We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay Beautiful Suite” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Excellent stay Beautiful Suite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2011

We stayed here for our office party on the 17th December we booked 30 of our staff for a dinner and disco evening
We also booked two suites one excecutive room and a normal room
All the rooms we booked were lovely and I thought that our suite was very nice with a seperate lounge. The bed was very comfortable and a great shower with a seperate bath
The exceutive lounge was very nice and offered soft drinks and hot beverages throughout the day. Evening time you could also have alcholic drinks beer and wine
Bronwen was looking after us as the host in the lounge and she is a great assett to the Marriott
I found all the staff very polite and friendly and they had a nothing was to much trouble attitude.
The Hotel is very central.
Breakfast was 7 till 11 on the Sunday morning
We will be back very impressed

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissJasmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    533
    213
    74
    33
See reviews for
203
468
58
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed here last Saturday for a weekend away in Cardiff to see Winter Wonderland, do some Christmas shopping, and enjoy Cardiff's city centre. From the moment we arrived, there was a smiling member of staff to greet us and tell us how long the wait was to check in. It wasn't very long at all. The young woman who checked us in was very polite and welcoming. We asked for a room on the higher floor so that we can take in the city views and not hear any potential street noise at night.

The hotel has a lovely gym, indoor pool, and jacuzzi on the lower floors. They do sell swim wear on site if you forgot yours. The Welsh breakfast buffet was lovely, they had an entire selection of all you can eat, bacon, scrambled or fried eggs, sausages, hash browns, baked beans, mushrooms, cereals, fruit, yoghurt, breads, juices, and a friendly server to offer you a warm beverage of either coffee or tea. Breakfast is served from 7am to 11am daily.

The room was rather comfortable with what Americans call a "queen size" bed. Although small by American standards, the room was adequate and had everything we needed including tea/coffee making facilities with complimentary biscuits, citrus scented toiletries in the bathroom, heated towel racks, bathrobes and slippers. They also provide a safe and iron, as well as lots of drawers for clothes if you have a longer stay. We definitely enjoyed the room and the view from our 9th floor room.

We also had access to the Executive Lounge. On Saturday night they had canapes in the Lounge from 5:30-7:30pm, which included a free house wine/beer, along with free assorted nibbles of pork terrine, cheese/fruit/crackers, fruit cake, chicken wings, onion bhaji, mushroom tart, and assortment of nuts. All very good service and food was tasty! In general the Executive Lounge is open until 11pm. They have self serve soft drinks, coffees, teas, and nibbles all day. It also has one work station complete with computer/internet and printer/scanner. There is also a flat screen tv in the Lounge.

Overall a lovely base for a lovely weekend in Cardiff's city centre.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor to take in the city views. We could see the bay from our room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

The rooms on their website looked much better than they actually are, the night staff were extremely rude, unhelpful and very snobby, one man in particular. I would never go back to this hotel

Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank gmaih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Street, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

This is the third time i have stayed at The Marriott,i would not want to stay anywhere else when i am in Cardiff.Fantastic location ,on site parking ,£14 a day might seem a little excessive but it is secure,maybe a reduced price could be offered to hotel residents.Rooms are kept spotlessley clean.Rooms have safe iron and ironing board and a fridge/mini bar (you can have drinks put in this at a charge) other than that put your own in,i am sure most people do.Having never eaten in the restaurant,apart from breakfast,i cannnot comment,i prefer to go out in the evening to eat theres so much to chose from. The staff are very welcoming and friendly.The bar is a nice quiet place to sit and have a drink after been in the bars in city centre.This hotel represents excellent value for money.I shall be going there again in April and am looking forward to it,great location for motorpoint arena.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SomersetDaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

Modern Marriott hotel right in the centre of Cardiff. Challenge to get to with Sat Nav as so many streets are now pedestrianised but good hotel car park next door.

Location is right next to a row of bars (noisy at right) and very close to restuarants (we enjoyed Wagamama) and stores such as John Lewis.

Excellent swimming pool with with sauna and steam room.

Staff friendly and didn't charge any extra when we overstayed 24 hours in the car park.

Cardiff Castle is within walking distance with plenty of arcades and trendy shops en route.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the main street due to the noise from all the bars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaBen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Marriott is a very good hotel and perfectly situated; close to the business area and yet right next to the beautifully refurbished central shopping area of Cardiff. Good restaurants and even better shopping are on the doorstep. The rooms are well appointed and service in the hotel was very warm and welcoming. Always a plus for a tired business traveller.

Room Tip: I had a room that faced the back of the hotel as opposed to the central shopping area. While the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EKRICHES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2011

The hotel is a 5 – 7 minute walk away from main railway station……reception and staff are functional with little warmth or character. Booked into Executive room, on 8th floor. Good standard of furniture but bathroom small and unimpressive. Air con worked well, mini bar not working or filled. There is an executive lounge on this floor which is handy for drinks, food and peace. The food at dinner was reasonable but breakfast left a lot to be desired with tired, overcooked food, poor surroundings, noisy, tables too close together and wait staff merely going through the motions. Other Marriott’s I have stayed in are of a far higher standard in terms of guest service and quality. Checkout functional. This hotel was disappointing for a Marriott….they are normally on top of their game.

Room Tip: 8th floor exec rooms quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westsussextraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Property: Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia and Superbreak UK so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing