We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Enjoyed staying at the hotel at Easter. A little tricky to find and quite close to bars that got a little leary but that's what city centres can be like! Warm welcome from reception and helpful.

Great breakfasts and lovely rooms.Extremely comfortable bed.

We left the car in the car parks and walked everywhere!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susiedoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your overall stay. we are look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Cardiff!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel has a fab location, minutes from the train station, and within very easy reach of all the sights and attractions in Cardiff, whether you are going to a rugby match, concert, show or just to shop.
We arrived 3 hours early to the hotel, but were allowed to check in as there was a room available. The room although was a little small, it catered for all your needs, ie. trouser press, hairdryer, tea and coffee facitlies etc.
The shower was very powerful.
The breakfast was very good, hot fresh food and plenty to chose from, the only let down was having to queue for a while whilst waiting to be seated, and there was still a queue when we left.
Chris was suprised to find that the pint of stella he had at the hotel bar was the cheapest he had had all day,
Overall we had a very pleasant stay here and would recommend it for your stay in Cardiff

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The hotel is very well placed for the station and the shopping area of Cardiff, being about five minutes walk in each case. The welcome on reception was very good, although my room preference was not honoured. This may have been as I was checking in around 2 pm, ie an hour earlier than usually permitted, and the receptionist did not make a fuss of this at all. So all well and good. My room was also very well appointed, although looking a little dated now, and very comfortable. One of the great things about Marriott hotels is that the bedding is designed to make you feel like you are sleeping in luxury and the bed is very comfortable to help you get a good night's sleep. There is also a large desk to work at or a good size TV for entertainment. Everything was very clean. There is also a trouser press, iron and ironing board and the usual tea/coffee making facilities.

The Executive Lounge staff were very good at their jobs, although the area is quite small and the snacks and drinks limited in their sections.

So far, it is about seven out of 10. But the hotel was let down by the extremely wet and, consequently, grubby looking gym and pool changing rooms. There is a fairly large pool, but as it is raked, it is difficult to turn when doing lengths.

I ate in the dining room which was also a mistake. Again, the service was very friendly, although I am not sure a waitress should address her customers as darling... The room itself has, I think, been recently refurbished - but not in a good way, with hideous high-tech chandeliers juxtaposed against "on the farm"displays. It feels soul-less. It has intrusive music. The menu is supposed to be inspired by Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and his River Cottage collection of cook books. I hope he has eaten there as it is his brand that is being tarnished. I had a pleasant chicken parfait to begin, although the sourdough toast was rock hard. For my main course, I had slow roasted pork (minus any crackling), which came with a slab of tasteless polenta and some over cooked (if not burned in some cases) roasted vegetables. I did not bother with a pudding. This modest meal, with a pint of beer, came to just over £28 including service.

The last thing to let the hotel down was the check out experience. The receptionist on this occasion came across as rather superior. Also, my pre-booked taxi did not turn up so she had to order another. I left feeling rather grumpy.

I hope that the manager reads this review and does some "mystery shopping"!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Firstly, love coming to Cardiff. The warm and genuine welcome at the Marriot and the service was second to non. From Reception to Maid to Restaurant. On the 10th floor, comfy bed n room with view over the Bay. The evening meal was a delight. Our waitress was so enthusiastic explaining the local produce used and each dish was superb. Highly recommended. While here, you really must go to the Bay. Had great time, lots of eating n drinking places overlooking the Bay. Had warm welcome and meal at the Salt Pub overlooking the Bay. Also, there is a really nice Weatherspoons pub with great view and balcony upstairs. Food looked very good (another time) and well priced, especially the beers! A nice way to get to the Bay is to walk down from hotel, (20mins) and get the relaxing river ferry back to the castle park area. (£3 each). Or do it in reverse. Nicer than the bus and great way to see the Bay. Castle really worth a visit too. The Bay Museum is worth looking around and get an insight to the Bay. Its free too. Did walk to the Barrage from the bay (about 1 mile and we must go back to see it working!) and through the harbour to the Oystercatcher pub (Hungry Horse, good value food!). In the daytime you could carry on walking in a circle back to the Bay. (Pick up a map from your hotel!) Roll on the next time here. .can't wait.......

Room Tip: High floor will give excellent views. Ask to look over the Bay if possible, Nice at night too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavenPaulaSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I stayed at Cardiff Marriott about half a year ago. The location simply attracts its own customers: within walking distance from Cardiff central train and bus stations, across abundance of resto/pub/bar, next to some other restos, availability of parking lot and so on. The staffs were very friendly and explained pretty much everything I needed to know during my stay. The facility was quite complete, with the swimming pool that had reasonable opening hours. Too bad I didn't opt to taste the breakfast. Plus, this hotel has seasonal offer so make sure you keep an eye on it!

Room Tip: Room is large enough, could accommodate a family of 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IRT_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

The Marriott has all the usual accommodations one expects: big, comfortable beds, cleanliness, good breakfasts, etc. and they even had a nice swimming pool. But I have never encountered such warmth and helpfulness from a staff. They actually made me feel as if they liked me, and went the extra distance to see me through the small difficulties of my stay. They were consistently cheerful about it, too.
Only gripes and they are minor: The coffee was not good. Always tasted as if it had been sitting around far too long, or recycled. The pool water was too warm. Fine if you are in there chatting, as most folks were, but really hard going if you wanted to swim laps.

Room Tip: We were there during Rugby playoffs, so we requested a room on the top floor (10th) to avoid noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

`the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful, whatever arose they dealt with professionally and with a smile. The concierge particularly deserves a mention.. Got exactly the room I wanted, quiet and near the lift. Good sized room with two queen sized beds and lots of pillows, great sleep and very comfortable. Tea and biscuits in the room was much appreciated and they supplied fruit and herbal teas on request. Good strong shower.
The cost of broadband in the rooms is ridiculous, it is very expensive.given it is free in so many hotels abroad these days, almost decided not to stay here because of this. However because the lobby connection did not work for my friends computer we were given free internet in the room so avoided this payment......
Breakfast was adequate if you like a 'full english' and it was well cooked, there was also a good fruit salad. But the bread was totally unimaginative as were the cereals and cold buffet. Perhaps I am spoilt by staying in scandinavian hotels where you can have a health breakfast of salads, smoked salmon, good cold cuts, different cheeses, and a wide choice of wholegrain breads. Perhaps River Cottage could have an influence.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: There are quiet rooms high up or at the back if that is important for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Evaskalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,333 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,174 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £59 - £549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Marriott, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing