We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a refit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Paid £312 for 2 nights in a suite and it felt like I was staying at my gran's house! This hotel really does need a refit and in the meantime they should drop their prices to reflect the state of the place. Tired, old fashioned, scratched, red mahogany furniture, big old TV, rucked carpet, outdated wallpaper, like someting from the 80's. Upholstered furniture is dirty and shiny on the arms from use. Nice view from the rooms at the back, overlooking a lake, but the windows were covered in bird poo and noisy as main road just a stones' throw away. Restaurant and bar area have dated, patterned carpet, and also look tired. Staff are friendly enough and do their best. Coaches of foreign tourists and lonesome businessmen seem to be thier main clientele. Near a large shopping centre with Tesco, M&S, etc, but if you have an avertion to patterned carpets in restaurants there is only one pub you can walk (10 mins) to that serves food, Traherne Arms which is only ok. Did not try the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Back rooms have a lake view but dirty windows and noisy if the window is open. Front rooms quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Burcottbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

757 - 763 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed here for one night as I was attending a charity event in Cardiff. Rooms were large and one needed a sat nav to move across the bed as it was so wide.

Had breakfast in bed which was extensive and very tasty.

One small downside and many hotels fail on this - please provide steam irons. When ironing dinner shirts, steam is needed so please think about providing one.

Apart from that, great hotel and very comfortable. A great business hotel or a place to use as a base. Wouldn't stay for a romantic weekend as its location on a retail park isn't the most romantic of locations but it is close to the city and the beautiful countryside of the Vale of Glamorgan.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is the worst hotel I've stayed in. Cleanliness very poor our room yet to be vacuumed (day 2 of 3) bed had hairs on sheets. Smell from drains in bathroom, shower curtain smelt not sure when last cleaned. View non existing - staring out to bushes and car park. Beds in dire need of replacing - lumpy, uncomfortable, really not doing my bad back any good, squeaky, thought springs were going to come through, was supposed to be double room but got 2 single beds pushed together. Don't know when the 4 star rating was given because it certainly is NOT 4 star in my opinion have stayed in better more comfortable budget hotels. We arrived on a Sunday night asked about restaurant only to be told it was closed on Sunday's and had to be satisfied with burger & chips and sausage & mash.
I would not stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patskl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here recently, the room we booked was ment to be a double. We ended up in a family room 3 single beds. Very clumpy dark depressing furniture .. Ajoining door to room next door .. This was neither desired or appreciated by a young couple like ourselves.
When contacting reception was advised to push single beds together to make a double .. This again was not what we had in mind. Room wasnt clean dusty and
Hadn't seen a Hoover in a few days. Disappointed! Expected so much more from a 4 star hotel .. Call in the SOS DIY team because they are very much needed . We were also woken earily hours by passers by trying are door handle to get in room. People were up drinking till gone 4 am ..in the hotel bar . Noise we could hear in are room. Advice don't stay here.. Cheaper rooms available in town even budget hotels are much nicer etap .. Big sleep ..

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OurHanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I had high expections for a good quality hotel, but that was soon dashed when my friends and I had did not get a particularly warm or friendly welcome. Indeed one got the impression that the staff at the reception were under staffed and were having trouble coping.

Our room on the ground floor was very dark and depressing, Furniture was all very dark mahogoney wood, wall paper almost as depressing and lighting very poor. The window overlooing the lake was great, and made up for the poor light in the room.

The breakfast room was okay, but the door that the staff used to the kitchen just kept making a loud bang everything some one came in and out, which was not very pleasant, and the staff just continued as if that was acceptable, when it was the last thing I wanted when trying to enjot a peaceful breakfast.

The food was okay, nothing special, but there was plenty of it, and you just helped yourself.

I certainly did not consider the price of the hotel good value, and would certainly look elsewhere next time I visit Cardiff.

Room Tip: Difficult to suggest, as I suspect that the rooms are all the same, but rooms at the back over look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Flowingfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Overall good service, rooms comfortable but in desperate need of a refurb....the hotel has seen far better days. Ordered room service and was prompt, delivered with a smile and food was very good. No mini bar in room (206) naturally it broke down and was never replaced...if you need internet connection however go find another hotel...they claim wi-fi is avaialble for just £4 for 24 hours...its so cheap for a reason....it is slower than my dial up modem 10 years ago

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank popeye2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Rather a strange location, in the middle of a retail park but has the advantage of being relatively quiet for a large city. The public areas are clean, comfortable and spacious. Bar prices are way too high though for what's on offer - if you need a drink, take your own. Our room was again clean, comfortable and spacious, but did need some tlc and a redec. Breakfast was ok with a fairly good selection of choice, but let down by having to get absolutely everything yourself including coffee, tea and toast; something most other hotels offer as standard. The staff were all very polite, helpful and courteous. Our only major gripe though was the mandatory wedding party, which seems to be a standard fixture in all hotels at weekends these days. Not only do they think they have the complete run of the hotel, they must also think they are the only guests staying there. The poor night Manager was run ragged until 4 in the morning trying to deal with the selfish revellers. I know this wasn't necessarily the hotels fault, but something needs doing with these incidents, which are on the increase. Overall though, not too bad a stay but they might struggle to keep their 4 stars if some improvements aren't made.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on or above level 2 (which is actually ground level) and overlooking the lake/pond or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ResRepMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
585 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
4.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#13 of 74 in Cardiff
2,180 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £51 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing