We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hit and Miss - mixed experiences from latest stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Lowestoft, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
656 reviews
154 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Hit and Miss - mixed experiences from latest stay”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

I was hosting a work event at the hotel, so stayed overnight. I have stayed at the hotel before and had a reasonably positive experience last time but this time it was a bit more hit and miss.

The hotel is a long way out of the centre of Cardiff...so ideally connected for those driving, but it's a 5-mile taxi ride (approx £13) if arriving by train, as I was. The hotel now offers free car parking though so that's worth knowing.

My room had a good size bed, but a distinct lack of power sockets...so although there was a good sized work-desk, I had to decide whether I wanted a powered laptop with no light, or a light with no power to the laptop...so not ideal. Oddly there was another power socket in a recess in the wall under a mirror near the bathroom, but was located in a position that wasn't useful for anything. This also caused a problem with the ironing board...as the flex to the iron was just 3 feet long, which meant that you had to have the ironing board almost adjacent to the wall...so that either meant taking the power point used for the laptop, or the odd one in the recess...which meant the ironing board would sit right under the smoke detector...not really a good idea given that steam from the iron could set it off!

Internet wasn't free, although at £5 wasn't too expensive.

Breakfast was again a mixed experience...the buffet had a nice selection of food but the staff didn't seem to be coordinated...when I was seated they asked me if I wanted tea or coffee...but nothing turned up. After waiting 5 minutes I asked a member of staff for coffee and they brought it...but no milk. Having spotted there was no milk on the table I asked for some milk...and after a few minutes some milk arrived...and a few minutes later another waiter brought over another milk jug! Given the breakfast room was almost empty it shouldn't be this much hard work to get a white coffee with my breakfast!

Buffet lunch at my event was good and the summer berries and meringue nests dessert option was yummy although the buffet area can be slow progress and with 35 delegates at our event the lunch break was half over before those at the back of the line got any food.

Like most hotels the restaurant was a little pricey so I decided to eat in a local carvery for a fraction of the cost...so cannot comment on the quality or service of the main dining room.

So overall no disasters but a number of niggles that has resulted in just an 'average' review this time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidjellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    402
    267
    91
    48
See reviews for
187
391
35
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Brief summary :

Rooms-----Clean @good Size

Staff--------Good

Food-------dreadful -- dinner in Rest. poor---service very poor,1hr for 1 course in an almost empty room--breakfast ok but asked for omelette told 10 minute wait,Bacon Fat@Bland

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, UK
Level Contributor
517 reviews
193 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Room 304
19 March

Easy to find hotel in a very good out of town location, right by the shopping area.
Car park is free and had plenty of space for me.

Check in was easy and welcoming.
Room 304 I found to offer a great nights sleep. A comfortable double bed, no noise and no light pollution.

Tea and coffee facilities, a proper bath (not just a shower)

Breakfast was very good. A good selection of fruits and pastries, hot items on the buffet or if you wish - the kitchen will make other items for you.
Good and efficient service.

Easy check out. A nice stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank expectant customer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

I would never stay in this hotel again out of choice. The staff were rude, the food was tasteless, I was told in check-in the restaurant was busy so if I wanted food I would have to eat in my room. at breakfast I had to sit myself and then waited nearly 10 minutes to be offered tea, the food was cold. I complained at checkout and gave my details and was promised the General manager would contact me and I'm still waiting! The only good thing for me was the location of the hotel as it was were I needed to be - very disappointed as I'm looking for a Cardiff based hotel for work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Excellent hotel ,comfortable room ,clean and tidy, lovely bathroom, breakfast was well presented and very tasty, all staff were very pleasant and helpful. I would recommend the Copthorne to anyone visiting Cardiff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

A great base for this area, the hotel is close to the motorway and has large shops, supermarket and fast-food restaurants within 5 minutes walk. Very friendly, helpful staff and easy check-in. Spacious rooms, nice and clean, only downside is the furniture is heavy and dark which makes it feel a bit old-fashioned. Good lighting though, which many hotels fall down on these days.
Large reception area leading into a cosy bar area and lovely views over the lake. Excellent service in the restaurant. Lots to recommend in this hotel to be near the city but not in it.

Room Tip: When evenings are lighter, a lake view room is worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Treetime4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Hotel in good position, free parking, link road to Cardiff Bay Area. Room very clean, with nice quality toiletries. Staff friendly and helpful. Swimming pool was lovely, as was the jacuzzi and steam room. Did not try the sauna. All were very clean. Did not eat there, but plenty of places nearby. On retail park opposite a Tesco and large Marks and Spencer. I would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 73 in Cardiff
565 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff North – M4, Jct.32
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#16 of 73 in Cardiff
2,258 reviews
4.7 mi away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing