We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb concierge”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cardiff Marriott Hotel
Ranked #20 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 10 January 2011

Visited friends in Cardiff and stayed at this hotel, the concierge guy called Kevin was incredible, a true professional with that old fashioned impeccable service. Rooms okband restaurant needs a bit more pazzaz but the concierge guy made our stay, full marks!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomasmadera65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,330 - 1,336 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2011

Stayed here as we were seeing Pendulum in the Cardiff International Arena which is only a stone's throw away, with the rest of the city centre right outside the hotel. The new one-way system in the city centre wasn't on Google, so it took us a while to get to the hotel, but once there, parking was straight forward. We did have to go back to Reception when we left though as the machine wanted us to pay £90-odd as they hadn't validated our parking to the hotel rate but a quick trip to Reception sorted that. The car park is very secure too.

Check in was relatively straight forward and our family room (2 x double beds) was large, with the usual very very comfy Marriott beds. We had a great view from the fourth floor (see the photos) and there wasn't any noise from the city in the room.

We didn't have breakfast as it didn't really fit with our plans - overall this hotel is in an awesome location and I'd definitely use again for a city break or something similar, but for attending a gig or something similar involving alcohol, you'd probably be better off with somewhere else, so that you appreciate the amazing beds more!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheLush101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2011

A really good hotel in Cardiff City with friendly and efficient staff. My room (standard) was a good size, nicely decorated, modern and clean. The attached bathroom was spacious and very clean. But becareful when having a shower as the water temperature does fluctuate a bit. Close to shops and restaurants, and easy walking distance to Cardiff Castle. Would be more than happy to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowanhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2011

First time that I have stayed in a Marriott hotel and I'm wondering why it has taken so long. Friendly service from all the staff, only issue was that as Cardiff has changed since the new St Davids shopping centre I got a bit lost trying to find the entrance to the car park for the hotel so ended up parking in john Lewis, which cost £6 extra but not the end of the world. We stayed in the junior suite and requested city views when we booked as we wanted to watch the new years eve celebrations from our room. And we were not disappointed we were given a 6th floor room and it was very spacious, the views were perfect and allowed us perfect viewing for the fireworks. The service was amazing, during the night I fancied a bacon roll, even though it was on the breakfast menu they didn't refuse and 15mins later it was at my door. Bed was comfy and even though we had views over mill lane, didn't have any complaints over noise from the bars below, although we did hear the occasional siren earlier on but that can't be helped. We had executive lounge access which was worth every penny. The swimming pool was quite and warm and clean, actually the whole hotel was spotless. Breakfast was to die for, if given the option to pay a little extra when booking then do it, otherwise it could set you back £15. The hotel was perfect, location was great, from now on I'll defitally stay at Marriott hotels and next time I'm staying the night in Cardiff there's only one place that I'll be considering and that's the Marriott.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam007007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2010

Stayed at this hotel about a year ago and enjoyed our stay so booked again . This time the hotel was even better, rooms seemed to have been just decorated. Everywhere was clean- bedroom was spotless. Warm welcome at reception..
Jamie's has opened opposite so we eat there. Very close to all the shops and the CIA sowill book again when we visit Cardiff again.
ps
Would have loved to have had breakfast but at £15+ seemed a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
Thank charlieWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2010

Super Hotel only drawback cost of breakfast but found a first class place in Wyndam arcade which is opposite front of hotel called Servinis had a good breakfast without breaking the bank

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melbishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2010

Great hotel, location brilliant, staff excellent, breakfast massive, couldnt fault the room either, BUT i have had 4 hours sleep, up till 4 am becuase the nightclub across the road was blasting out tunes until 4 am, even with triple glaxing i could not sleep !! so if you do stay here do not stay at the front of the hotel , beware, very tired now !!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greatreview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.4 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.6 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 74 in Cardiff
2,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
2,242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cardiff Marriott Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cardiff Marriott Hotel

Address: Mill Lane, Cardiff CF10 1EZ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Business Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £56 - £374 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cardiff Marriott Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cardiff Marriott hotel is one of the finest hotels in the Cardiff city centre and is ideal for both business or leisure travel. Our hotel features an on-site restaurant, fitness club, meeting facilities and high speed wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cardiff Marriott Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Cardiff
Cardiff Marriott Hotel Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing