We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conferences good, Staying does need a overhaul”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Devon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Conferences good, Staying does need a overhaul”
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Excellent friendly staff always willing to help. Recently a stay I had to change rooms due to the smell of smoke. No issue the staff were more than helpful. This is the fourth time I have stayed at this hotel. However, second time I have had to return food. This visit I ordered the steak sandwiche on room service. You could not eat the steak, you could not cut it either. Last time I had to return the burger has it is was raw inside. Again, the staff offered to replace and bring a new one immediiately. I declined.

The rooms are dark and do need a tidy up and brought into the 21st century. The dark wood is scratched in places and carpet needs a new one. Again no real issue you would have a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    222
    396
    264
    90
    47
See reviews for
186
382
35
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We only stayed over night after a wedding near by, the bedroom was very comfortable and the breakfast selection was 10 out of 10 well cooked & hot, more if you wanted the same with tea & coffee. Plenty of car parking spaces.

Room Tip: Corner suites are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, North Wales
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on 2/11/12. Hotel located on outskirts of Cardiff (10/15 minutes drive to city centre) and ideally you would need a car. Retail park across the road and plenty of fast food outlets within walking distance. Large free car park. Very disappointed in the rooms which are very dated, dark and in need of modernisation. The lampshades and some of the furniture are only fit for the skip. However, beds were clean and comfortable and the location made for a quiet night's sleep. Bathroom ok but limited free products (one bottle of shower gel between 3). Similarly, one biscuit between 3 on the hospitality tray - lucky it was already cut into three pieces! Leisure facilities looked fine, but we did not use. Breakfast was excellent - plenty of choice, local produce and freshly cooked. Very close to St Fagan and 10 minutes from Cowbridge which was lovely. You can get a bus into the city from across the road. Personally would not use again for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Overlooking lake would be a nice outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BasRhyl_NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This was a very nice hotel located just outside Cardiff city centre. It is easy to find located just of a series of main roads and has ample parking. It takes about 15mins to get into the city centre by taxi. The hotel can call taxis for guests which cost around £12 to get into the city centre. We did notice that taking hackney taxis from the city back to the hotel were also around the same price.
The hotel has a nice pool, spa, gym and sauna located on a lower floor.
Near to the reception is a bar. Prices were not bad for a city hotel around £11 for 3 pints. The bar area was nice and comfortable and staff friendly.
Breakfasts were of a buffet style. Either cooked or continental. Again this was of a good standard.
The rooms were comfortable and the beds provided for a good nights sleep. The rooms were very clean.
I would recommend this hotel. I stayed here once before 12 years ago and the standard is as high now as it was then. I will return!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRJ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south wales
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed 1 night for a murder mystery deal. The murder mystery was brilliant and the 3 course dinner was excellent. Breakfast however was really bland a fair amount of choice but not much taste the orange juice was like coloured water.
The room was dated and needs updating . It was clean .
The bed was very soft -too soft for me. The walls are quite thin and you could hear people walking in the corridor.

Room Tip: If your breakfast is not included in price I wouldn't pay the £14.95 that the will charge. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank broffy101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012 via mobile

Just spent two nights here during rugby international weekend. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Facilities including pool and leisure club were nice and clean as were rooms. As mentioned by others rooms could do with a bit of modernisation but it didn't put me off as everything was still well maintained. Bar reasonably priced and buffet breakfast was good value.
This hotel was good value compared to most city centre hotels who seem to put price up considerably during rugby weekends. Taxi journeys into city centre cost £12 in both hackney carriage or private hire taxis. I would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boodiddly48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

stayed at the Copthorne for 2 nights, check in was easy and the reception staff were very friendly. the rooms were clean and very comfortable and breakfast was plentiful . we did not eat our evening meal in the hotel but went to a local carvery which. was ok. some of the decor was a bit tired but overall a very comfortable hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrish221256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing