We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
UK
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Ok for the price”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

First impressions were good, the reception area is a little dated but quite grand in mahogany wood. The receptionist was helpful and we were checked in quickly and efficiently. The exterior of the hotel is quite attractive being surrounded by a small lake and trees. The bathroom did what it said on the tin. The rooms were dated with the mahogany standard lamps, worn armchairs and 1980s style curtains and valance. The health club pool needs a revamp, the ceiling was missing in parts and the changing rooms were worse than my primary school,not exactly luxury. I found the breakfast to be okay.

We paid £110 for a 3 bed room, if you are not looking for luxury and you are happy to stay in a dated hotel then give it a go, it was clean and affordable. Personally we were visiting the cardiff arena and would pay the extra to stay in St Davids.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VickieMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,044 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    403
    269
    94
    49
See reviews for
190
395
35
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Room decor very dated. Room heater didn't work and hardly any power points in the room for recharging devices. TV remote didn't operate the on screen menu. Only 2 tiny bottles of water provided for overnight.

512 Kbps (charged for) wifi - what's the point? I preferred to get 6 Mbps with my 3g connection.

Definitely needs a refit. Wouldn't bother staying again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank B10LLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a friends wedding at a local manor. The hotel is easily located close to the motorway and is next to a retail park and Tesco Extra. Rooms are big, clean and beds are fairly comfortable. Breakfast is plentiful and on until 10am during week and 10.30 at weekend. Food from bar is decent but is quite expensive as are the drinks. Staff are great, very friendly. We will definitely stay here again if we visit Cardiff again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddingtraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2013

I was here for two nights - the place was nice, with a good fire in the foyer, although the rooms were ageing a little. Good gym and a nice pool (which was about to be renovated). The big let-down was the breakfast - damp, tepid food, with an understaffed dining room. Vegetarian options were kept under the same lids as the meat, so fried eggs were dripping in steam from the black pudding, and hash browns were floppy with condensation from the tomatoes; and I got my breakfast ten minutes after the dining room opened!

I'd stay again if I was in Cardiff, but I'd go get breakfast at M&S over the road.

Room Tip: The place is complicated - some rooms are down a floor from the lobby - car park is to the front and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alreba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2013

Copthorne hotel Cardiff is a bit old style but comfortable and very nice. There is a fireplace in the lounge and bar space which serves food as well. Hotel's restaurant is quite nice, good food, reasonably priced and excellent, knowledgeable staff. Rooms are spacious with all usual amenities and comfortable bed. There is also a small gym room downstairs and a reasonable swimming pool. Loads of parking space and a Tesco supermarket just opposite, highly recommended

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandeliLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

To start with our company booked a Christmas party here, we were told if we stayed the double room would be £68 b&b, however when I called up to book the room I was told that it was £111, when I said about the deal? I was told that none of those rooms were now available, I stated that at no time was I told that there were limited rooms, I was then told that if I paid the £111 I could have free wine? I stuck to my guns and said this was not good enough, they then said that they would contact me later, they relented and said that they would honour the deal, when I turned up last night they charged me £72, not a lot more than the £68, but that is not the point, it is the principle, I did query this last night to be told it was the saturday price? False advertising or a lack of communication, I am not sure which?
The rooms were really good.
The service was excellent.
The location is great
The food was good.
To sum it up it was a shame that they tried to get more money for the room than they advertised, and poor communication or poor service, that despite the phone calls they still charged more than the advertised price, In these days of insecurity great service should be a given, and it will certainly put doubt in me booking the hotel for anything in the future.


  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Went there for a shopping weekend with 3 friends it was a nice hotel some friendly staff the only thing I would say is the furniture is tired needs replacing or a good steam clean the material settees were sweetie smelling as though the welsh rugby team had been sitting in it after a good training session
The food did not look appetising as many a patron left full plates of food after they had ordered

The rooms were lovely with maid service daily so could not complain

Generally a good stay however needs to update furniture near by bar and restaurant as worn and smelly

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasp46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#27 of 73 in Cardiff
575 reviews
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
2,330 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing