We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shame about our evening meal, it should have been so special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Most people have mentioned how good the staff are and amazing position of the hotel if you can cope with the night club noise, I would agree with so many of the positives but would like to list some things which would make it so much better.
We had booked this hotel to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary, we chose Marriot as we have stayed in others and always had quality and good service, we had booked an executive room which put us on the 8th floor. The hotel is attractive and seemed well maintained, our room was very comfortable although I fail to understand why they only give you one robe and slippers, guess you have to share. Normally in executive rooms you get free Internet access, so we were surprised at the fact you have to pay for it and also the lack of mineral water in our room, but the plus came in the form of the executive lounge. That is a big plus, we could pop in and make a coffee freshly ground from the machine, a small fridge was stocked with water and other soft drinks along with a nice selection of snacks and the days papers. We also had pre dinner drinks and canapés in there on the Saturday evening, a girl called Zoe was taking care of everyone and she was so nice and worked so hard.
We did note that on check in, we were not given any information on the executive lounge, it could so easily have been missed.
Our evening meal in the restaurant was the worst I have ever seen or tried to eat, the presentation was dreadful and my husband had the shoulder of lamb that was nothing but fat. We took this up with the gentleman serving who we think was the restaurant manager for that night. He needs better training he simply said sorry you could not eat it, that is how it should be, never have we had this happen, my husband should have been offered to choose something else from the menu. As it was our wedding anniversary he decided to just move onto dessert, we love Creme Brûlée yet we both left them, at this point a lovely young lady serving them noticed, we told her what happend, she went away and came back to tell us they would not charge us for the glasses of wine we had.
It in no way made up for our evening, we just wanted a nice meal together.
We went back to our room feeling really let down, we decided we would watch a movie, that is until they wanted to charge £9 for it.
Breakfast next morning we good but not amazing, the pool is lovely, kept warm and clean as is the gym. We will use this hotel again, we will book the executive floor, we will do Bed and Breakfast
And eat at Jamie Oliver's or one of the other excellent restaurants in the area. We have had amazing food at County Hall Marriot in London, I know it is 5 star but surely there should not be such a difference.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for the executive rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susieSalisbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a rugby trip and I can't fault anything. Everywhere was beautiful and clean, staff were very polite and the breakfast variety and quality was just amazing. It's situated in next to the centre so is a perfect location aswell.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkabelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Just returned from two nights stay. Lovely hotel - room was just fine on the 7th floor overlooking railway towards Cardiff Bay. Very quiet, we slept really well. Breakfast great, poached eggs to order, staff more than helpful. Bar area comfortable and nice for coffee, tea in the afternoon and evening drink. Bit on the expensive side for glass of white wine. Lovely leisure area, good to chill, very clean and well cared for. Like the ice bucket, bottle opener and ice available one floor down. The staff are helpful and friendly, great service from them all. Even the car park arrangement, once we'd got the hang of it. £14 is pricey but that is City Centre parking! We visit Cardiff regularly and will definitely stay here again, this hotel is now definitely 1st choice and we only booked it by a fluke. So glad we did. Central position ideal for everything.

Room Tip: Room at the back was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Hotel as a whole very good.
Great surroundings, bar is very spacious and relaxing, rooms the normal Marriott excellent standard and all staff encountered were perfect
My check out requests were not carried out and the food for Dinner and breakfast left a little to be desired. The former was absolutely bland and the latter, probably the worst made omelette I have ever seen and the taste, diabolical.
It was therefore a huge surprise that the Sunday Cervery was possibly the best we have ever come across - absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markstradling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Arrived at hotel at 10.30am to drop off luggage as check in is 3pm, however our room was ready so we could go straight up. Room comfortable and clean . We were on the 10th floor looking down on all the bars and restaurants and we luckily couldn't hear all the noise as being so high up and windows seemed quite sound proofed, so had a good sleep!! The pool was great and steam room etc. breakfast was plenty! Great selection of food. The staff were very helpful and friendly. I stayed here with a friend on a girly weekend but I would bring my husband and children as they catered for everyone. Perfect for shopping as John Lewis and huge shopping centre 2 minutes away! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: For less noise ak for the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Really enjoyed our 3 night stay here. For a large hotel the staff we encountered were helpful and professional. The property is done up in a nice, modern decor with the usual dining and leisure facilities. There is free wifi in the hotel common areas, though in-room wifi costs 15 GBP per 24 hours, which is a ripoff but not uncommon with the big chain hotels, unfortunately.

Our room (2 double beds) had decent enough space. The bedding was quite comfortable and we slept well. Some additional seating and a desk were included as well as an in-room safe. The bathroom had a full bathtub and shower combo, decent water pressure. We appreciated having ice machines at the hotel. From our 7th floor room we had a nice view north towards Cardiff Castle. We didn't experience any trouble with noise from adjoining rooms. The hotel leisure center included nice workout machines, a swimming pool, dry sauna, steam sauna and locker rooms.

The location is fantastic - just a 3-5 minute walk from Cardiff Central train station. There is a taxi rank right outside the front entrance and the central bus station is close by as well. The shopping arcades/mall are right there and sights like Cardiff Castle are an easy walk away. There is a Tesco Express (convenience store/mini-mart) just around the corner. Plenty of restaurants of all kinds adjacent, too.

We would certainly stay here again if/when we hopefully get a chance to return to Cardiff one day!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 84fiero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Thank you for your review. As you discovered, Cardiff Marriott Team is always prepared to assist our valued guests in every possible way to create lasting memories. Thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel. We are look forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

First stay at the Marriott in Cardiff. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient. Location is perfect being in the Centre with good transport links down to Cardiff Bay,railway and bus station. Close proximity to the shops . Quality of food for breakfast and evening meal was excellent with ample proportions and an excellent choice. Although the hotel was fully booked and there was a convention booked during our stay, which meant there was a lot of business people staying, we found that it was very welcoming, cosy and relaxing and it didn't feel over-busy or crowded at any time.
We enjoyed a relaxing time there and will certainly return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,338 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £56 - £537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing