We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service taken to a new level”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Ranked #29 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Navesink, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Customer Service taken to a new level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed at the Copthorne in early July as part of a group attending a seminar at Cardiff University. The staff were absolutely welcoming and extremely helpful; the desk clerks took a great deal of time researching train schedules and helping plan the next leg of our trip to Glastonbury, England. Food was well prepared and delicious, well served, location was lovely, facing a lake where we enjoyed watching the ducks and hiking around the area. It was an absolutely perfect visit, we have nothing but praise for the staff.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Florie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCopthorne, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for placing this review. I am delighted you had such a pleasant stay with us.

Our team here is excellent and our biggest asset. It is very gratifying to read such comments regarding them as I know that all their hard work and dedication really does pay off and your comments will go a very long way in maintaining those standards and motivating the team further.

I hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to welcoming you back here at the Copthorne Cardiff soon.

Regards
David
David Faull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    394
    259
    90
    44
See reviews for
184
379
34
213
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Frisco, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2010

I requested a rate quote that included room, VAT and breakfast. They sent their quote by return e-mail and I then booked our stay. Upon checkout they not only charged the price they had quoted but also added VAT which I had requested to be included in their quote.
I later complained about this but they would not make an adjustment. This hotel used deceptive tactics with me and for this reason I would not recommend you stay with them.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bdp8199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCopthorne, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd, responded to this review, 28 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for placing this review following your recent stay. I am sorry that your stay has been marred in this way.

All our prices are quoted without VAT as our policy in Europe dictate this. Many of our guests are used to this procedure as it is very common in London and across the world. I will feed your comments back to our Revenue Department as this is the first such comment I have received to allow them to be able to make an informed decision on this policy going forward.

I feel sure that if this issue had been brought to my attention or that of one of my Duty Managers we could have resolved the issue as we pride ourselves on the professional and friendly attitude of our team here. Clearly we have left you with a poor impression of the hotel which proves that we could certainly have done better.

Thank you for your feedback, whilst I do not like receiving negative comments they are essential if we are to continually monitor and improve the service we provide. If I can be of any further assistance please do not hesitate to contact me.

Regards

David Faull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

peterborough
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2010

We got this break on Laterooms for a really good price, if we had to pay the full price for the hotel room we would of been very disappointed. The rates for this hotel started at £195.00 per night per room and this was not a good room for this price. The beds were uncomfortable as they had pushed two single beds together to create the double so whenever you rolled over you felt the ridge in the bed. Due to the size of the bed the duvet didn't fit either.

The facilities of the hotel were very good, although the gym was not of a good standard, the pool, spa and steam rooms were very relaxing. The decor was very nice throughout the hotel although the rooms could of done with a refurbish very old fashioned.

We didnt eat in the hotel due to the prices but Cardiff Bay was 6 miles down the road and was fantastic for bars and restaurants. The shopping in Cardiff is also fantastic so if you can get this hotel for a cheap price then it is definately worth it anymore than £70.00 per night then you would be better off staying in a premier inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCopthorne, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for placing this review. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay.

In recent months we have experienced an issue with our beds, which is in the process of being addressed with the manufacturer. All the faulty beds have been replaced and we are working hard to address any new issues that arise. Our head office is also in the process of sourcing new beds to remove the problem going forward.

Three weeks ago I ordered new equipment for the gym and we expect this to arrive late September and at which time the gym will receive a light refurbishment to compliment the new equipment. Hopefully this will ensure the gym matches the rest of the facilities.

I have been working hard with our senior management team to ensure our planned refurbishment program starts as soon as possible. Unfortunately due to the climate this will probably be phased. Please be assured that this issue is very high on our agenda and will certainly remain my main priority.

Thank you again for placing this review. Whilst I do not like receiving negative comments, I see them as extremely important if we are to consistently improve the service we provide.

Kind Regards

David Faull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Hotel is in an ideal place to get to Cardfiff. Even though it was just off the motorway, our room wasn't particularly affected by traffic noise. The room itself was very nice, but where two single beds had been zipped together to make a king size bed, one half of the bed was very uncomfortable and seem to dip badly. Also, unfortunately, night 2 and 3 were spoilt by extremely noisy people above us who didn't seem to care about other guests. The third morning we were woken up at 4.50am by a couple arguing. However this really wasn't the hotel's fault. We would recommend this hotel, if only for the pleasant staff and its location.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HobieBognorRegis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCopthorne, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd, responded to this review, 18 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for placing this review following your stay here at the Copthorne Hotel Cardiff. I am delighted that you found our team friendly and will pass on your words of encouragement.

I am sorry that you stay was marred by other guests and have instructed my Night Manager to ensure that we increase our security walks around the hotel in order to prevent this happening in the future.

Thank you for sparing the time and trouble in reviewing us and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Regards

David Faull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

Hade a room overlooking lake. Room was a good size and well decorated. Bathroom was also spacious. Stafff friendly and efficient. It's a Swing Thing Theatre Show excellent. and very professional. Audio system good with individual radio mikes. The 3 course meal with the show very good and served hot.. Breakfast buffet had a good choice and the hot food was in a separate room which cut down the congestion you can sometimes get. Leisure facillites good with a hot jacuzzi. It was nice sitting outside having a drink overlookiing the lake. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedroWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCopthorne, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for placing this review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is good to see that you had a chance to use many of our facilities and take advantage of the theatre offer. We are very proud of the dinner shows and we are busy planning next years already.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Regards

David Faull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

We stayed for four nights. The room was fine, nice and light and we could see our car easily which was reassuring. Good to know that car parking is free. The room has a fridge which you can stock yourself. The bathroom was well fitted out though the surface of the bath itself needs replacing. Nice two single beds which were comfortable, with white covered duvets and extra pillow in the wardrobe. Coffee/tea etc left every day. The breakfast was really good - a hot buffet so you could choose what you wanted - I would suggest giving up serving the guests coffee at the table, I'd far rather fetch it myself than wait. For the evening meal we didn't dine in as we wanted to get out and about- there is a reasonable restaurant upstairs at M & S over the road if you are tired or don't have a car. The leisure centre is small but well kitted out. Hotel is located at the roundabout at Culverhouse Cross, a large out of town shopping area but it is so easy to get in to Cardiff central and the trip to Cardiff Bay was 10 minutes where you can park in a multi story right by the restaurants. Service was excellent. The one downside was the issue of internet access - no clear guidance in the room regarding rates, availability etc which really surprised me.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 21Summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCopthorne, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd, responded to this review, 15 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for writing this review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

Cardiff is a fantastic City with so much to do and see. It is good that you were able to use the hotel as a base for your explorations and found all attractions only a short distance away.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast and hope that next time you stay we can demonstrate our fantastic dinner menu, which changes every two months to ensure the very freshest local produce. In recent years we have won many accreditations and enjoy two rossettes.

Internet access is currently being reviewed by the company and we are hoping that later this year we will be able to offer Wi Fi throughout the hotel as well as fixed broadband connections. I will however review the literature in rooms to ensure we communicate our services effectively.

Many thanks for sparing the time in reviewing us and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Regards

David Faull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2010

The hotel looked lovely and was clean. The staff were friendly enough but the king size bed was two singles pushed together - both were different heights and there was a leg missing on one of them so it sloped to the outside. Very uncomfortable night and to be honest the staff weren't that bothered - just said they have to use single beds to reconfigure the rooms as required.
Probably wouldn't rush to stay there again

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMCopthorne, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd, responded to this review, 11 June 2010
Dear Guest

Thank you for sparing the time in reviewing our hotel following your recent stay here at the Copthorne Hotel Cardiff. I am sorry that you had a problem with your bed on this occasion.

I was pleased that you found the hotel clean and the staff friendly and will certainly pass on your praise as well as your concerns as staff as recognition is extremely important to us and rewarding excellence is as important as reviewing standards.

In recent months we have implemented a program for identifying damaged beds as we have experienced some faulty beds which are sagging as a result of a manufacturer fault. This is ongoing and replacements are being received in order to address this problem going forward, although a permanent solution is still being investigated by our Head Office. These beds were purchased recently and as such still within their warranty, it would appear that the issues are isolated to our hotel.

In relation to our beds being singles; many hotel chains operate the same system very successfully and ordinarily this would not have been a problem if there had not been a fault with the mattress. This matter is also being reviewed as previously stated. I was disappointed with the response of my team when you addressed this and as a result I have instructed my Front Office Manager to ensure that the team are made aware of your comments to ensure no repeats.

Thank you for completing this review, whilst I do not like receiving negative comments I do accept that they are essential if we are to improve the service we provide and appreciate this opportunity.

I do hope that you will return to the hotel soon and that we can fully restore your faith in us and prove that your experience is the exception rather than the rule.

Kindest regards

David Faull
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cardiff
4.6 mi away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,032 reviews
8.0 mi away
Ibis Cardiff Gate
Ibis Cardiff Gate
#28 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
6.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff West Hotel
4.9 mi away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
4.4 mi away
Village Hotel Cardiff
Village Hotel Cardiff
#18 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd

Property: Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd
Address: Culverhouse Cross Copthorne Way, Cardiff CF5 6DH, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd 4*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lakeside hotel situated 4 miles from city center or train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Hotel Cardiff-Caerdydd Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing