We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Break” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Weekend Break”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

Hotel receptionist was not very informative, I had to ask all the questions like what time and where is breakfast, also for the spar complex. Rooms were clean and just seemed very dark almost could do with brightening up as looked a bit old. Breakfast was ok, but they did not seem to have the staff to for-fill the consumers requirements, had to wait 15 min for milk, but once every thing you asked for it was good, just be prepared if they have had a function the previous evening, they can't seem to manage them and the other hotel guests. The spa complex was excellent and could not fault it one bit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KayTaffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    388
    259
    89
    43
See reviews for
180
373
33
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

Date of stay: September 25-26, 2012
Purpose: Designated hotel for Britain and Ireland Explorer cost saver guided tour by Trafalgar (21 days).
Hotel location: City outskirts with a mall having Macdonalds and Marks & Spencer across the street.
Hotel amenities: Has beautiful garden and landscaping with a small pond at the back of the hotel, good and clean restaurant & lounge bar, spa, fitness centre and indoor pool, wake-up call, free safekeeping of valuables at the front desk.
Room amenities: Clean room, comfortable two single beds (1 big, 1 small), desks and closet with lots of drawers, a small lady dresser with three-sided mirrors, 1 small table and chair, free wi-fi internet connection, flat TV, telephone, kettle for boiling water, complimentary supply of tea & coffee and a small bag of cookies, iron & ironing board, spacious and modern bathroom with bath tub, complete bathroom supplies except face cloth which is not normally provided in European hotels, hair dryer, room-controlled heating system. While the hotel claims its tap water is safe to drink, we still boiled it first before drinking.
Electric voltage: 220V which requires adapter and converter for 110V personal appliances. However, there's a 115V outlet marked "fFor shaver only" that I managed to use recharging my 110V shaver and double A rechargeable batteries for digital camera without using adapter & converter.
Personal comment: Having passed the criteria of Trafalgar to select this hotel for its very popular Britain and Ireland Explorer cost saver organized tour, value-for-money, we also highly recommend this hotel, the best hotel we stayed in throughout our trip.

Romeo & Lunesa Fernandez
Toronto, Ontario
Canada

Room Tip: Rooms facing the mall across the street offer a good view of the hotel's front garden and mounta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomeoFernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abertillery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I was relocated to the Copthorne Hotel when the hotel I had originally booked in Cardiff City Centre (The Angel) was overbooked. The Copthorne is a 15 minute drive from the city centre and apart from the disruption of having to take several taxi journeys, I was pleased that we were relocated. The rooms were large, quiet (despite the proximity to the motorway) and overlooked a picturesque lake. The breakfast was excellent and above all the reception staff were exceptionally helpful in assisting myself and friends to reorganise our stay. I would definitely stay at this hotel again and travel in to the city centre.

Room Tip: Request a room with a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keri J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leighton Buzzard UK
Level Contributor
73 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

Paid £312 for 2 nights in a suite and it felt like I was staying at my gran's house! This hotel really does need a refit and in the meantime they should drop their prices to reflect the state of the place. Tired, old fashioned, scratched, red mahogany furniture, big old TV, rucked carpet, outdated wallpaper, like someting from the 80's. Upholstered furniture is dirty and shiny on the arms from use. Nice view from the rooms at the back, overlooking a lake, but the windows were covered in bird poo and noisy as main road just a stones' throw away. Restaurant and bar area have dated, patterned carpet, and also look tired. Staff are friendly enough and do their best. Coaches of foreign tourists and lonesome businessmen seem to be thier main clientele. Near a large shopping centre with Tesco, M&S, etc, but if you have an avertion to patterned carpets in restaurants there is only one pub you can walk (10 mins) to that serves food, Traherne Arms which is only ok. Did not try the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: Back rooms have a lake view but dirty windows and noisy if the window is open. Front rooms quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burcottbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

wales
Level Contributor
156 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

I stayed here for one night as I was attending a charity event in Cardiff. Rooms were large and one needed a sat nav to move across the bed as it was so wide.

Had breakfast in bed which was extensive and very tasty.

One small downside and many hotels fail on this - please provide steam irons. When ironing dinner shirts, steam is needed so please think about providing one.

Apart from that, great hotel and very comfortable. A great business hotel or a place to use as a base. Wouldn't stay for a romantic weekend as its location on a retail park isn't the most romantic of locations but it is close to the city and the beautiful countryside of the Vale of Glamorgan.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2012

This is the worst hotel I've stayed in. Cleanliness very poor our room yet to be vacuumed (day 2 of 3) bed had hairs on sheets. Smell from drains in bathroom, shower curtain smelt not sure when last cleaned. View non existing - staring out to bushes and car park. Beds in dire need of replacing - lumpy, uncomfortable, really not doing my bad back any good, squeaky, thought springs were going to come through, was supposed to be double room but got 2 single beds pushed together. Don't know when the 4 star rating was given because it certainly is NOT 4 star in my opinion have stayed in better more comfortable budget hotels. We arrived on a Sunday night asked about restaurant only to be told it was closed on Sunday's and had to be satisfied with burger & chips and sausage & mash.
I would not stay here again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patskl200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here recently, the room we booked was ment to be a double. We ended up in a family room 3 single beds. Very clumpy dark depressing furniture .. Ajoining door to room next door .. This was neither desired or appreciated by a young couple like ourselves.
When contacting reception was advised to push single beds together to make a double .. This again was not what we had in mind. Room wasnt clean dusty and
Hadn't seen a Hoover in a few days. Disappointed! Expected so much more from a 4 star hotel .. Call in the SOS DIY team because they are very much needed . We were also woken earily hours by passers by trying are door handle to get in room. People were up drinking till gone 4 am ..in the hotel bar . Noise we could hear in are room. Advice don't stay here.. Cheaper rooms available in town even budget hotels are much nicer etap .. Big sleep ..

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OurHanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#20 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing