We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to the action”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #20 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Close to the action”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Was nice & close to Cardiff central station & bus stupid to get to Cardiff bay. Hotel staff were pleasant. Only stayed for two nights. The room was comfortable & clean. Shopping & everything you'll need were just a short walk from the hotel.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank writeonshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    540
    217
    74
    33
See reviews for
204
475
58
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location, next to the shops, train station and the millennium stadium. We were allowed to check in early, which was appreciated. The staff were very good, friendly, helpful and knowledgable about the area. The rooms were very comfortable, well appointed and quiet. For breakfast there was plenty to choose from, all of it fresh and tasty. Very enjoyable nights stay, great place to stay when visiting Cardiff.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank melaniet970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

Stayed over to watch the rugby. Room comfortable with great views. Breakfast plentiful. Staff very accommodating allowing early check in. Great central location in the heart of the city with excellent bars and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Overnight stay for a Jools Holland show and Xmas shopping. Room was clean, roomy and comfortable. Service was as expected in a good hotel. The upgrade to an Executive Suite was well worth the extra with the refreshments, drinks and breakfast included in the Executive Lounge. All in all could not fault it.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I visited this hotel 2nd week of dec 2013.

Positives:
Great location right next to all the major shops eg John Lewis and St David's shopping centre, as well as v near train/bus stations.
Very clean throughout the hotel
Really comfy bed - one of the best I have experienced in a hotel.

Negatives
Shoddy service both at the front desk and in the restaurant. When we checked in, the receptionist asked us if we wanted newspapers to our room. We said no, however they sent them anyway. Then when we went to check out, they argue with us that we would have been asked if we wanted the newspapers. I don't expect to have to argue with the receptionist over newspapers which I declined in the first place.
We had breakfast in the restaurant on several mornings. Although it was tasty, there wasn't a great selection of pastries. If it wasn't for the shoddy service, I would have forgotten all about the pastries. I stood at the restaurant front desk for probably a minute whilst the waitress had her head buried in her diary. There was noone on the phone and noone else around so it wasn't as if she was dealing with anyone else. I started making some noise with my bag to attract her attention but to no avail- I was standing approx 1 foot away from her! So she was clearly ignoring me. So then I gave up and told her my room number and walked past her, at which point she snapped something at me and I repeated my room number. When I got into the restaurant, noone showed me to a table or told me where the buffet was- it was in a room just off the main restaurant but isn't immediately obvious to the bleary eyed early morning first time visitor. I had to just assume I could sit anywhere at which point a waitress came over with the look of death on her face. I then ended up having to ask her if I needed to order tea and poached eggs or if they were available on the buffet. It turned out I had to order them, but I had to guess that as there were no menus, boards or staff offering information. This experience was pretty much repeated several mornings in a row. On one of the mornings, I was in the middle of eating my breakfast, when one of the waitresses came over and snarled at me asking if I had given my room number- it was most unwelcome and made me feel like they thought I'd walked in off the street and was trying to steal a free breakfast.
My favourite part of visiting any hotel is going to the swimming pool for a swim and then winding down in the jacuzzi. I visited the pool two mornings in a row and on both occasions the jacuzzi was out of action until later in the day. I was really not impressed, particularly after the breakfast experience!

Overall, the only reason I would stay there again is because of the location. I need somewhere as handy as this hotel is. Otherwise I would vote with my feet and never return. I would therefore highly recommend people try somewhere else, in fact I may try the Radission Blu which is just around the corner.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzbur4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

This review focuses on the gym and fitness suite. There is a poor offering from the Marriott here. The gym is small, but never feels full as its membership is not overloaded. The gym contains a relatively good range of facilities, but a number of faults make it less than enjoyable. All treadmills and bikes have TV screens, but the majority of channels are unavailable. Management have been informed, but blame this on a corporate issue which they cannot influence. Sometimes you get access to the hotel’s pornographic subscriptions via the gym TVs. The pool is maintained at what can only be described as a random temperature. In spite of staff’s claims to the contrary, it varies from icy to tepid, and there is very little you can do to predict what it will be. The changing rooms are cleaned at the beginning of the day, so an early start is always best. Throughout the remainder of the day, they get wiped down, but by the evening are looking worse for wear. Staff do not respond quickly to dirt, and it is not what you would expect of a 4* Marriott facility.

Room Tip: Aim to go early in the day, as the gym gets filthy by the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

Could not fault this hotel one bit! Check in staff were delightful and friendly, the rooms are spacious and beds are very comfortable! Right in the centre of Cardiff city centre therefore perfect location for shopping in Cardiff!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucyb189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,033 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,981 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Property: Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing