We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4 star hotel”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Reviewed 20 November 2012



I stayed at the Angel Hotel Cardiff on the 16th November 2012 and would like to express how unsatisfactory I found my stay.

You have the hotel advertised as 4 star, however I unfortunately experienced two different rooms in your hotel and neither of them made the bar.

The first room that I was shown to unfortunately had a broken shower. The bath panel was cracked and worn and the general appearance of the whole room was shabby and in ill repair.

When I tried calling reception there was no reply. Three times I called down with no joy and in the end my boyfriend had to go down to make the complaint.

Following a 15 minute wait we were then shown to another room (228). The bathroom in this room thankfully was a great improvement. However, the actual room itself was nothing short of appalling for a 4 star hotel. The carpet was threadbare, there was a broken pain of glass in the window and the air conditioning unit was not working.

Overall, I was deeply disappointed with the whole experience and while I feel your hotel may have once been 4 star rated, at this current time a budget hotel is more appealing than the Angel Hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate_Jones85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,610)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,484 - 1,490 of 1,610 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

We booked our room as a late deal - after reading some reviews we were slightly apprehensive.
The hotel is lovely and the staff are extremely helpful.
Our room was huge. We didn't have a view just bars on the window. The room could do with a bit of redecoration but is clean there were a few long black hairs around (I'm blonde) but nothing over the top.
The bed was very comfortable apart from the pillows, I woke with a bad neck. All through the night there was a constant drone from one of the fans outside of the window so it did disturb you in the night.
But the overall experience was great and not everyone is going to have a fan outside there room. The room offered you everything you could need with trouser press and ironing board amongst just a few. So I would recommend this hotel to any one wanting to experience the heights of Cardiff and an excellent place if your going to the rugby

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Robson35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

it makes a change to stay in a hotel where the staff are so welcoming from front desk onwards. the food,the service and the rooms are all first rate, I really enjoyed the stay and have already booked my next visit as it's central position is ideal to travel around Cardiff.

Room Tip: Rear facing as this side is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

we had a two night stop over @ the angel oct 5th, havin stayed at various 4 star hotels in the city, i can honestly say i will now only stay at this hotel when i visit cardiff! from the reception staff ( carl in particular, who realy doesnt stop smilin!) to the restaurant staff and maids were all very polite and charming. seldom have i seen such staff appear to be enjoyin what they are doing! our room was large, comfortable,and being that the hotel is at one of the busiest junctions in the city we could hardly hear any noise! treat yoursef to breakfast in bed @ a small charge it is well worth it! the only downside was that we had to leave! but we will definately be back to the angel, and a big thank you to all staff for a very enjoyable stay!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djgrice17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

Firstly, I wanted to rate this hotel as Good but the rating system has 'Average' followed by 'Very Good' so I was stuck.

When I rang the hotel to book, the reception girl did not clearly state that the hotel had its own car park, which was a short distance away at, effectively the rear of the hotel. This caused me some anxious moments as I tried to find the place in the nightmare of Cardiffs streets and its ridiculous number of traffic lights.

Anyway, my room was clean and tidy, was a bit surprised to see a sash-window, most are double glazed now, and I did not really manage to figure out the room lights.

Had an evening meal, delightfully served by Lina, service and food were excellent but watch the prices on beer and spirits as a small Becks and Tia Maria coffee together were nearly ten pounds. I can get a pack of six Becks for £5.50 in my local Tescos!

Very quiet night but not sure if this might have been due to less guests than normal? Breakfast next morning, help-yourself was Ok but did'nt see any scrambled egg on offer.

One stupid thing I did was leave my toiletries bag in the room when I left but the next I phoned and the very helpful house-keeping lady mailed it back to me straightaway - thank you!

I would probably stay here again as I know the place now and it is centrally located.

Room Tip: Rear of the hotel is probably quieter as it look out on the hotel car park which does not have a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnConstable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2012

we spent three nights on room only basis recently so cannot comment on food during this visit. We love the location and our room overlooked Bute Park and the Castle - perfect. Despite the busy road, we had undisturbed nights in a very comfortable room. We are not fans of the big modern hotels so always enjoy our stay at the Angel. It does need some upgrading and in a building this size, this needs to be continuous. In particular, the lounge area and toilets on the ground floor should be upgraded as a matter of priority!

Room Tip: some of the standard rooms are a bit cramped but all very clean and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We stayed at the Angel Hotel in Cardiff on a Friday in October this year. The location is perfect for people using public transport. It is an easy 15 min. walk from the Central Railroad Station and the buses stop right outside the hotel . Best of all it is easy to walk to the main museums and even to go to concerts. Our room was quiet, very large , and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was large, varied, and delicious. I only wished that we could stay longer and I recommend it very highly. It was an exceptionally good value the night we were there.

Room Tip: Our room was not on the front of the hotel and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandyGeorge_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#15 of 74 in Cardiff
1,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 74 in Cardiff
3,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#22 of 74 in Cardiff
931 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
Clayton Hotel Cardiff
#7 of 74 in Cardiff
2,178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 74 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range: £45 - £197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing