We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel experience ever” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Clunderwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst hotel experience ever”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in June 2014, on a Saturday night. Unfortunately, there was a wedding party at the hotel on the same day (evening).
As a result, and as a consequence of the smoking ban, all smokers, as everywhere else in the UK, had to go outside to fuel their addiction.
This meant that they were outside talking, laughing, screaming, until very, very late. At 4.00am, having not slept virtually at all, I finally complained to Reception, who said they had tried to quieten them down after many complaints. They of course apologised, explain about the wedding. The wedding should be the hotel's responsibility, and therefore their problem; it shouldn't be our problem.
So, if you're looking to book a short stay at this hotel, ask if they have a wedding, or make sure you're not given a room overlooking the front entrance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the main entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meurig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    211
    388
    258
    89
    43
See reviews for
180
372
33
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I did like this hotel so much I stayed another night, its an easy taxi drive into central cardiff too, the rooms are lovely and the interior of the hotel is very nice. The staff are friendly and we enjoyed out stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DibDibbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The Copthorne group seem to have forgotten to invest any money in this hotel for the past 20 years. The decor in the room was all very dark wood, heavily patterned carpets and old bathroom fittings. The changing rooms in the swimming pool area were grim at best. The breakfast was ok. The staff seemed very pleasant.

I was expecting a lot more for a business stay. Would try not to stay here again.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jay2815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel as a stop over to North Wales. The hotel is conveniently situated just off the motorway and easy to find. Our rooms were very comfortable and with a view over the lake it suited us well, room 220.

Check in was easy and swift we found our room easily as it was on the same level as the reception. Our room was spacious with a sofa and all the mod cons with a great powerful shower and with a lovely look out over the lake we were pleasantly surprised.

We decided to eat at the restaurant which was great, good food and superb service from the staff. We decided against the breakfast option of £10 each (there is a macdonalds opposite if you are really that bothered).

We chose this hotel as it has a "spa" area with a pool, which I think is over stated as it was very grubby and ran down it definitely needed a face lift and a lick of paint, maybe even a clean.

I know this isn't the hotels fault but there was a storm on the evening of our stay and due to the guttering not being cleaned out the rain was hammering down onto our window ledge, looking up there were weeds and event birds nest hanging out of the guttering, such a shame really because where this hotel does nice things it lets itself down in others such as simple maintenance.

Over all though a relaxing stay, they just need to put more effort in to the maintenance.

Room Tip: Room 220 has a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed here on a business trip. The staff is predominantly friendly, and the bedrooms are nice, clean and well decorated. Location is a bit far out if you don't have a car (had to get a taxi from the train station). Spa and pool is lovely. Only problem we did have is as a group of 5 we didn't get our dinner at the same time. It all came out at different times, and one meal was forgotten completely. The hot chocolate I ordered was just rubbish instant which for £3.75 I didn't expect.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImogenS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile


To whoom it may concern,i've recently stayed at your hotel. Due to my departure i wanted to leave a tip to my lovely room attendent, as i stayed there over the passed few days and the room looked lovely. But then i was informed that the tips are handed to the management, where i thought that was totaly unfair and unethical. Why should the management split the tips, where they dont do the physical work? From my perspective i will not be staying at your hotel anymore, because i consider this very rude. I stay in hotels all over this country and in your branches as well, and you guys, Copthorne Hotel Cardiff are the only ones that are steeling from your employees. I think you guys as a well established company should consider your workforce, im sure all of your cleaning ladies get minimum wage and the tips would help them greatly.


  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Stayed here on recommendation. Location very good for Cardiff Millenium Stadium & visiting local places of interest.
Reception most helpful in booking taxis etc. Room clean & presentable. Breakfast excellent with plenty of choice especially for last minute arrivals.
Exterior at rear needs a lot of attention, blocked drainpipes, grubby exterior walls. Glasses needing to be removed at front entrance.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familytraveller09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
3.5 of 5 bubbles 544 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#20 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Lastminute, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing