We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value if you get a decent rate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quality Hotel Cardiff
Ranked #54 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good value if you get a decent rate”
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Good hotel, nice breakfast and rooms are fine - try have everything you need. Good value as we got a great rate. Easy to find and plenty of parking.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
1 Thank Serendipity_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
3
4
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

We booked a 2 night stay at this hotel through travel republic, because we wanted a hotel with a pool and paid more than the hotels with no pool.
We set the post code into our sat nav but when we arrived there was no hotel in the area called the quality hotel so we traveled for over an hour trying to find it.
This search would have continued to the present day because the hotel no longer exists it is now called the cardiff internationla and has been since November 2009.
When we eventually booked in we were told that the leisure facilities were no longer available.
so please dont book it through any agents because you will be sold a product which no longer exists/

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank snookie1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Nice comfortable rooms, good restaurant with children's menu a really nice swimming pool and within easy reach of Cardiff. Not the cheapest, but a little bit of luxury with the kids.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jem222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cornwall
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2008

Very conveniently situated just off the M4, modern hotel with good sized rooms and plenty of parking.
Clean adequate bathroom, hosp tray, comfy bed but tv placed on too low a stand.
Rear-facing room meant I was rudely awoken at 6.am by the bleep, bleep of a reversing delivery lorry together with rattling and banging from unloading... not good
The biggest drawback was the lack of staff on the Sunday evening. The man at reception was a jack of all trades, poor bloke. He was unable to find our accommodation details so getting to our rooms was very slow as was settling the bill paid on arrival.( get your breakfast vouchers in advance at reception for reduced price )
The same staff member also served behind the bar, took our food order and brought meals out. He didn't cook though,as a befuddled chef appeared from time to time shrugging his shoulders plainly overwhelmed by the number of orders he had to prepare.
This was a big problem. For some reason the main restaurant wasn't open ... but why ??? There were plenty of guests yet only bar meals were available. The food took about 40 mins to arrive ~ just not acceptable for this class of hotel. There was another man occasionally in view but he didn't seem to have much clue either. e.g didn't know how to work the glass washer behind the bar. Laden plates were carried around by both of them searching for which order belonged to whom.
The food was tasty and plentiful when it eventually arrived but the glass of white wine I had was expensive and had a weird taste.
Fortunately breakfast was excellent. Good choice in the restaurant and no lack of attentive staff.

  • Liked — Conveniennt For M4
  • Disliked — Restaurant Closed Sunday Eve. Long Wait For Bar Food
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank levant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2008

We have just had a night at the Quality Hotel near Cardiff. Maybe I should have taken more notice of other reviews but the location was ideal for us as we were visiting relatives nearby.

The double room was clean and ok although no mini bar (empty cupboard)or biscuits with welcome tray and tv on a very low stand when only 1 chair in the room. We could hear the music from the very lively function happening in the hotel with lots of youngsters around all areas until 11.30pm despite the request for a quiet room.

The main problem was breakfast; having paid for an english breakfast we went to restaurant only to find that the cutlery and table were very sticky. The staff moved us but the cutlery and table were no better (needed a good clean) nor did the breakfast look good; obviously held on a hotplate for some time very unappealing burnt dried sausages, greasy bacon, tinned tomatoes & tinned mushrooms. The continental breakfast consisted of tinned grapefruit, fruit juice and yoghurts. As the surroundings also looked like they could do with a clean and certainly a dust we gave up and went to the local Asda store.

The hotel generally needs to some care and attention.

  • Liked — Room was okay and clean
  • Disliked — Restaurant dirty and food not did not look good. Hotel foyer and bar very dingy
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LynM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2008

We spent four nights at the Quality as part of a package tour with Grand UK Travel. We arrived and found the room very comfortable and spacious with all the amenities we required and the staff were very friendly and helpful. As the hotel was not near a town, there was very little to do in the evening, but as we were on the go all day, we didn't worry too much about that.
The dining was to our liking although some of our fellow travellers were less than impressed with the speed of service. As the evening was spent at leisure, I was quite happy to eat leisurely and we were never rushed out of the dining area.

An ideal base for visiting the local South Wales tourist spots and can recommend a trip to Castell Coch, just down the road, the Welsh History Museum and the Rhondda Heritage site at Pontypridd.

I would go to the Quality Hotel again quite happily.

  • Liked — Nothing was too much trouble.
  • Disliked — coming away at the end of our stay
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianCropster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We stayed here for the Millennium Magic rugby league weekend and even though it was full, the staff were so attentive and helpful. The hotel is ideally located just off the motorway but certainly not noisy at all. The rooms are very clean and comfortable, the bar area is great and the breakfast was very tasty.

I would certainly stay here again. Great value for money.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank JodieStHelens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
0.8 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
2,091 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#39 of 76 in Cardiff
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
539 reviews
5.4 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
2,031 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Cardiff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Cardiff

Property: Quality Hotel Cardiff
Address: Jct. 32/M4, Merthyr Road | Tongwynlais, Cardiff CF15 7LD, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Hotel Cardiff, is ideally located for business or leisure with easy access to Cardiff City Centre, South Wales and the M4. The Quality Hotel Cardiff is also the perfect base to explore the many Welsh Castles, gardens, museums or the wonderful coastlines of Wales, everyone will feel welcomed by the friendliness of the local people. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Interactive TV (Internet access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press, direct dial telephone, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Quality Hotel Cardiff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cardiff Quality Hotel
Quality Hotel Cardiff Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing