We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ultra modern”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #19 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ultra modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Alarming on arrival outside the hotel to find it looking a bit tired and old fashioned. The carparking system wasnt immediately apparent which was a minus point.
Once inside though it was a totally different scene. Ultra modern decor, excellent staff, very courteous and helpful. The rooms were very clean and tidy, comfortable beds and lovely luxurious pillows. The bathrooms were clean and tidy, although the shower did flood the floor quite a lot despite the curtain being correctly placed.
Excellent location for the centre of Cardiff, but the views left a lot to be desired.
£15 for overnight parking was expensive but at least the car park was secure.
All in all a lot of money for an overnight stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjg895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    540
    217
    74
    33
See reviews for
204
475
58
308
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our Family had a wonderful time time at this hotel. Our Room was clean and quiet. Our breakfast was very good. Would stay here again. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful with directions and sights to see in the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthO7177AE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I visited so many hotels in cardiff with my family. This hotel is the best. First, the hotel is very safe as only gusts are allowed to enter the hotel especially at night. Second, the staff are friendly and helpful but what I like a lot about it is the location. The train station is a 5 minutes walk. City center and Cardiff Castle are also a few minutes walk. Around The hotel all the best restaurants and coffee shops in town and when you are there try my favorite restaurant Jamie Oliver Italian.
If you like shopping Saint Davids Mall one of the biggest malls in Europe is only few minutes walk from the hotel.
For family vacation or a tour visit to Cardiff this hotel is the best.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Alhodaithy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

good points first: location is good, lobby and general first impression of reception area is good.
my room was on the top floor, first impressions were it was a bit shabby and in need of a makeover, good view of cardiff though.
bar area looked ok but tables and the bar itself were a bit dirty and sticky with spilt drink.
service not as good as other nearby (much cheaper) hotels i have stayed in on previous visits.
wi-fi expensive at £15 for 24 hours, i stayed at a premier inn the previous night where it was £3 for 24 hours.
breakfast room had a 'stand here to be seated sign' where i stood for a few minutes while other less patient guest filed past and sat themselves at a table...eventually did the same.
again service not the best, seemed to be pot luck who got served first, annoyingly the waiter was clearing the table as soon as i put my cutlery down.
would not stay again, plenty of better budget hotels close by.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berwyn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at the Cardiff Marriott Hotel. On behalf of the Team, Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused with regards to the breakfast wait, Bar Cleanliness and internet pricing. Keeping in excellent customer satisfaction in mind, Cardiff Marriott team constantly looking for ways to improve our services and facilities. There your feedback is vital to us and help us to re-look at our services and facilities. Once again please accept my sincere apology and I hope you will give us another chance to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here as part of a large group. The hotel is very nice, with a great restaurant. it is within easy walking distance to many pubs, restaurants, and lots of shopping. Cardiff is a very fun city to explore, and this hotel is in a great location for exploring.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weaver1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

I've been to a range of different functions in this hotel; weddings, christmas parish parties, rugby socials, etc.
Each time the food was out of this world, the staff were extremely helpful, the actual room decor was beautiful.
If someone asked me to recommend a hotel in Cardiff it would be this one

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014

I was torn whether to rate this hotel 3 or 4, but in the end I went to 3 on the basis of value for money, but that aside I do find this a pleasant hotel.

Overall
A good hotel, a lot of nice touches, a lot of basics are done well, great location, good staff. Let down by numerous extortion rackets on parking, wi-fi and (if you're in an exec room) double charging for breakfasts.


Positives:

The staff are very friendly, bar staff and restaurant staff all helpful and with a smile, the service at this hotel is excellent.

The bar actually has a nice atmosphere, unlike a lot of hotels it's laid out nicely and has a bit of a vibe, makes it a nice place to sit for a drink, watch the sports, have a bite to eat, etc - I often prefer room service in hotels because the bar / restaurant is so soulless, but this was the opposite.

Bar food is good quality and value for money, I didn't eat in the restaurant but I didn't feel the need to, the bar food is well cooked and tasty, nice fresh ingredients and no 'packaged food' feel that you sometimes get.

Really good fitness centre with a nice range of opening hours.

I had a suite (don't usually but Cardiff was very full that week), very spacious, lovely shower, bed and pillows were very comfortable. Room was cleaned to a good standard. Housekeeper did occasionally forget to replace things like biscuits / water over the week but no big deal.

Executive lounge on the 8th floor is nice, a free bottle of beer before 9 is very welcome as are the jelly beans!


Negatives:
Air con is incredibly noisy, don't expect to sleep with it on.

Rooms look very dated, hotel needs modernisation above the ground floor.

The 'free' breakfast in the exec room has a terrible selection, given the room prices it's a little outrageous that you have to pay *again* to use the main buffet breakfast if you want something as exotic as a fried egg. The idea of the separate breakfast is a nice touch but the implementation is too half-hearted, Hilton and even the Radisson get this much, much better.

Parking price is absolutely outrageous, pure total and utter profiteering, a £200 a night room should not require fleecing you for £15 a day parking (£60 for the week...), it's disgusting. They also charge (in full day increments) from check-in to checkout so if you have to work in Cardiff on the day you checkout, make sure you take your car with you or you'll be fleeced for another £15 on top of your £60.

Seriously Marriott - set a 4/5 day rate of £35 for your guests and stop this, even at that price you're printing money.

I had some colleagues staying in non-exec rooms, thei wi-fi prices were equally ridiculous. This is 2014, Wi-fi should not be a fleecable extra...

Finally, my comic moan - the buffet breakfast in the main restaurant is very nice, apart from the hash browns, hash browns should not be soggy and they shouldn't be kept in the steamers they're in, though I am mildly impressed that the Marriott has managed to get Hash Browns to taste like they've been boiled!

Room Tip: Try and get one away from the bar side of the hotel, the neighbouring bars across the road from it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melakh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FOMCardiffMarriott, Front Office Manager at Cardiff Marriott Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your stay at the Cardiff Marriott Hotel. On behalf of the Team, Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconveniences caused during your stay. I have already shared your comments with the entire team. I can assure you that we will be looking to your comments and taking actions to improve our services and facilities. I would appreciate if you could PM your details to the hotel (attn: Front office manager) to re-look at the breakfast charges incurred from the restaurant. Once again please accept my sincere apology and I hope you will give us another chance to demonstrate our usual high standard and services which we are well known for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#3 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,133 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Property: Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#19 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing