We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and great value with online deal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Comfortable and great value with online deal”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed the Thursday and Friday before the Jubilee weekend, late booking on the internet (booking.com) £114 for 2 nights - at this price the hotel is good value for money - you will easily pay this or more for a travelodge or premier or similar budget chain.....
Everything was fine, good check in, room in order when we arrived. We were offered breakfast at £7.50 per person a day, this seemed reasonable for a buffet breakfast (again comparable with budget chain prices)... (can't comment on the quality as we don't have the breakfast as we don't want to be bound to mealtimes and not eating pork usually limits breakfast options...)

We stayed in Room 405, extremely comfortable, good sized room, everything was clean and the bed was comfortable and large - yes it is 2 beds joined however this is not unusual in many hotel chains...

Agree with previous reviews that some of the furniture/decor is looking tired and a bit dated (the dark brown doesn't help) however great effort had gone into the cleanliness of the room. Room was cleaned daily, towels/toiletries etc replaced - and when I wanted more teabags/milk - housekeeping were very helpful and gave me what I needed (and extra biscuits :-) )

Sleep quality was quite good, there was a function one evening with some background music but this wrapped up by midnight and didn't affect us too much as we don't sleep early, if you wanted to sleep earlier it may cause a problem. On the second night there was a lot of door knocking (room 404) about 2.30 am as someone had locked the door from the inside! I had to go out 3 times to ask them to stop.... not the hotel's fault just ignorant people!

The hotel room was extremely warm however it was difficult to pin down if this was due to the hotel's heating or those few days being extremely humid and muggy as we felt this when we were out and about as well... It does seem odd that rooms can't control heating/ventilation more individually...

Visited the gym and spa twice which was a great bonus at the price. Small gym but it had a good range of equipment. Agree with previous comments that parts of the spa is also a little dated, some cracked tiles around the jacuzzi.... and it seems to have a lot of steps that people could slip on. That said we had a very pleasant few hours relaxing and swimming, not too many people when we visited mid-afternoon.

Throughout our stay staff were pleasant, polite and helpful, both in the hotel and spa so overall a good experience. We would stay here again if the same type of deals were available.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    396
    264
    90
    47
See reviews for
186
382
35
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel was located at a busy road intersection so very easy to get to with the downside of some traffic noise. This didn't stop us sleeping though and we had the window open all night.
The first room we had smelled badly of cigarette smoke even though the hotel is all non-smoking. We told the receptionist and were offered another room straight away.
The room facilities were basic but adequate and room service was available and some Sky channels on the small tv. Bathroom was clean on arrival with bath and shower over. Room was also very clean although the bathroom bin wasn't emptied during our stay they did replenish the towels and tea/coffee but not the toiletries.
Our room had a view of the car park but it was a cheapest room. We had no problems with noise from the car park but the room had no net curtains or blinds only full blackout curtains so to get any privacy we had to shut the curtains and turn the light on. Not a major issue for us but might be annoying for some people. Bed was a super-king so plenty of room and two armchairs and a desk in the room. Internet was available but we didn't use it.
Bar meals were reasonably priced and good quality food.
Breakfast was very overpriced especially as had to get everything ourselves from the buffet, even tea and coffee. There was a good selection of choices hot and cold however.
There is a McDonalds, Tesco and M&S within 2 minutes walk so for those on a budget you can get breakfast there. I would not have breakfast in future at this hotel unless included.
There is a pleasant, small lake behind the hotel which would make a nice outlook for the more expensive rooms.
Staff were all polite and helpful. Parking was plentiful. We stayed mid-week. The hotel is only 6 miles from the coast and an easy drive to Barry Island.

Room Tip: Would avoid a ground floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brainymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N.Wales
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We've stayed here a few times and have always had a good experience.
The hotel is comfortable with a small but nice bar, areas to sit and kill a bit of time.
The rooms are very nice, good beds and the bathroom has a shower over bath with plenty of hot water.
Breakfast is great!
It took us about 15 mins to get into the centre of Cardiff by car but there are a number of stores on a retail park just across the road including a big M&S if that floats your boat.

I have 2 very small gripes
1. The bedroom was very warm and there seems no way of altering the temperature, and
2. The spa is just starting to look a little tired.

We will certainly use it again when visiting Cardiff

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regen01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

Stayed for 2 nights with a voucher purchased off ebay. Very surprised with the hotel and the room. it is an older style hotel with free carparking. Our travel was by car and it was needed with this hotel as it was away from the main tourist areas, although close to local shops. Enjoyed the stay and made good use of the bar and restaurant. We had a room that overlooked the carpark and main entrance and didn't hear a thing
Would stay there again for any function or visit to Cardiff

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Booked one night stay on a group tour. Enjoyed the ambience of the room. Had an adjoining room and really liked this stay. Very soundproof room. Did not eat or use the bar service (I believe it was abit pricey) and chose to find an evening restaurant close by (Treherne Arms, 5 minute walk of the hills which was FABULOUS). Comfy beds. Room face the parking lot, but as there was a wedding taking place at the hotel, it was busy. But didn`t bother my sleep.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaH9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth uk
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I went to the Copthorne Hotel with a group of family and friends recently. On arrival my friend and I ordered a glass of red and a glass of white wine. The cost was £16.00 - ooch! We did this only once. We did not dine or socialise at the hotel but went out into Cardiff where although we had a taxi fare of £13.00 each way between five it was worth the journey. Cardiff is a great place for nights out. The rooms at the hotel were fine and the staff friendly. The breakfast was the usual buffet style but with poached and scrambled eggs made to order. The coffee was nice and hot and you could help yourself. I plan to visit Cardiff again but would not stay at the Copthorn as it is too far from the centre. Probably great for weddings and corporate entertainment!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ang54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with hubby.
This is an older style copthorne hotel not very modern but we really enjoyed our stay. We were in a carpark facing room but did not once get disturbed. Checkin was great (thank you Daisy) at reception.
Breakfast was really good and plenty.
Car park is free and theres a small retail park 2 minz away. Wifi is not free which was a shame But overall a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing