We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GOOD IN ALL AREAS”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
DERBY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GOOD IN ALL AREAS”
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a city break for 3 nights from the 7th to the 10th June. We were greeted by a young Spanish girl on reception who was very friendly and professional not only with regards to hotel facilities but also useful local knowledge of local bus services and amenities.
This service from staff set an excellent benchmark was of the same level throughout our stay. The Premium Room ( 305 ) was huge in a reasonable state of decoration. Bathrobes, slippers and upgraded toiletries were provided It had a separate area with settee, table and cabinet for the TV which came in very useful as the weather at times was atrocious. My only gripe with the room is that it overlooks dismal air conditioning units and ventilation tunnels. Additionally the 2 windows are overlooked by rooms on the adjacent corridor. The curtains soon put pay to any onlookers at bath time!!
The hotel is adjacent to the Castle and Millenium Stadium. It is less than 5 minutes walk to the city centre shops and nearest Wetherspoons hostelry.
The car parking is £10 per night for residents but does not have access into the rear of the hotel. My tip is to drop luggage off near to the front entrance of the hotel asnd then park the car.
The quality of food for the full buffet hot and cold breakfast is first class. The restaurant service by staff was second to none.
I would definitely stay here again when in Cardiff.

Room Tip: Drop off luggage prior to parking your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GRIZZLY1DERBY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    488
    335
    170
    125
See reviews for
192
598
65
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Satyed here on a girls weekend. Clean and modern. Better than expected for the price. No complaints (but we did not spend a huge amount of time in the hotel). Staff encountered were all pleasant. The location is fabulous, directly opposite the castle. Would stay here again for a basic hotel in such a central location.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Cant fault the location of this hotel, directly opposite Cardiff castle and minutes away from city centre. First impression is foyer of hotel which looks wonderful and corridors to rooms were spacious and wide but rooms quite small with daylight from only one small window (on 3rd floor). Rooms in definite need of update/modernisation. We only use hotel as base to explore city so was good enough for us.

Room Tip: ask for room with view of castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie_j88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Under new ownership and in need of a refurb. Rooms looked very 'tired'; eg cracked floor-tiles in bathroom, bathroom ventilation fan not working, dated decor. However, bed was comfy and had a good night's sleep. Looked onto a main road but the double glazing effectively muted the traffic noise. Good central location. At the price it was ok as a place to lay my head whilst attending a conference, but not somewhere I'd take my lady for a luxury week-end.

Room Tip: If you are a poor sleeper do ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saronno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

This hotel is right in the city centre and has its own car park which is ideal if you're coming with the family.
The rooms are nice and modern (ours had been refurbished) and some have views over to the Castle opposite.
Breakfast was OK and we ate out so can't comment on restaurant for dinner.
Good price and very convenient loaction mean we would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank familymugambi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ogmore-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

If you are looking for something a little different and not the usual bland carbon copy hotel, the Angel is ideal. Although it's owned by the Barcelo group, they've done well to kept the original period features making it feel warm and welcoming. Great location - slap bang in the middle of Cardiff, opposite the Castle and just a short walk from the train and bus station. There's loads of bars, restaurants and cafes surrounding the hotel. The room was very comfortable, fitted with all mod cons, clean, well furnished and quiet. The reception staff were very friendly and made every effort to ensure we had everything we needed. All in all, a lovely hotel - good value for money and ideal for a few nights in Cardiff.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllisonTuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The hotel is conveniently situated if you're having a night out in Cardiff, as we were.
The apparent opulence of the foyer belies the tired and somewhat dated rooms and passageways that could do with a facelift.

We had a room on the third floor overlooking an empty lot, but this seemed to offer a really quiet night's sleep. The room was well equipped and the bed comfy.

Breakfast wasn't included (and no doubt would have been excessively priced!), but there's so many places to eat within a few yards that you don't need to use the hotel's facilities.

Our room was about £80 and this is probably about right - it wouldn't really be worth any more, especially with no breakfast thrown in! However, I'd have no problem recommending it.

Room Tip: Hard to say, but probably better to get one away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msprichj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#18 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#9 of 73 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing