We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming and comfortable hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very welcoming and comfortable hotel!”
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We were lucky enough to get a great deal on this hotel, so it was reasonbly priced for us. The location for Cardiff shopping, bars and restaurants and the CIA is excellent, and only £6 taxi ride to the Bay. The service was welcoming, professional and attentive, the rooms were comfortable (especially the beds), clean and well appointed and the breakfast buffet was very nice. We used the hotel pool, spa pool, steam room and sauna, all were clean, it was a shame though that there are no spa treatments available on site.
The only slight negative was that our rooms were on the 10th floor at the front of the hotel overlooking the bars, and so it was very noisey into the early hours. If you want a quiet room ask for one at the back of the hotel!
Overall great! Would stay there again any time, offers allowing!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel are very noisey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick186466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    476
    550
    220
    81
    37
See reviews for
210
495
61
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This hotel is fantastic. The room service, food, gym, pool, spa and location are all first class. But because of the location right in the city center, there is a little road noise which i found made sleeping difficult. Would return there, but request a quiet room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Welcome to Wales Marriott style! My stay was only overnight, but I was impressed with what I saw. The location is close to Cardiff Central Station, which is ideal for moving about. Easily visible from the main entrance. Look right!

The rooms were clean & very comfortable. My room (718) was on the 7th floor, and looked out over the rear of the hotel. Nice & quiet. Despite the traffic in the street below

Breakfast was a feast, and coupled with attentive members of staff

Recommended! :)

Room Tip: Higher floor for those quieter nights
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brisolad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
379 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2012 via mobile

Here for an International conference. Really great stay. Staff very helpful, service brilliant.
Would love a city break in this hotel!
Only downside rooms a bit dated :(

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon3001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2012 via mobile

This place is a rip off and awful for business travelers. No Internet in the rooms and expensive Internet in the lobby. I also got double charged for Internet. The rooms are average and parking is outrageous. I will go back to Cardiff, but will avoid this disappointing hotel.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We just returned from a weekend there, and used Marriott points to book our room here. Location was a couple blocks from the train station, perfect for sightseeing and some shopping, room was quite comfortable (was on the back side), staff was accommodating, and we enjoyed it. We ate one dinner there and lunch just before we went to the train station, both of which were quite good and well prepared. I wouldn't hesitate to return.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Booked directly with hotel website 2 months in advance requesting a high floor room. On arrival I was allocated a room on the 2nd floor. I was told by Jo the receptionist that a high floor room may be available later so I left the luggage in the room on the 2nd floor. Had to be really assertive to get her attention.

Half an hour later I was called and told that a room was available on 6th floor. Not exactly high but better than the 2nd.

What is the point of asking guests if they have any requests and then not being bothered to honour them when I booked 2 months in advance? I wish I had been told in advance so that I had the option to cancel.

Not happy. Poor customer service and the hotel staff need to up their game. Will not stay again.

Room Tip: If you can get one rooms on a high floor will ensure that noise from the bars outside will not distu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank markZoom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,028 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 73 in Cardiff
2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,196 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Property: Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing