We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could be better could be worse”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“could be better could be worse”
Reviewed 24 April 2013

stayed here Monday 21/04/13 in room 311 check in was easy but the hotel was quiet room was ok quite large with a double bed desk tea/coffee making television was a bit old but ok bathroom bit shabby and needed a face lift basic toiletries if you needed them wifi was £5.00 for 24hrs which was a bit disappointing as most hotels now offer it free restaurant was ok limited menu but the food was very hot for a change my biggest complaint about restaurants is food served cold but not here had the fish and chips but the fish was quite greasy and rustic chips not my thing so left the chips but that said it wasn't too bad the biggest problem for me was a strange smell around the hotel almost musty it was especially present in the lifts and seem to cling to your clothing and could smell it on my clothes all day i paid £57.00 for the room no breakfast but you could add that on if you wanted overall not a bad stay and would stay again when in the area

Room Tip: stayed in room 311 overlooking the retail park and was pretty quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,043 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    402
    269
    94
    49
See reviews for
190
395
35
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I had my 60th birthday dinner on Saturday 20th April 2013 and from start to the evening of my dinner the staff were wonderful nothing on the night of my function was too much trouble and the food was second to none amazing was what my guests said I just wish I could print out and add their reviews of this wonderful hotel to this list, ourselves and two other couples stayed overnight we had a junior suite which was very comfortable and very clean with nice little extra touches for me on my special birthday our guests were also upgraded to club rooms and both couples were very pleased.

I had read reviews of this hotel on trip advisor and some of them are poor I don't know where these people are coming from or what they found to complain about, yes there maybe parts that may require updating but I think this all adds to the character and the setting is just perfect, our friends thought it was very posh!

We have stayed in 5 star hotels that do not come up to the standard of the Copthorne in Cardiff so we would have no hesitation about recommending it as a lovely place to stay in an ideal location in fact first class.

Room Tip: Ask to be overlooking the lake it is a lovely view and maybe upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosemarymason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

For understandable reasons the pictures of the hotel on its website put a rather idyllic rural spin on its position. In fact it is on what is best described as an out of town retail park. Not that this is necessarily bad as long as you did not book it as a country retreat. The position is quite a useful and accessible one with plenty of free parking. It is about 5 minutes drive from the M4 (J33) and so you don't have to go into the centre of the city if you don't want to. On the western fringe of Cardiff means that is only a few minutes drive from some really lovely countryside in the vale of Glamorgan.

In fairness I would add that despite being a country boy I have never been troubled by noise when I have stayed here

Other reviewers rightly say that the decor (particularly in the bedrooms) is getting tired and could do with updating and they are clearly right. [Note to Copthorne management - read your reviews, we are telling you politely what needs to be done]

On the other hand there are many positives to say. Staff are unfailingly helpful and polite and will do their best to accommodate any reasonable request. The food is consistently good with the service prompt. There is a large gym and swimming pool which are popular not only with the guests but also with locals. The rooms are clean and comfortable and not so unbearably hot that you cannot get a good night's sleep.

There are good conference facilities for the business user with a dedicated suite of conference rooms of various sizes.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarrogateMoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013 via mobile

Overnight stay in April on business.
Check in was fine, however, on arrival in the room thought I was back in the early 90's. The decor was very tired and needs a facelift. The tv in today's hotel standards was unacceptable. The same could be said for the leisure club, where the equipment is old and needs modernising. One treadmill must be at least 10 years old.
The bar area is fairly small for the size of the hotel, however, a good atmosphere, although the football was on a least three tv's there was no sound ( I appreciate not everyone is a fan).
Breakfast was uninspiring, will not be staying here again.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jezza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We booked a last minute deal for one Saturday night at this hotel. Having previously lived in Cardiff, I knew of it and knew it was quite good. The decor is pretty dated and it could do with a makeover but don't let this put you off. I stay in lots of hotels so for me, the most important thing is cleanliness and sleep quality - both of these things at the Copthorne are excellent.
We were in room 316 which was at the end of a corridor so no through-traffic so a nice quiet night. Lovely big bed and really good pillows and duvet - all-in-all, extremely comfortable. The bathroom was well-equipped with a good shower and all very clean. We'd definitely stay there again on a "last-minute rate".

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLE1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Stayed for 2 nights as part of a conference. The staff were very attentive and overall the hotel offered good service and value, although some parts look tired and in need of a refresh. We had an issue in our room where it smelled like someone had been smoking in the bathroom - we have reason to think this may have been a member of the hotel staff (though this was denied by the management). As a conference venue it worked well.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderdog99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

What a great hotel. I was down for a conference and felt the hotel was great value for money. The room was clean, well presented and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Food was exceptional.

The only two grumbles I have were in relation to the air conditioning within the Castell Room - it was so hot in there that most of us either fell asleep or started coughing and had to leave! Could do with checking that it is actually providing clean air - looked like the vents were clogged up with something - and my other grumble was in relation to staff behind reception - on many occassions there was only one person there, and if there was a line of guests waiting to be served nobody acknowledged they were waiting (which I felt was a bit rude) and the one member of staff was run off her feet.

Excellent location for the Airport and Cardiff itself. Lots going on in the hotel and it was busy which is always a good sign.

Good hotel also for families - children always made welcome.

If you really want to have a good stay in an excellent location with attentive staff you can't do better than the Copthorne.

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorna1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
574 reviews
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
2,322 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), World Independent Hotel Promotion, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing