We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 1 July 2012

I stayed at the hotel for one night to meet up with friends. My main criticisms are that the hotel doesn't have air conditioning. It was a warm night and I was put in a room over the main entrance which during the late evening was quite noisy causing me to close the window. I then woke up at about 2am very hot. The other thing is and this is not the hotel's fault as all commercial premises have to comply with it - but I had the energy saving lighting in the rooms - not only is it dull but it makes you look awful. So whereas I used to love going to hotels and find the experience made me feel better, now with the horrible lighting it doesn't. The EU have a lot to answer for!

Room Tip: Probably better to ask for one looking over the lake or at least not by the main entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Monty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

810 - 816 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2012

THE HOTEL IS AN IDEAL CONNECTION FOR BUISNESS AND FOR SOCIAL EVENTS, EASY ACCESSIBILITY TO MAJOR ROUTES AND MOTORWAY LINKS ,not far from cardiff city town centre, its a friendly hotel with conventional rooms, the bars and restaurants are adaptable for all tastes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAMANTHADAVIS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Stayed on business. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and friendly.
I have stayed here for many years on an irregular basis and would suggest that an update is now in order. Whilst still comfortable, the rooms lack air conditioning and are becoming dated. Breakfast is completely self-service, down to helping oneself to tea and coffee - the staff here could take a lesson from their reception colleagues in attitude. Food was average too.
Location is good for the airport, but no courtesy bus. Taxi quite expensive. There are plenty of shops to visit if at a loose end and Tesco will happily provide breakfast at half the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MGF03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

My wife and I were very much looking forward to staying at the Copthorne Hotel but immediately prior to leaving for the break we were informed that my mother had had a heart attack and the consultant told us that she was extremely ill. We contacted the hotel, who were initially sympathetic and then contacted Laterooms, who were also sympathetic. When we then contacted the hotel again to confirm that we were having to cancel the receptionist was off-hand about the whole situation and insisted that they would charge us the full amount anyway. You learn a lot about the quality of customer care in these situations - and I have learnt enough about Copthorne not to want to go anywhere near the place again. Strongly suggest others do the same.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank RedlandMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

Had a 3 night stay - booking through hotwire.com, so had a very good deal. Out of town, but a handy location with easy access to centre and cardiff bay in about ten minutes. Room a bit dated, but very clean. Would stay again if going to Cardiff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kendal321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2012

It's a hotel - functional: beds & bathrooms. Nothing special though.
The interior is a tad dated. In the rooms there were not many plugs, (and some of them are the old fashioned type that are useless for any modern appliance) the internet is expensive, the TV was limited. the bed was massive, but it was two singles pushed together.
The bar is really over-priced. They sold really nice crisps though. :)

The lifts are tiny, the gym and pool were decent, but the changing rooms are in a right state. Lockers missing doors or doors with no locks.

Went for breakfast and despite there being loads of empty tables, the waiter selected a dirty table for us, which he duly cleaned with a soaked cloth and didn't bother to dry. "Luckily" he didn't wipe all of it, so the part where he set our paper napkins & cutlery down on was still dry.

To be fair - all the staff were really helpful and friendly at both check in and out and at the desk in the leisure club.
The place just needs some decent refurb work and to step out of that old philosophy of hotels that over-charge for everything because they can.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

My friend and I recently booked a one night stay at The Copthorne, we found the reception staff extremely friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, clean and inviting. We had a view of the lake, just a shame the weather wasn't better. The Health Club was an added bonus as the use of this was included in the price, ok, so it could do with a bit of TLC here and there but it's just general wear and tear, it certainally wasn't anything worth grumbling about and I cannot wait to vist again. Even though I prefer a city centre location, I will definately choose to stay here again as a taxi was only around £12. We ate in the bar twice and were very impressed with what we had, you certainally get value for money and I hope to try the restaurant next time. A very good all-round hotel

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaMarie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
590 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,204 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £48 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing