We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but unlikely to return”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not bad but unlikely to return”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

I stayed overnight at the Copthorne in late March for a weekend break. As the other travellers have noted, the hotel is several miles outside of Cardiff and takes about 10mins driving to get there (approx £10 in a taxi). It is situated near some retail parks containing a supermarket and Mc Donalds,etc.

The hotel grounds were nice and there was a patio where facing the lake where you could sit and watch the ducks.

Our room was fairly dated but had all the amenities that we needed. We stayed on the ground floor and our room faced the carpark. There were no net curtains across the massive windows so everyone walking in the carpark to reception could see right into our room. The only other option was to draw the black out curtains but that left us without natural light. Room tip: if you like some privacy, request a room on a higher floor or one facing the lake side.

Another fault of room was the the shower flooded everytime my partner and I used it. The water just ran down the external side of the bath onto the floor, even with the shower curtain/screen in place, creating a large pool of water on the floor of the bathroom.

As part of the hotel package, we had a set dinner included at the Michael Buble tribute. We arrived at the restaurant to ask where it was held and none of the waiters knew and we managed to find out from reception that it was in one of the function rooms. The dinner was due to start at 8pm, however, the food wasn't served until 9pm. When the food arrived, it was served in a haphazard manner which meant someone on our table was always left without food and had to ask the waiters for their food.

The food was ok, not gourmet but perfectly edible. The best part was the sticky toffee pudding which was delicious. The service continued to be very slow throughout the night and we probably didn't start on our mains until close to 10pm. The waiters appeared rushed and stressed.

At 3am, we were woken by guests returning from a night out - slamming doors and arguing with each other for at least half an hour. The sound-proofing of the rooms wasn't great as it was very loud.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and there was an excellent selection of cooked food and cereals.

Overall I would I would give the hotel 3.5 stars given the price we paid. However, I would be inclined to stay closer to the city centre for the convenience and greater choice of restaurants on my next visit to Cardiff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank octobersky07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    401
    267
    91
    48
See reviews for
187
391
35
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Had an enjoyable enough stay here for one night and although there was nothing particularly wrong with it there was also nothing particularly special. It was a pretty average hotel. Breakfast was tasty in the morning although the price was a little steep. Extra towels, kettle and cups etc. were all there just needed searched for. Would be happy enough staying here again just nothing special.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank djmcmorris21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We have stayed here on several occasions. We live near Cardiff and this hotel is well placed for both Cardiff Airport and The City. It is also near St Fagans Folk Museum and Duffryn Gardens.
The hotel is 4 star and has good rooms and ensuite.....possibly in need of some refurbishment but nothing horrendous. They all have tea and coffee making facilities and a 6 ft bed.

There is a restaurant Raglans which has a 2 rosette award and a comfortable lounge bar.

It also has a spa and small swimming pool which could definitely do with a make over.

The staff are helpful and pleasant. It can sometimes be busy on International weekends.

There are good deals to be had here and it definitely gets 4 stars.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which does not overlook the car park. The other side will overlook the Lake which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirstyskennelmate100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We went for the April Easter break. The hotel is located next to a retail park and just opposite to McDonalds. The rooms were clean and the toilets immaculate. The receptionists were extremely helpful.The room had an old tv with enough to watch channels. There's a nice bar with very reasonably priced drinks. (about £3.75 for a pint). The hotel has a nice jacuzzi and gym.
Out of the drawbacks, I don't think the hotel has air conditioning. Though they provided a fan, I do think it would be pretty hot during peak summers. Also the hotel is far from the city (about 15 minutes drive) which can be both an advantage and disadvantage. We never expected the Cardiff city centre to be so lively and guess we missed on a bit of the action by staying far . Overall, a recommended hotel for a peaceful stay.

Room Tip: Try getting a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelleruk27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
520 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 519 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We stayed for one night when attending a special birthday party at a local golf club west of Cardiff. Although this 1980’s style hotel with its own lake is situated on a retail park right by a major road intersection, we don’t think this will be a problem for the majority of guests. We booked a lake view room. All lake rooms face north east and look through dense planting to the very busy Culverhouse X intersection. Quite amazing really, watching the water fowl on the lake through the closed window, you’d hardly believe you’re right next to such a busy road junction. Some of the end rooms may get a “better” view of the road and perhaps these would not be as quiet. The south west facing rooms on the other side of the hotel overlook the hotel entrance, car park and retail park a little distance away. As retail parks go we don’t think you’d get bothered with much noise if you stayed in one of these rooms and on bright days you’ll get lovely sunshine through your windows.

It’s true that the reasonable size bedrooms do look rather tired and dated. A lot of that is probably due to the choice of dark wood effect for furniture and doors, which could never lighten a room like pale coloured wood and easily shows scuffs etc built up over 20 years. The use of heavy patterned curtains also closes the room in on you. So the rooms could do with a make over to open up the interior space but this isn’t a top of the range hotel so you shouldn’t expect the best. That said, our room was clean, the shower was excellent, as was the lighting for the mirrored hairdryer corner and the bed, which felt too soft when we first sat on it, was actually very comfortable and supportive without being hard. We hope our memories are not playing tricks with us but we do remember being disappointed that in 2012 the room still had an old fashioned tube TV instead of a nice modern 32 inch LCD or LED TV that would probably cost a lot less now than the old TV did 10+ years ago.

As we were out late and planned to have a lie in we decided not to pay for breakfast. We had tea and biscuits when we got up but then had an early and excellent Sunday lunch in Raglans restaurant soon after we checked out at midday. We didn’t use any of the hotel facilities during our 20 hour stay so can’t comment about them but as self funding leisure guests, we would never consider paying a hotel a 24 hour fee for the half an hour’s internet access we would use.

If you don’t mind being about 5 miles west outside of the city centre and you get a room at the right price this hotel could be a reasonable choice for a visit to South East Wales.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandH-eurotrippers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Chose the Copthorne to provide my partner and I with easy access to Cardiff centre as well as the various places of interest located within twenty miles of the city. And was I pleased with my selection. Service was first class in all respects with an extremely knowledgable considerate and helpful receptionists, excellent breakfast staff and food and really good rooms. Will go there again and again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport - Gwent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

My Wife & I along with 2 friends booked to see a Micheal Buble tribute / meal / over night stay at the corpthorne in Cardiff. This deal was fantastic and we all look forward to the next event.
The hotel has a good spa which we all made use of prior to the evenings entertainment, the food was perfect as you would expect from a hotel of this quality.
We thoroughly recommend any to book this hotel if your visiting Cardiff or the surrounding area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ade_Morris2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Prestigia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing