We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Greendown Inn Hotel(Saint Georges-super-Ely)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Wynford Hotel(Cardiff)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (1,190)
Filter reviews
1,191 results
Traveller rating
273
450
301
109
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
273
450
301
109
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretail parklake viewculverhouse crosscity centrebit datedleisure facilitiessteam roomclub roomironing boardbusy roadone night staybuffet stylefree parkingnight's sleepcomfy bedsaturday nightafternoon tea
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
893 - 898 of 1,191 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Had a 3 night stay - booking through hotwire.com, so had a very good deal. Out of town, but a handy location with easy access to centre and cardiff bay in about ten minutes. Room a bit dated, but very clean. Would stay again if going to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendal321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

It's a hotel - functional: beds & bathrooms. Nothing special though.
The interior is a tad dated. In the rooms there were not many plugs, (and some of them are the old fashioned type that are useless for any modern appliance) the internet is expensive, the TV was limited. the bed was massive, but it was two singles pushed together.
The bar is really over-priced. They sold really nice crisps though. :)

The lifts are tiny, the gym and pool were decent, but the changing rooms are in a right state. Lockers missing doors or doors with no locks.

Went for breakfast and despite there being loads of empty tables, the waiter selected a dirty table for us, which he duly cleaned with a soaked cloth and didn't bother to dry. "Luckily" he didn't wipe all of it, so the part where he set our paper napkins & cutlery down on was still dry.

To be fair - all the staff were really helpful and friendly at both check in and out and at the desk in the leisure club.
The place just needs some decent refurb work and to step out of that old philosophy of hotels that over-charge for everything because they can.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My friend and I recently booked a one night stay at The Copthorne, we found the reception staff extremely friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, clean and inviting. We had a view of the lake, just a shame the weather wasn't better. The Health Club was an added bonus as the use of this was included in the price, ok, so it could do with a bit of TLC here and there but it's just general wear and tear, it certainally wasn't anything worth grumbling about and I cannot wait to vist again. Even though I prefer a city centre location, I will definately choose to stay here again as a taxi was only around £12. We ate in the bar twice and were very impressed with what we had, you certainally get value for money and I hope to try the restaurant next time. A very good all-round hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaMarie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed the Thursday and Friday before the Jubilee weekend, late booking on the internet (booking.com) £114 for 2 nights - at this price the hotel is good value for money - you will easily pay this or more for a travelodge or premier or similar budget chain.....
Everything was fine, good check in, room in order when we arrived. We were offered breakfast at £7.50 per person a day, this seemed reasonable for a buffet breakfast (again comparable with budget chain prices)... (can't comment on the quality as we don't have the breakfast as we don't want to be bound to mealtimes and not eating pork usually limits breakfast options...)

We stayed in Room 405, extremely comfortable, good sized room, everything was clean and the bed was comfortable and large - yes it is 2 beds joined however this is not unusual in many hotel chains...

Agree with previous reviews that some of the furniture/decor is looking tired and a bit dated (the dark brown doesn't help) however great effort had gone into the cleanliness of the room. Room was cleaned daily, towels/toiletries etc replaced - and when I wanted more teabags/milk - housekeeping were very helpful and gave me what I needed (and extra biscuits :-) )

Sleep quality was quite good, there was a function one evening with some background music but this wrapped up by midnight and didn't affect us too much as we don't sleep early, if you wanted to sleep earlier it may cause a problem. On the second night there was a lot of door knocking (room 404) about 2.30 am as someone had locked the door from the inside! I had to go out 3 times to ask them to stop.... not the hotel's fault just ignorant people!

The hotel room was extremely warm however it was difficult to pin down if this was due to the hotel's heating or those few days being extremely humid and muggy as we felt this when we were out and about as well... It does seem odd that rooms can't control heating/ventilation more individually...

Visited the gym and spa twice which was a great bonus at the price. Small gym but it had a good range of equipment. Agree with previous comments that parts of the spa is also a little dated, some cracked tiles around the jacuzzi.... and it seems to have a lot of steps that people could slip on. That said we had a very pleasant few hours relaxing and swimming, not too many people when we visited mid-afternoon.

Throughout our stay staff were pleasant, polite and helpful, both in the hotel and spa so overall a good experience. We would stay here again if the same type of deals were available.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank batoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This hotel was located at a busy road intersection so very easy to get to with the downside of some traffic noise. This didn't stop us sleeping though and we had the window open all night.
The first room we had smelled badly of cigarette smoke even though the hotel is all non-smoking. We told the receptionist and were offered another room straight away.
The room facilities were basic but adequate and room service was available and some Sky channels on the small tv. Bathroom was clean on arrival with bath and shower over. Room was also very clean although the bathroom bin wasn't emptied during our stay they did replenish the towels and tea/coffee but not the toiletries.
Our room had a view of the car park but it was a cheapest room. We had no problems with noise from the car park but the room had no net curtains or blinds only full blackout curtains so to get any privacy we had to shut the curtains and turn the light on. Not a major issue for us but might be annoying for some people. Bed was a super-king so plenty of room and two armchairs and a desk in the room. Internet was available but we didn't use it.
Bar meals were reasonably priced and good quality food.
Breakfast was very overpriced especially as had to get everything ourselves from the buffet, even tea and coffee. There was a good selection of choices hot and cold however.
There is a McDonalds, Tesco and M&S within 2 minutes walk so for those on a budget you can get breakfast there. I would not have breakfast in future at this hotel unless included.
There is a pleasant, small lake behind the hotel which would make a nice outlook for the more expensive rooms.
Staff were all polite and helpful. Parking was plentiful. We stayed mid-week. The hotel is only 6 miles from the coast and an easy drive to Barry Island.

Room Tip: Would avoid a ground floor room if possible.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brainymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews