We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,266)
Filter reviews
1,266 results
Traveller rating
297
470
319
118
62
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
297
470
319
118
62
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsretail parkcity centreleisure facilitiesbit datedsteam roomclub roomironing boardone night staybuffet stylenight's sleepfree parkingcomfy bedafternoon teayogurttescogymmotorway
Filter
Updating list...
824 - 829 of 1,266 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

The hotel was ideally situated for our trips to Penarth and Cardiff to visit family. The rooms were clean and well appointed although the twin room was a bit cramped when trying to sit in the easy chair by the table. There is an excellent gym and a swimming pool with jaccuzzi which were situated on level 1. The restaurant produced some wonderful meals but charged top dollar and the bar prices were expensive as well. The decking area upstairs was in need of refurbishment and the lower deck area needed some maintenance. The staff were friendly, very professional and nothing was too much trouble. We enjoyed our stay but felt that, for the price, the hotel had slipped a notch or two from previous visits.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Viva Stay
Thank Cazzer54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A very average Copthorne in a pleasant setting. Dealt with very well and professionally at reception.....given a Connessiour room.....spacious , good bed , small but adequate bathroom. Very warm room (5th floor) but fan provided in room with windows opened made it bearable. Room service better than expected....quick and of quality. But and a big but, breakfast was a disgrace for a four star hotel.....tables are not set.....everything is self service....with English breakfast being kept on warm plates.....when my partner ordered two poached eggs from the chef they eventually arrived on a saucer.....nothing else......just a saucer!...cold and atrocious presentation..she had to go and 'find' a proper dinner plate......I think it is reasonble to expect fresh tea & coffee to be served at this standard of hotel....self service dispensing from large vacuum flasks is frankly shoddy and cheap service. I just could not eat my breakfast....it had been left far too long. The wait staff were just not up to the service level found elsewhere in the hotel and the atmoshere was one of a large canteen...not a hotel dining room.If I had to stay again the breakfast was so poor I would not waste my time and eat there. I strongly counsel management to review it's service strategy at breakfast ..it adversely impacts on the customer experience and perception.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Westsussextraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Very pleasant helpful staff throughout. Superior room but companion became locked in bathroom. Internal 'phone so release was swift and apologetic. Good shower despite being in bath. extractor packed in after second shower. No free bottle of wine to help overcome trauma despite my suggestion! Lovely evening meal. One packet of two biscuits not enough for two people and only two sachets of coffee. Dare say a request would have resulted in more but I expect more in a superior room. Warm day so window had to remain open with resultant continuous road noise from very early morning. Should have controllable air con. Partner thought more electrical points for iPhone etc.. Paying expensive Internet charges these days is a definite negative. In my last ten hotels none charged for this. Normal prices for this type of establishment. Did not use pool/gym facilities.

Room Tip: Nothing helpful after only one night.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaffWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

The location was the middle of a retail park outside cardiff. So after a long day, you have no choice but to stay in the hotel for all evening except if you fancy going to Tesco's extra. Luckily the food in the restaurant was lovely. My work pays for dinner so i didnt worry about the price of food. However, a main course was about £15. Starters about £5. I stayed in a club suite on the 4th floor which was nice and had all the mod cons. I enjoyed my stay, especially the spa area. A nice soak in the jacuzzi, bit of a swim and then steam room. Bliss.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer-Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Stayed one night with family very shabby in need of refit resturant pricy and very average gym well equipped pool and jacuzzi in need of tlc was in rooms 104/105 bad smell of damp poor view of bushes and car park beyond

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abigailengland13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews