We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Central location but budget standard accommodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 14 January 2013

My family and I stayed in three rooms at the Cardiff Marriot.

The first impression of the lobby was that it was neat and tidy, however the reception desk was a little ‘worn’.

The rooms were average, similar to the rooms in a budget hotel, not what we expected from a Marriott! Our TV remote didn’t work and our double bed had a significant dip in the middle and was uncomfortable.

We were also surprised that there were no bath robes, as every time we’ve stayed in a Marriott before there has been.

We made the mistake of ordering a double gin and tonic in the bar, for which we were charged £10.45 which I think is expensive, and more than we paid in one of the top hotels in New York.

The central location was good.

Overall we thought that with the exception of the lounge and restaurant the hotel the hotel was in need of sprucing up to match the standard that we expected from the brand.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kingy_Geoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,435)
There are newer reviews for Cardiff Marriott Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,435 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2013

A smart property in the heart of the city of Cardiff.
As soon as you pass through the automatic doors you are greeted by a sense of efficiency, security and modernity.

Choice of high end bar and restaurant. Executive lounge adequate.

I was allocated an executive suite, not a big space but perfectly adequate.
Breakfast not scoring any international awards, but presents a fair standard for a UK hotel. I did not sample the leisure facilities. Car parking for a fee.

This property comfortably scores well and merits inclusion as one of the premier hotels of this magical city.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatingPlenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

We wanted a hotel in the middle of the town near a theatre we were going to so we booked into the Marriott. The lobby, bar and restaurant is really nice and posh and all of the staff are really friendly and very professional! We went to the room and they weren't the best but as we were only there for one night it was ok. The rooms could do with a revamp as one of the rooms had a poor mattress that wasn't comfy at all! The breakfast In the morning was a really nice and tasty breakfast! The rooms let the hotel down but the staff and lobby area made up for it

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank king4495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We stayed for one night after travelling the M4 corridor Bristol, London x2 and lastly Cardiff. For shopping in Cardiff it would be ideal. The rooms were small and a little tired however clean and comfortable. We were upgraded to an executive room as we were celebrating Nikkis 30th Birthday. Parking onsite expensive at £14. Breakfast was expensive at approx £18 pp so we opted to go to the Kitchen Bar & Grill 300m's around the corner on st marys street £16 all in. There are a lot of restaurants outside to eat in the evening the location is great, however the radisson maldron and park inn are all in a similar location. Not our cup of tea for decor but it was ok.


029 2039 9944
http://www.marriott.co.uk/hotels/travel/cwldt-cardiff-marriott-hotel/

Room Tip: Ice machines on floors 2,4,6,8 & 10 However floor 8 wasn't working.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef_and_Nikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights in preparation for friends wedding. Arrived about 4.30pm, checked into our lovely room, then headed to the bar, really nice and contemporary. John Lewis and all the shops 2 mins away, even better because they stayed open until 8pm! Breakfast was amazing, a whole room filled everything you could wish for, healthy options or the full English if required, also a chef on hand to cook omelettes. All in all a fabulous hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliewilson29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

despite not going to the full New years eve dinner, our three days two nights over the new year were as good as ever, full hours for the pool, steam room, sauan and various gym equipment, a nice room up high enough to be above the noise of Cardiff getting drunk (not always melodious). Parking a bit pricey but the proximity to the shops made the stay worthwhile 9says my wife's credit card). We enjoyed feeding the seagullls on the 8th floor, clearly very acrobatic... Nice staff, friiendly as wever, helpful, and an alcoholic breakfats on the 1st made it all the more fun, even if the music was more for a wake than a breakfast - still it all made us get up and wann aget out into the rain.

Room Tip: parking extra but worth it
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeWNewport_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed in the city centre to combine xmas shopping with a theatre trip to the Wales Millenium centre.Because of the afternoon performance,we went to the hotel sevseral hours before check-in with the intention of just leaving our bags in the lock-up but were delighted to be told our room was ready.This was really comfy,a huge double bed each for both myself and my daughter.The hotel is adjacent to the new shopping centre and we were able to walk all the way through without getting wet-a bonus on one of the wettest days.After a quick scoot around,we went back to the hotel to get ready for the show and was told by the helpful staff on reception that there was a bus available to the bay around the corner,but we decided to get a taxi as it was so wet.After watching a fantastic show(Phantom)we managed to catch the bus straight outside to our hotel.We made the most of late night xmas shopping before a really comfortable night and the renowned marriot breakfast the following day.We were able to leave our bags for a few hours before setting off home.Will definitely stay here again.Forgot to mention only 5 mins walk from bus and rail station.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dragonladyWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
3,188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,147 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £58 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing