We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (971)
Filter reviews
971 results
Traveller rating
307
399
201
52
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
307
399
201
52
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cardiff bay hi express scrambled egg and beans car park city centre minute walk mermaid quay the breakfast area budget hotel per night free wifi quiet location breakfast was included yogurt the red dragon centre reception staff double bed
Filter
Updating list...
32 - 37 of 971 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2018

Great hotel, located well for a stay in Cardiff Bay, close to shops and restaurants. Great staff, clean, comfortable and well equipped rooms. Lovely breakfast. Well worth the value price we paid! Close to the train station.

Room tip: Rooms looking over the water are great!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank michellek529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Michelle K - Thank you so much for your fab review! We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind Regards - Karen Matthews, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

The room is a little small, but perfectly formed.
The problems would be;

The desk is a separate one, about big enough for a laptop, but nothing else. You can’t work on it.

The sink has the tap coming in from the left. So you can’t cup water to splash on your face. Really bad design. They need to change this.

It’s a pity as the staff are great.

Very handy though.

IHG sort out the basins though.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank juju1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen M, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear juju1966 - Thank you for your valuable feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't find our newly refurbished rooms suitable for your business needs. Many of our guests love the changes which we've made but we know it's not going to be to everyone's taste. On a positive note, I really appreciate your kind comments with regards to the team and do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back. Kind Regards - Karen Matthews, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Overnight stay for son's graduation; bit of a walk (hotel was between railway stations) but quiet location; hotel was peaceful, clean and helpful staff. Free breakfast was usual standard, plenty of room and and staff were helpful at storing our luggage whilst we were at ceremony

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jkbar1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this relatively close hotel to the bay area
Make sure you take a room with a view of the river an amazing view in the morning and a very nice scenery
The location is very close the Cardiff
bay area
The hotel does not have a bell boy so expect to carry your bags the room we had the bathroom door does not close they promised to fix but did not
The breakfast was a very nice english breakfast really of great value in the morning
The staff were very helpful

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Osama K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

Currently staying with a friend for two nights at the Holiday Inn. We paid a small amount overall for a small but comfortable room. We have our own (comfy) beds, AIRCON (no one ever has aircon in the UK despite the fact it’s been 30 degrees the last month!), a small but good bathroom and it’s all so very clean! Very happy to be staying here :) Only downside is it’s slightly out of the way - a short Uber ride at around £3 gets us into the city though so it’s all fine :)

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank catecatecate93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews