We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located hotel near Cardiff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #31 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just a one night stay here, and I didn't have any meals there. The hotel is well situated close to the M4, and not far from Cardiff city centre. It is also close to Culvercross retail park. It is is in pleasant location, overlooking a small lake.The rooms are comfortable, though the interiors are a bit dark. The hotel does need a bit of general maintance though. My room didn't lock properly from the inside, and, directly outside my bedroom window was a car park lighting column leaning at an alarming angle!The tv in my room also didn't work properly though a call to reception did produce a manager to fix it very promptly.
A shame really because the hotel is in a nice spot, and is very convenient.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Architect53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,107)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

567 - 573 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife stayed at the Copthorne for four nights in July 2014 for a family wedding. We were part of a large group staying here and we were all very disappointed with the hotel. The staff were quite friendly and helpful, however, the hotel itself was tatty and overpriced. Our room had been given a quick clean but large amount of dirt, dust and dead spiders and insect were found behind every bit of furniture and under the desk. The double bed had two single matresses on which did not make for the most comfortable nights sleep with the huge crease down the middle. There are no ceiling lights which are also a pain.

The bar area is quite large with an outside decking area which looks quite tired and in need of an update. The bar itself is very small and never had enough staff in order to serve the large queues of customers. Usually this was attended by a single barman who could not cope. Other staff just milled around offering no assistance. Each time we ordered drinks it took about twenty minutes plus to be served and each time the rates for drinks changed. Our friends were also charged different rates. At approximately £10 for a glass of wine (warm) this was massively overpriced. The hotel staff stated they didn't have the capability to chill wine effectively so we had to resort to putting ice in it which was not ideal.

Being a seasoned traveller who stays in hotels every week, I would say this is a low point. There are far far better and cheaper hotels in the area which offer better service, better value and cleanliness. Be careful on this one especially if you are booking a large group or wedding as they currently clearly cannot cope with hotel capacity! Very disappointing!

Room Tip: Avoid anything near the main entrance or overlooking the outside decking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SentryE3D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights over the Christmas period and while the stay was pleasant enough, I expected a little more from a Copthorne hotel.

Staff were courteous on arrival, but not overly friendly. The rooms are decorated in a classic style and were adequate for our needs. Everywhere seemed quite dark and just a little tired.

The spa area was only open for limited hours during our stay which meant on arrival we were told everything was closing within an hour. This would have been fine, but after half that time the steam room and sauna were turned off, as was the jacuzzi. As these facilities were one of the primary reasons we had chosen this hotel, this was quite a disappointment.

The bar staff in the evenings were friendly and the atmosphere in the bar area was pleasant.

Overall, there wasn't enough to make me want to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bluegwladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed with a friend for two nights, upgraded our room on arrival and made us very welcome. The balcony area by the lake was a little tired but overall a good stay. Very close to large supermarkets etc and handy for our golfing expeditions.

Room Tip: There are wedding parties most weekends so you have to allow for a little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Hotel itself is a little dark...furniture dark... In need of refurbishment. Very convenient for shopping centre with large out of town M&S . Good restaurants in next village. Swimming pool on lower floor.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Den51_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Was here again last weekend. Rooms are pleasant, everything you need for an overnight stay. One gentleman is ALWAYS on duty I don't think he ever goes home! And NOTHING is too much trouble! We dined in the restaurant, and there's always a bit hooha over if we too late (info says 9pm last seating- we were there at 720pm)- food is tasty and reasonable prices I guess, menu not vast choices. But it's usually yummy. Breakfast is buffet style and plentiful, once again always discrepancies over service time, but we always get breakkie before heading off to our conference.
On the whole place is OK, well better than on, but my only gripe and its every time we come here, not enough desk staff to check guests in and often waiting 15-20 min to book in ( bit awkward when rushing to get in restaurant before curfew)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Mandy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for one night in June 2014, on a Saturday night. Unfortunately, there was a wedding party at the hotel on the same day (evening).
As a result, and as a consequence of the smoking ban, all smokers, as everywhere else in the UK, had to go outside to fuel their addiction.
This meant that they were outside talking, laughing, screaming, until very, very late. At 4.00am, having not slept virtually at all, I finally complained to Reception, who said they had tried to quieten them down after many complaints. They of course apologised, explain about the wedding. The wedding should be the hotel's responsibility, and therefore their problem; it shouldn't be our problem.
So, if you're looking to book a short stay at this hotel, ask if they have a wedding, or make sure you're not given a room overlooking the front entrance!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not overlook the main entrance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meurig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#26 of 74 in Cardiff
590 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#14 of 74 in Cardiff
2,204 reviews
4.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cardiff Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range: £48 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing