We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay for 2 nights”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Large comfortable room. The hotel is in a good central location

The 'hidden' extras soon add up... Breakfast £19.90, parking £15, broadband in the room £17 per day. I find it annoying that some large chains like Marriott continue to charge like this when many hotels include these things into the basic room rate.

Reported a problem with the heating not working. Not a big problem as the weather was warm. However, it wasn't fixed and no feedback from hotel staff about was being done.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AMM50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your review about the recent stay at our property. We apologize for any inconveniences may have caused you due to prices of additional services and the heating. Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for choosing Cardiff Marriott as your preferred hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

839 - 845 of 1,455 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2014

We have just returned from a two night stay here Friday and Saturday night. Excellent location for shopping and restaurants. On site parking is convenient but very expensive, £15 a night for guests. When we arrived we were asked if we had a preference in room location. I said, quiet as possible please, noting we were opposite bars and clubs. So the receptionist said I will put you at the back of the hotel on the top floor, we thought this sounded perfect! When we got to our room 1011 we were disappointed to find it at the very front of the hotel. I'm not sure why, but we didn't complain, we just thought we'd stick with it. The air conditioning was also broken in the room, we had to ask several times for this to be mended. There was no mini fridge, which we normally have in the Marriott hotels we have stayed in before. The awful noise from the bars and clubs woke us up at 3am Saturday night/Sunday morning, then we wished we had asked to be moved to the back of the hotel. Breakfast, bed, cleanliness were all of usual great standard. An okay stay, just a few niggles.

Room Tip: If you want less noise, ask for the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SARobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2014

Thank you for your recent review of Cardiff Marriott hotel. I am delighted to read that you found our location is convenient for your needs. We apologize for any inconveniences may have caused you due to air condition and the outside noise. Your feedback regarding the room allocation has been passed to the reception team. Your feedback is very important to us and thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

It's ok! Not a bad price for the one night, but that's only the start!

What really annoyed me was the price of the drinks!!

Perhaps I'm not up to date with prices, but surely 2 pints of coke (from the pump,) a large vodka & coke and one large glass of red wine for £22.25, I won't be staying at the Marriott again!!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank PaulBecks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guest Relations C, Guest Relations Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry you were dissapointed during your recent stay at the Cardiff Marriott Hotel. Please be assured your comments are valuable and I have shared them with my management team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Stayed here with a group of ladies for a hen party. Very spacious rooms, with two double beds. Comfy night sleep which is what you want after a night celebrating. Couldn't hear any noise from outside, which I was very grateful for! Didn't have breakfast included in the price so can't comment on food, but did park in the car park, which was a god send. A lot cheaper than parking in a NCP, and it was secure onsite.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tanya9se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My husband and myself stayed two nights at The Marriot Cardiff using our Tesco vouchers. We had a lovely room and the breakfast was first class. We went to see Wicked at the Millenium Centre on the Saturday and this hotel was perfect for transport to the bay as the taxi rank and bus stop is right outside the hotel. The hotel is situated right next to all the restaurants and in the city centre. We took our car but the downside of this is that it costs £15.00 a night to park in hotel car park which I think is too expensive for residents of the hotel. Especially if you are staying there for a few nights

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank virginia b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Stayed for 1 night, staff really helpful and friendly. We arrived early and just wanted to drop off bags but they found a room and let us check in early which was much appreciated. Room nice and clean and had everything we needed. Our room on the 4th was quiet. Location excellent for shopping and the Motorpoint Arena. Good value for money, would stay again. Did not have breakfast or use spa so unable to rate.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed here as we had a conference in the motopoint and were arriving by train. Clean comfortable in a very convenient spot- very central. Despite this the room was quiet. To park would have been £15 a night! Wifi in the room £6 an hour and £15 a day- does it really cost that much to supply wi fi? I believe it was free in the foyer. Reception staff pleasant and efficient. We would stay here again

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,175 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £60 - £549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing