We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Friendly Staff, No Complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Hi
We stayed here as a family for one night in November 2011, after struggling to find the hotel (we had to ring to get directions as it all seemed one way/bus lanes but staff were very good at directing us) very helpful lady who swiftly checked us in.

Room excellent, plenty of towels, shower was powerful and beds were very comfortable and pillows were ultra luxurious. Didn't notice that outside noise was a problem as mentioned by others but we were pretty zonked by the time we got to bed.

Breakfast was very good, great selection, mainly buffet style but with egg station. Breakfast served from 7-11am (Saturday) which suited us perfectly. Check out was again helpful and swift.

Would I stay again, yes, definitely, where else can you find a hotel in a city centre for £89 for 3 including full breakfast.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissLicquorice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2011

I recently had a two-night stay at the Cardiff Marriott while attending a conference in the town. The hotel is only five minutes walk in a straight line from the railway station which was really convenient and saved on taxi fares. I found all the staff to be pleasant and very helpful. Check in was smooth and I was given a choice as to what floor I wanted to stay on. The room was a little smaller than I expected at a Marriott but had everything I needed although I couldn't quite master the temperature control in the room, which may well be down to operator error. Breakfast offered a good selection of hot and cold food. Room service was fast, efficient, delivered piping hot and was delicious. Would definitely stay here again if I visit the city in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors as it can get quite noisy in the evening with a number of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crazyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stay here regularly as its so convenient for Cardiff Centre shopping. Within a stone's throw of St.David 2 shopping centre and some great eating places.Breakfast is really good.Car Parking is quite expensive , disappointing as I feel that you should have a reduced rate if you are a guest. Rooms are clean ,staff are helpful.Can be a little noisy if your room is on lower floors facing the city centre!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acemumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Stayed here after staying in a terrible hotel the day before. I won't directly compare them but you get what you pay for here. Food service and the room were excellent. Clean hygienic and warm on a cold autumn day. It restored my faith in British hotel accommodation.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank southern474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2011

Get a room at the back as the front can be a tad noisy at night due to bars opposite. Apart from that room, service, food, decor, staff, leisure facilities and location all most excellent. Hotel bar prices as you would expect but a nice place to be. Very handy cra park as well, only gripe is sat nav couldnt find it.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

check in was excellent, the receptionist was very welcoming, asked if we had stayed here before, and as we hadnt, she got a street map, showed us where points of interest were that we may like,advised as hotel was busy, there may be a queue for breakfast on the sunday (which there was) our room was luckily at the back, so no noise for us, bed was uncomfortable this is due to a mattress topper which was lumpy,and in my opnion should not be used once it reaches this state, clearly the housemaid can see what she is putting on the bed, overall a nice hotel in a central location, you can get some good rates for weekend packages by booking direct, we chose the shoppers package, which included breakfast, afternoon tea served from 12-5pm , sandwiches :salmon & cream cheese, ham & mustard, cheese & pickle, lemon cake, choclate tart, scone, cream & jam , pot of tea, lovely!! also free car parking, which was a good saving, Good Location for the Motorpoint previously known as the Cardiff Indoor Arena if you are going to a show or concert,10 min walk maximum,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EPB55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We had a beautiful executive room on the 9th floor with amazing views of Cardiff. Unfortuately we ended up having to leave around one o'clock in the morning after trying to get to sleep for two hours due to the horrific noise coming from the clubs opposit the hotel.it was like tring to sleep in the middle of a fairground!!!

Room Tip: If you need to stay here ask for a room on the back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Georgina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,224 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £56 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing