We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here on a Saturday night after watching some Olympic football. Check in was quick and the staff were friendly. We were staying here with our 9 year old son, the room was huge with plenty of space for his bed. He even had his own set of toiletries which he was very pleased about. The location couldn't really be any better, a minutes walk to the Stadium one way and the same to the Castle the other. They only thing that let it down a little was that the carpets were looking a little threadbare on the main stairs and a fresh lick of paint in places wouldn't hurt. Definately stay here again though.

Room Tip: We had a room in the middle of the hotel so didn't hear anything at club kicking out time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank benny007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    478
    330
    166
    123
See reviews for
189
591
65
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Great central hotel with good value for business and leisure guests, refurbished rooms since last visit which was not reflected in rate, good staff some even local!! Staff attentive and food good (only ate breakfast), air con in rooms didn't blast you out or keep awake with blowers.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurtonOnTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level Contributor
183 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

We stayed here in July as part of a deal which included bed, breakfast and a four course meal. This included a free bottle of wine and an upgraded room overlooking the castle - all for £95!
The hotel is quite old, but fully modernised inside with an impressive lobby and sweeping staircase. Our room was spacious and equipped with all the modern facilities you would expect for a 4* hotel. Breakfast was buffet-style and plentiful. The evening meal was very nice and the staff friendly and efficient.
The location is ideal for the city centre, close to plenty of attractions, pubs and restaurants. Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel. There are plenty of good hotels in Cardiff, but this one has a lot more character than some of the modern ones.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burt68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham Wales
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012 via mobile

This is the first time I've reviewed this hotel on here but I have stayed here for work over the last couple of years. To say it is a million times better than 2 years ago is an understatement! I stayed here when I was in the city for a conference this week and now that the rooms have been refurbished its made a great difference. The staff were excellent as always and the food was very good. I asked for a specific room because I know its quiet and slept like a log. All in all a good hotel for my business needs, central and good value. Having the car park is a great too and if you can't get in the ncp car park is 2 mins away. I've stayed in other hotels in Cardiff but this is my preference now.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzieWrexhamWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

We stayed here for two nights. We found that the staff was quite attentive and polite. But the rooms were a bit small. Regarding the facilities, to be honest, there are mot many but have the basics. The food was nice, especially the breakfast, with a wide range of food to choose from. The room rate is quite low. Overall, it is a good hotel for people having reasonable budgets.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank big e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannover, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I got a reduced rate for a single night here and it's fair to say I got about what I paid for ... the hotel is in a semi-renovated state with some grand, shiny and new aspects and some parts still fraying at the seams. For instance the furnishings in the room were good - pretty new bed & bedclothes - but there were quite a few old cracked tiles in the bathroom. The main issue in being able to sleep at all was the old single-glazed sash windows which were completely incapable of muting any noise from outside. During my first hour or two in bed there was continuous bass booming from a nearby nighclub .. I am afraid I tried to drown it out by turning up the radio in the room. It seems that things became quiet(er) in the small hours but I soon woke up again because there was a large area of flat roof outside the window which some seagulls were using as a landing pad. So I had loud, intermittent squawks from maybe 6.30am or 7am onwards and no sleep again. All in all it was a pretty awful night, only somewhat compensated by a reasonable breakfast. You have to wonder if the hotel owners ever tried sleeping in their own rooms.

Room Tip: All I can say is avoid room 111 if you are at all sensitive to noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cpviolator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

This well known Cardiff hotel is now tatty and dirty. online check was to be after 1400 arrived at 1500 on Saturday allocated our room at reception and went up only to find the door open and the room looking as if was still occupied the chambermaid then arrived and told us she hadn't cleaned yet so we left our bag and went to the bar for a cappuccino, which was probably the worst coffee we have ever had. The moldings around the bar looked as though they hadn't been dusted. When no one came to tell us the room was ready we went up ourselves to find it had been cleaned (not properly). Chairs in room looked dirty (didn't want to sit on them) Next morning made coffee in room one spoon still had the remains of food on it decided against coffee. Breakfast usual fare, a bit greasy and the mushrooms were cold, coffee again was awful couldn't finish the cup. Overall the carpets are threadbare and the place needs a complete refurb. Only good point the staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: Use the Marriott at the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Superbreak UK, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing