We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby”

Mayfair Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cardiff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mayfair Guest House
Ranked #32 of 42 Cardiff B&B and Inns
sharonkitty72
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Shabby”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Stayed in a room at the top in May 2013 as we were having a night out in Cardiff. Obviously this hotel caters to contractors as there were 3 beds crammed in the room. Although shabby it was clean, The key to the front door wouldn't work on our way back resulting in having to wake the owners up at 2am!

Breakfast was just 'ok' and the owners were nice despite the late night wake up we had to give them. Don't think we would return, just wanted to give one of the B and Bs on Newport Road a go -

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharonkitty72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    11
    5
    4
    13
See reviews for
6
13
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

This is quite possibly the most disgusting B&B I have ever stayed in. A friend and I were seeing a concert near by, so the location was great. On walking through the door it smelt very musty (not a welcoming smell) and going up the stairs I could see thick layers of dust and knew that the room wasn't going to be good. I was right! Dirt, dirt, dirt everywhere. Hair in the shower, brown sustance on the tiled bathroom wall, cigarette butts behind the sink, sockets hanging off the wall. Faded, manky, damp smelling duvets and cover. Vile!! We slept in our clothes that night and wouldn't touch anything. If it wasn't so late in the day we would of checked in somewhere else, but we were pressed for time. When they asked us if we would like breakfast, I replied "you have to be joking, I wouldn't eat here if you paid me"! What a joke. We did complain and they gave us £10 back in total!! They really didn't care in the slightest, don't know how it's still running!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

Checkted into this place because it's close to the city & budget b&b but the sign outside says £20 a night I was charged £25 a night!!
Walkted into the reception area handed over the money BIG MISTAKE check your room first! Went into the room & I couldn't believe it dirty cups & saucers & a small kettle full of lime scale so strait away good start!
Things get worse wen you go into the bathroom shower full of dirt & grime shocking & appalling there is a cleaner there a girl in her early twenties don't no wot she is doing there!! Now breakfast is laughable cheap tomato sauce, cheapest sausages & bread like cardboard sign outside says Mayfair & there sister hotel is called parklane I think there mixing Cardiff up with London ha ha ha

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauldot57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Stayed at this place because it's close to the city & a budget b&b. But it's a poor standard b&b your met by the lady who runs it desparate to take the money & points were your room is wen entering the room it's clear why the rooms are £20 a night the room are shocking dirty cups & saucers filthy kettle coverd in lime scale & the towels are rock hard now the breakfast is a shocker cheap sausages & bacon bland bread & the cheapest orange juice seems to me no intrest in running the place just carnt wait to get the hands on the money.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobball97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed for one night and found the couple running the B&B very friendly and very helpful and informitive. very highly recomended if your on a budget as this B&B is great value for money and you get a full english breakfast cerial etc.. Rooms clean and warm. defo stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Stayed at this place for a week met by the owner " how long do you wont" with a confused look & just check the diary.
Handed over £200 for a week big mistake bog standard rooms, with dirty cups,lime scale kettle & towels like dish cloths
Now breakast was the poorest I have had cheap sausages & bacon cheapest orange juice & tomato sauce for £200 I was very disapointed and to take the pi## my room wasn't cleand once or was the towels changed or am sorry ( dish cloths )
Got that fed up with the place on my last night went to the hotel across the road and took the key with me ha ha wot goes round comes round!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daveharris234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at £110 per night (for the 2 of us) and so we were expecting something nicer than what we got.
The positives:
Staff were very friendly and helpful
Breakfast was nice (even the instant coffee was quite nice!)
The room was warm and quiet (apart from the morning when everyone was going down for breakfast)
The negatives:
Very small double bed with linen that looked dirty and had hairs on it
Towels were poor quality
When we arrived toilet did not look clean
Coffee mugs were dirty and then after we used them they were not cleaned properly
Very small ensuite - wash basin taps would not stay on long enough to do anything. No toiletries provided
I know that some of these things may sound petty but when you are paying £110 a night you do expect a bit more than what we got.
I personally would not stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kiwitraveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanes Hotel
Tanes Hotel
#32 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.1 mi away
The Avala Guest House
The Avala Guest House
#21 of 42 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ty Rosa B&B
Ty Rosa B&B
#3 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel One Hundred
Hotel One Hundred
#5 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
Weaver's House B&B
#20 of 42 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayfair Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayfair Guest House

Property: Mayfair Guest House
Address: 134 Newport Road | Roath, Cardiff CF24 1DJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Cardiff
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mayfair Guest House Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing