meals and price ! So we went over all within walking distance !
Meal Cod chips n mushy peas Very nice My Wife had Ham chips and salad very nice too
Good Brains Welsh Bitter on tap and good range of drinks ! Had a walk right around the dock there Good to see the birds nesting on the water !
Back to room where i had a Great nights sleep !
Next night we were doing the Elvis in Concert at the Motorpoint Arena Cardiff So asked at desk about parking The two ladies there were very helpful As wife is a wheelchair user .
So we had that sorted and After a free filling breakfast again very nice good choice of food !
We decided to walk into town 10-15 min walk leaving the car here Weather was nice and we had a great day ,Went in to Motorpoint Arena Where they said i can bring chair they will stow it away till after show !So again That Evening we walked in Again leaving car put and i could have a drink !
Another meal in the Wharf Burger this time again super
Before another great nights sleep and breakfast
Thanks for a great stay ............

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRACELANDONE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
Dear Gracelandone

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I'm really pleased that you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and that the team were able to make some helpful recommendations for you.

I do hope that we can welcome you both back to the hotel again the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,088 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,091 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#12 of 73 in Cardiff
2,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Property: Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing