We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Nearby Hotels
US$108
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hilton Cardiff(Cardiff)
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Novotel Cardiff Centre(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Jurys Inn Cardiff(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$89
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Future Inn Cardiff Bay(Cardiff)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$245
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (920)
Filter reviews
920 results
Traveller rating
283
378
195
52
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
283
378
195
52
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscardiff bayhi expressscrambled egg and beanscar parkcity centremermaid quayminute walkbudget hotelthe breakfast areahot itemsper nightfree wifiquiet locationparking chargethe sofa bedbreakfast was includedyogurt
Filter
Updating list...
525 - 530 of 920 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Awful never come here again. We were told by the agents the hotel was £50 a night but then was overcharged. I requested a double but ended up with a twin room. The hotel staff was not helpful and made us wait to pay up front been though we was informed we will be on departure. The hotel postcode directs you 20min from the hotel. So far I've been here for 1hr and I'm dreading the next three days.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuddingPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear PuddingPants

I'm pleased to have had the opportunity to meet with you personally this weekend during your stay with us to discuss your review - which took us completely by surprise being given only 1 star - a very unusual occurrence for us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay as is evident on social media platforms such as Tripadvisor.

I know that you now understand that your booking agent quoted you the room rate net of VAT, which would explain the difference in your expectation of the rate - not that we had overcharged you.

We always ask our guests for a pre-authorisation for their room rate on check in, which is a procedure practised in all of the major hotel chains. This is to 'hold' the funds which are required to pay for the room with your bank and of course you can pay with an alternative method on departure. This is the case for all guests who are settling their own account - as we had been instructed by your booking agent.

I'm glad that we managed to clear up the issue over the room type which you had booked. Our standard rooms clearly state that the room type will be allocated on arrival depending on the availablity at the hotel. We do try to allocate preferred room types, however this is not always possible. However, I am pleased that I was able to allocate a double room for your partner and yourself on Saturday evening.

There are many choices when it comes to staying in hotels and my team and I pride ourselves on being amongst the preferred choices for Cardiff - particulary in delivering great customer service. We do value all feedback from our guests and use this as an important tool to constantly look at other areas where we can improve and continue to exceed customer expectations.

I do hope that now you have stayed you will have had a chance to reflect and that we will have gone up in your estimations from 1 star!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Stayed here on a business trip on the weekend.
Pleasant and helpful staff. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and they served a great breakfast with lots of choice.
Only downside was the lack of evening meals (takeaways could be ordered and there was a pub next door).
Convenient location for the Bay and at a good price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2014

Dear missowen

Thank you for your very kind feedback. As a business guest, it's great to read your views and will of course share them with the team.

If you do plan on returning to stay with us the next time you are in Cardiff, please feel free to book on the Holiday Inn Express website which will guarantee the best rates for you.

We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend stayed here for one night when we had planed to visit the doctor who experance. We where greeted at reception as we had got there early so we could spend two full days in cardiff. Our room was not ready till 2.00 but the very nice receptionist gave us a very helpfull map of the area and marked out on it how to get to the doc who exp then on the back of the map how to get in to town. This map was great as pointed out where all the points of intrest where.

We come back to the hotel at 5.30 again greeted with a smile and asked if we have had a good day. We had room on the second floor over looking the water. The room was nice and clean with tea and coffee makeing facilities. Nice big tv n comfortable bed. The shower was nice and hot but not very powerfull.

Breakfast was a buffet style wuth lots of choice. Tea and coffee was not great but the food was good. We both had juice abd cearel then a cooked breakfast. Then checked out. We asked if we could keep the car in there car park all day till we wanted to leve as planed to have the day in the city. They only charged us £5 for the day and a half which was good and gave us the barrier code to get out whenever we wanted.

all in all a good stayin a nice quiet hotel. Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank keefnjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Keefnjojo

Many thanks for the great review and I do hope that we can welcome you both back to the hotel again the next time you are planning a visit to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Hotel is modern and in a great location for all the sites and attractions on Cardiff Bay. It's just a short walk to the bay area.
There is plenty of parking (£5 a day) - which is a lot cheaper than parking at the car parks in the bay area!
Check in was quick and painless and the staff friendly.
Room was clean and fairly basic but with everything you would need for a few nights. Walk in shower (no bath) was good.
Free Wifi was ok but not that fast.
TV had very limited channel choice and if you are like me and hard of hearing there are only two options for channels with subtitles!
The breakfast area is nice and light and there is plenty of choice of things for breakfast (fruit, cereals, some pastries, toast, beans, scrambled egg and sausage. As well as coffee, tea and fruit juices.
There is a small bar and nice lounge area as well but no restaurant (The Wharf pub next door does nice meals).
Staff were very helpful in giving advise on local attractions and directions, and provided maps if required.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Marshwiggle

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay. I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed our location and of course that the staff were able to share their local knowledge with you.

We are currently looking at changing our TV system, which will hopefully include more freeview channels and we will of course have a look at the facility for subtitles on more channels - and appreciate your feedback on this.

Thank you once again for sharing your thoughts with us and I hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights during May half term. I've never stopped in a Holiday Inn Express before, and wasn't sure what to expect, I had read reviews so hoped that our experience was going to be as good as a lot of other people, and we were not disappointed. The hotel was easy to find, and plenty of parking. The room was ready on time, and the check in was very smooth. The receptionist was lovely and very friendly, giving us a map and drawing directions into the city centre, and also to the Dr Who Experience to help us. We had a family room, as it was just me and my 12 year old son, the room and bathroom was very clean, my son said the settee bed wasn't very comfortable (but it didn't seem to disturb his night), the main bed was perfectly fine for me. Our room faced the car park, and we were not disturbed by any noise. The breakfast was within the price of the room and unfortunately is the only weak point of our stay, which I know I am not the first to say (but would not stop us from staying here again), if you prefer more of a continental based breakfast then it is fine, but the selection for a cooked breakfast was poor, only sausages, baked beans and scrambled eggs that tasted odd, think it may have been made from a powdered egg mix. Needless to say I stuck to cereal and fruit on our second morning. The hotel does not have a restaurant for other meals, but this is not a problem, as there is a pub next door that does reasonable food, and the Red Dragon Centre and Mermaid Quay are only 10-15 minute walk away with plenty of selection of places to eat. There is also bowling and cinema nearby. The hotel is in the ideal position to just leave your car during your stay and walk, or use bus or rail (as NCP parking around the city is not cheap), Dr. Who experience was just 15-20 mins walk away, and the city centre is also only 15 mins walk away. We both loved Cardiff, and would definitely choose this hotel for our next visit there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy38_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Suzy38_13

I'm so pleased to read that we met your expecations during your stay with us, and of course hope to welcome you back to the hotel and Cardiff again soon.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews