We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the centre of Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Excellent service, good clean rooms, lovely receptionists.
What more could one ask for?
We highly recommend this hotel.
We stayed here for one night on Marriott points, and best of all, the hotel is walking distance from the city centre, and a mere 1 1/2 miles to the fabulous Cardiff Docks.
The thing about a chain like Marriott is that you more or less know what you are going to get. And it's usually very good indeed!

Room Tip: We had a lovely view on the 10th floor over to the stadium!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mickigirl1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 1,456 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2014

We stayed at the Cardiff Marriott for a few nights in July, 2012. We enjoyed the hotel and easy access to restaurants and some sights. We went to see the 'Dr. Who' exhibit and it was not too far from the hotel. We also drove to see Brecon National Park. It was an unexpected stop and the front desk workers were very helpful in providing information and directions for us.
Overall, I would give his hotel a positive rating and would stay here again.
I hope I get to visit Cardiff again.!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed here fro two night son the 8-10 Feb 2014 with all my family... we got a room rate of 89 pounds including breakfast which was really good... We opted to get a taxi from teh airport to the hotel took around 40 minutes and cost 30 pounds. You can get the bus is cost 5 pounds one way and takes about 55 mins. The bus stop is near the hotel.
Overall the hotel was really nice and the location is just perfect. the breakfast was fresh and had a great choice.... i would use this hotel again. :-)
I aslo used the swimming pool and it was very well ,amanged and of a high standard. The gym area was HUGE!!!! with lots of equipment and the styeam room, sauna and whirl pool was sooooo relaxing.... so don't forget your swim gear.... but if you do they sell some and loads of shops near by to buy them...

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightsawayinhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Lets start with the wi-fi. At £6 per hour it is outrageous. The hotel is a typical Marriott so is probably better suited to the business traveller. Whilst other hotels offer free wi-fi (which in my view is an essential for all business travellers), this hotel was offering wi-fi at £6 per hour, £15 per day or £75 for the week!! The hotel staff were pleasant and friendly and the room was clean. However, it was poorly equipped with no mini bar and not much in the way of toiletries. A colleague who had stayed at the Raddison Blue (which was just down the road) was surprised at the cost of the room given what was on offer. I would not stay here again unless they changed their wi-fi charges and made more of an effort with the comfort of the rooms, Shame, the staff seemed really nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations C, Guest Relations Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Thank you for your review of the Cardiff Marriott Hotel. I am sorry that your expectations were not met during your recent stay. Your feedback is valuable to us and I have discussed your comments with the management team. On a positive note I am pleased that the staff were pleasant. I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Cardiff Marriott Hotel in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I frequently stay in Cardiff yet this was my first stay here. Service was good and friendly with an efficient check in.

Rooms as you would expect from the Marriott chain, nothing to fault.

Breakfast was plentiful and efficient.

Will definitely consider again.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
Thank Kev-B-Lin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Located right in the heart of the city, the Cardiff Marriott offers every a traveller needs.starting from the c/in to the check out everything was just great.The staff members are very courteous and friendly. The room was nice and had a nice city view. The leisure centre is big and very clean. The breakfast was a treat,and the snacks in the BAR in the evening were good as well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deepanshu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I thought the hotel yes was nice but I think the bedrooms are very dated and considering the amount of money paid the room was fairly basic.Yes you get a big bed and a large tv ( most accomodation has a big tv now ) I think that the £115 price tag for 1 night was expensive and I think it was absolutly disgusting that you are then charged an additional £15 to park overnight at the Hotel carpark! As with all hotels drinks are very expensive at the hotel as was Breakfast ( which I didn't have as the room and parking alone was expensive enough)The staff I thought were very accomodating and it seemed like a very popular hotel, even though the hotel was directly across the road from the nightlife of Sodabar and peppermint etc the room was quiet as the windows are doubled up so you can't hear a peep which was good. I also thought that the 3pm check in time was a bit late although was very pleased with the check out time not being until 12pm. Overall I don't think I would stay here again unless the came down on the price as I couldn't justify spending that a mount of money on yes a lovely hotel but a basic bedroom.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kellycadz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations C, Guest Relations Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thank you for your review and I am pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is valuable and I have shared your comments with the management team. I very much hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £56 - £531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing