We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, very good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location, very good service”
Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

Decided to stay here for a shopping weekend. Very good location close to the train station and St Davids Shopping Centre. Also a very good restaurant only yards away called Bobs. Staff at the hotel were very attentive, room was good with views across Cardiff. Very nice breakfast. We will be back....

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholasbutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you for your review. we are look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    490
    570
    232
    86
    40
See reviews for
224
518
64
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This hotel is just a few minutes’ walk from the train station and is on the doorstep of all the city centre attractions.

My room was clean, tidy and well maintained, although it was a little small. Wi-Fi is also chargeable, but apart from that it was a good stay and the breakfast was satisfactory.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyB1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for one night while visiting Cardiff for the Tonga rugby match. Have stayed in the Swansea Marriott on many occasions but this was our first visit to the Cardiff one and we were not disappointed. The room certainly had a view - all the way to the bay. The hotel is situated right in the centre of the city just a few minutes walk from the Millennium Stadium, railway station and the many fantastic shops. For us the highlight of any Marriott stay is the breakfast! The selection of hot dishes, cold meats and cheeses, breads and cereals is positively scrumptious. Plenty of coffee and juices on hand. I would defy anyone being able to manage lunch after a breakfast like this! The staff in Cardiff were exceptionally friendly and welcoming - we will definitely be back. The only downside was that we forgot to pack our swimming stuff so couldn't have a swim!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaywatcherSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
It is an absolute delight to read your comments and that you keep visiting Marriott hotels over and over again. On behalf of the Cardiff Marriott team I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us as your preferred hotel in Cardiff. Our Breakfast indeed has a large variety of choices.I am glad that we have met your expectations.Thank you for this wonderful post. Look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stopped here before the Wales v Tonga match for one night and as a Marriott Gold Card member I was fortunate enough to get an upgrade to an exec room.
The room itself was clean and well furnished but not the biggest I have seen in a Marriott and certainly on the expensive side.
The exec lounge is well stocked and the service is good with a range of drinks and snacks.
The bar is well run and reasonably priced for a four star hotel although due to the rugby it was very busy.
Breakfast is up to the usual Marriott high standard with a wide range of hot and cold foods but the service for hot drinks and table clearing could have been a little more attentive.
The staff are all friendly and helpful which is probably the strength of the hotel especially the concierge whose name I didn't get but he really is a gem.
Overall a well run hotel which is conveniently located in the City centre ideal for shopping, sightseeing and the stadium.

Room Tip: If you fancy a treat book an executive room as the lounge access is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 429SteveP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
We recognize & valued your Gold Elite Marriott rewards membership as an extensive traveler with Marriott Hotels and brands. I am glad that you have enjoyed your stay & thank you for taking time write about our hotel. Cardiff Marriott team consistently looking for ways to assist our guests in every possible way to ensure their stay is pleasurable. I have personally passed your feedback to the concierge. Once again thank you for staying with us and looking forward to welcome you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed here last night for x mas shopping the staff were really nice perfect location a min walk to the shops we had breakfast included but with a 2 year old we wanted it in the room to make things easier which was well worth the £6 extra full English breakfasts fruit and cereal and it was spot on our time of 7.45-8 am will definately be staying again may even come next month to finish of x mas shopping
only bad point was the internet by reception was £5 for half hour because I needed some printing I had to use it but if that's the only bad point it wouldn't stop me from staying again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wellard12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Good room, restaurant & staff and fantastic central location. We did have a room at the front, which didn't suffer from any noise from the bars (although it was a Saturday night). The photos of the hotel and rooms are representative. While the car park is a multi-storey to the side of the hotel it seems secure. Our car parking ticket was validated for free.

Great location to all the bars and restaurants in Cardiff!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends & colleagues. I'd like to go back to see what the gym & pool look like - perhaps someone could comment if they have seen it

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We used this hitel for a boys weekend at the rugby. Rooms were very clean and the staff were very friendly. Those who used the pool said it was very good too. The rugby stadium is certainly worth a look and boy the Welsh fans can sing. As for pubs and clubs can recommend "the place on the Corner" for drink and food and Bills for breakfast. Both are opposite the hotel.

Room Tip: It is a city hotel so the higher up the building the quitter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 74 in Cardiff
2,112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Property: Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing