We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing too much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Ranked #17 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel as a stag party of 22 - and we could not have picked a better place! The staff were so good and could not have been any more helpful. There was a real mix of people staying here and over breakfast the conversation was flowing, everyone was in good spirits.

They will remember us as the wrestlers!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Glen F

The team do indeed remember the Wrestlers. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel again the next time you are planning a trip to Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

474 - 480 of 874 reviews

Reviewed 7 July 2014

The hotel location is very nice albeit far from the main City Centre but very close to Cardiff Bay (walking distance) which has a variety of restaurants, pubs, bars and theatres. Not very convenient if you're travelling for business and just want to stay in your room as there's no room service and the restaurant does not serve dinner - just breakfast. My room has a nice view of the bay. I cannot comment on the rooms on the other side although it seems like all you will see is the car park. The hotel service is average, rooms are tidy and you have to be weary if staying here over the weekend as it seems that it is very popular for young ones / stag / hen dos so it can get quite loud in the evenings. Perhaps, I have been unlucky.

Room Tip: Get the rooms overlooking the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Michael P

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us from September last year.

Although we do not serve evening meals here at the hotel, we do offer a takeaway service, which gives the flexibility for many of our guests to either eat in the restaurant area or take to their room. There is also the Atlantic Wharf next door to the hotel where food is served all day until 8.30pm and I know that they also have a take away option available.

Like most of the hotels in Cardiff, we do have more leisure guests at the weekend, which can sometimes include groups. I'm sorry that on this occasion, you appear to have been inconvenienced by this.

On a positive note, I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your view of the East dock. If you are planning to return to the hotel then please feel free to book using our Holiday Inn Express website and in the special requirements area you can request a quiet room overlooking the water.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I booked a few nights here after we were told that a local competitor was fully booked, admittedly we were a little down about it, However our disappointment change when we finally got to the Inn.
Very easy to find, very very friendly and attentive staff, very clean room and all the facilities one would expect.
Our room was on the first floor overlooking the old wharf.
The other reviews say that the main road on the other side combined with the steel factory was a little off putting, well we found this not to be the case.
Breakfast was great with a good range to choose from, our only gripe here would be MORE SAUSAGES!! ;)
The bar tariff is a little more expensive that the pub 30 yards away but not pocket breaking by any means.
We will certainly be back, we fell in love with Cardiff and the Bay, and cannot that all the team at The Holiday inn Express Cardiff Bay enough.
See you again folks!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank james d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear james d

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us - we love it here in the bay too!

I have taken your point on board with the sausages - we did get it wrong with the timings, but we are putting measures in place now to stop that from happening again.

I do hope we can welcome you both back to the hotel again soon. Feel free to visit the Holiday Inn Express Website to make your next booking and to take advantage of our Best Price Guarantee!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I have been staying here on business for several weeks, and therefore have been able to observe the hotel under many conditions. Whether it be teeming with overseas reporters for the Heineken Cup at the Millennium Stadium, families en route to The Dr Who Experience, business travellers or couples on a leisurely break, you can be sure of a warm welcome.
Situated mid way between the many attractions of Cardiff Bay and the City - a pleasant walk in each direction, the location is a quiet one, although there is a constant background sound from the link road on the waterside of the building, which may disturb light sleepers.

A clean, comfortable bed, and for a budget hotel, a splendid choice of breakfast awaits, but above all the friendly and efficient staff have made my stay a real pleasure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hiexcbfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Hiexcbfan

Firstly thank you so much for your business over the past few weeks. We realise that there are many choices when it comes to accommodation in Cardiff and it's great for the team to be recognised and appreciated!

I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the hotel the next time you are in Cardiff.

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Your ordinary Holiday Inn Express but extra ordinary staff made for a brilliant weekend. Thanks to Karen and all her staff for making us so welcome and going the extra mile. Complimentary pizza all weekend. No rip off bar prices and a great laugh had by all. Will be back for sure.

Room Tip: Walking distance to town and to Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Mick W

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a 5 Star Review! It's wonderful to read that you found our team helped to make your weekend memorable and of course that you plan to return to the hotel again!

When you are ready to make your next reservation please take advantage of our Best Price Guarantee on the Holiday Inn Express website.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel has parking (£5 a night ) and is about half a mile from Mermaid Quay on Cardiff Bay and about a mile from the city centre, where parking is expensive (£10.40 for 3 hours). We stayed for three nights with the Saturday night costing two and half times that of Sunday night which reflected the large crowds attracted to the city at the weekend.

The hotel is typical of most Holiday Inn Expresses with clean and pleasant rooms. Our room overlooked the car park and was quiet, but rooms overlooking the old wharf experienced noise from a steel works on the other side of the wharf. Our booking was dealt with efficiently and advice given about visiting the Bay and the centre.

The breakfast was the same as that provided at all Holiday Inn Expresses. If you want a cooked breakfast, you should go elsewhere. If you want a light breakfast, it is substantial and good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rabyrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Rabyrover

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we can welcome you back again soon!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Awful never come here again. We were told by the agents the hotel was £50 a night but then was overcharged. I requested a double but ended up with a twin room. The hotel staff was not helpful and made us wait to pay up front been though we was informed we will be on departure. The hotel postcode directs you 20min from the hotel. So far I've been here for 1hr and I'm dreading the next three days.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PuddingPants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear PuddingPants

I'm pleased to have had the opportunity to meet with you personally this weekend during your stay with us to discuss your review - which took us completely by surprise being given only 1 star - a very unusual occurrence for us here at the Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay as is evident on social media platforms such as Tripadvisor.

I know that you now understand that your booking agent quoted you the room rate net of VAT, which would explain the difference in your expectation of the rate - not that we had overcharged you.

We always ask our guests for a pre-authorisation for their room rate on check in, which is a procedure practised in all of the major hotel chains. This is to 'hold' the funds which are required to pay for the room with your bank and of course you can pay with an alternative method on departure. This is the case for all guests who are settling their own account - as we had been instructed by your booking agent.

I'm glad that we managed to clear up the issue over the room type which you had booked. Our standard rooms clearly state that the room type will be allocated on arrival depending on the availablity at the hotel. We do try to allocate preferred room types, however this is not always possible. However, I am pleased that I was able to allocate a double room for your partner and yourself on Saturday evening.

There are many choices when it comes to staying in hotels and my team and I pride ourselves on being amongst the preferred choices for Cardiff - particulary in delivering great customer service. We do value all feedback from our guests and use this as an important tool to constantly look at other areas where we can improve and continue to exceed customer expectations.

I do hope that now you have stayed you will have had a chance to reflect and that we will have gone up in your estimations from 1 star!

Kind Regards

Karen Matthews
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
1.0 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,201 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.8 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay

Address: Longueil Close | Atlantic Wharf, Cardiff CF10 4EE, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £46 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Waterfront area of the old East Dock in Cardiff Bay is the prime position of the Express by Holiday Inn. Only 15 minutes walking distance from the centre of Cardiff makes a great place to stay, and to view the magnificent local shops and picturesque Arcades.Walking distance to Mermaid Quay and Millennium Centre. It is also situated in the heart of Cardiff's exciting Bay Development. With places of interest including Cardiff Castle, the home of the Welsh Assembly, the Millennium Stadium, The Millennium Centre, Techniquest the Children's Science Museum and the Museum of Welsh Life at St.Fagans, the Express by Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay is your one and only choice for accommodation in Cardiff. The Express by Holiday Inn is located just off M4 Motorway, which makes access very easy, and brings you around the city centre, showing you attractions like you have never seen before. There is ample onsite parking, which is charged at £6 per 24 hours. For your peace of mind, our car park is monitored 24 hours a day by CCTV.Please do not hesitate to contact us for any further information. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Hotel Cardiff
Holiday Inn Cardiff Bay
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing