We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, good value, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, good value, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

This is a glorious hotel with lots of charm. It's not modern but came highly recommended, so we did not hesitate to stay there. It has a grand staircase up to the first floor, and I must admit to worrying a little about whether the rooms would be decorated to a similar vintage. In fact I need not have worried - very comfortable bed, modern bathroom with everything you need and a large flat screen TV. For business or pleasure this is the perfect hotel, and it's right opposite Cardiff Castle. There's parking too, although it does cost £10 - but you can park there all day for that.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    477
    330
    166
    123
See reviews for
189
591
65
195
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012 via mobile

I think the best way for me to do this is list positive then negative with everything I experienced hope you find it helpful:

Excellent location
Hotel far too warm and stuffy inside
Good sized rooms
Not many rooms with windows that open
Extremely friendly and sweet staff
Waited an hour both days for lunch & when it arrived order was wrong in areas
Beautiful tasting ice cream
Ice cream melted when brought to room and served in a cup instead of sundae
Gorgeous quality L'Occitaine bath gels
Shower broke water shot out at ceiling
Very comfy beds
Air con worked wonders
Lovely breakfast
Hotel are really making an effort to do maintenance and clean and update etc I wish them all the best. They do try to please

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Simply Brilliant! Great location for visting the Millenium Stadium. We only stayed the one night and was a little apprehensive as it was the only hotel in the area with availability for the London 2012 bronze medal match at the stadium. But we were not disappointed, all the staff were very friendly and put themselves out to be helpful. The room was very comfortable and cleanliness was superb, i work for a small estate with 5* accomodation and The Angel was definately up to standard and more. Thanks to all the great staff, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckles37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

If you are visiting the Millenium Stadium this is a MUST BOOK hotel, situated virtually oposite the Stadium entrance I must admit I was apprehensive that the quality of the hotel may be not up to 4 star standard, but not in the slightest. From the check in where the staff were both mega friendly and helpful to the room which was clean, well fitted and very comfortable and the public areas which were smart and spotlessly clean, everything of this hotel oozed class and quality.
The noise from the road and stadia crowd may worry potential bookers, but rest assured, I am a light sleeper and never heard a thing once inside the room, the triple glazing works 100%.
Finally for the plusses, the all important price, this hotel came up cheaper than most in the city which also lowered my expectations, but was better than any city centre hotel I have stayed in at double the price.
Only 2 very small negatives, I would have liked more milk cartons in my room (I am sure they would have sent more up, but I ran out late at night) and although the toiletries were of excellent standard and even included a toothbrush and toothpaste, I would have liked hair shampoo and conditioner instead of just the universal shower gel (as good as it was), but this is a small gripe compared to the plusses.
If you are going to the Millenium stadium or just visiting Cardiff city centre this hotel is a MUST, Thank you so much everyone at The Angel, I will see you all again

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenshelford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

We booked this hotel for a family wedding in the city......we booked a double room and from the minute we checked in had fantastic service!!!! The staff were helpful and we were really impressed with the speedy check in and the need to give us a great stay! Nothing was too much trouble (special thanks to a young manager named Samuel)
The room was better than what we expected....breakfast hit the spot!!!! Overall a lovely stay!
Thank you

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level Contributor
157 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

just stayed at this hotel as my other half and I were attending a leaving bash for a friend. The hotel is very central with great views of the castle. The hotel is one of the oldest in town so don't expect modern chic. The hotel is a grand old dame with some fine features bur in places a little worn.

The hotel was excellent value and the breakfast good, that's all you want when you are only staying in a room for a few hours of sleep.

Room Tip: try and get a higher level room, we were on the 1st floor which was very noisy with the window open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank binnysays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

The location is between the Castle and Millenium Stadium, it is great for either location. The hotel looks grand and the rooms are well outfitted. This is where the plus points stop. We booked a family room but the second bed was a fold out bed settee, it took up a lot of room making it difficult to get to the bathroom or door. Whilst both bedds were made up there was not enough crockery or towels for three. Despite asking we never did get the extra ones we needed.

In fairness to the hotel we were able to reserve a car space and as our room was ready we were able to check in early.

As this is a four star hotel we had expected a good breakfast and whilst there was lots of choice the quality was poor. It was self service and the cooked breakfast was very greasy and not particularly hot. Overall I think that the Premier Inn is better and a lower cost but if you are looking to get as close as you can to the Castle or Stadium you wont be disappointed.

Room Tip: The larger rooms seem to overlook the car park so have a poor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#6 of 76 in Cardiff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,980 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#10 of 76 in Cardiff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 76 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing