We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location”
Review of The Angel Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Angel Hotel
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Location, location”
Reviewed 30 November 2012

This hotel wasprobably among the best in a bygone era, and it still has that feeling of grandness and character as you enter.
It's primary value is location - just across the road on one stree to the castle, and just across the road on the other street and you are at the Millenium stadium (- incredible for a rugby weekend).
And just a few minutes walk to the pedestrian shopping precinct. or the central station
The hotel itself was comortable - even a comfortable arm chair for a relaxing hot drink before bed,
The staff were very welcoming and helpful.
the hotel offered free Wifi which was quite speedy.
the breakfast was very adequate and about the same price as I paid at a cafe just down the road.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderer574
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    496
    338
    170
    125
See reviews for
192
604
65
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2012

I have stayed at three other hotels in Cardiff over the last few years while visiting my son at college, and this was undoubtedly the most comfortable and welcoming. The room was spotless and everything worked. The car parking was a great bonus and well worth the cost. I wish I had tried the Angel Hotel three years ago!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2012

We stayed just one night at the Angel. Our room was great and well furnished, only problem however was it became extremely hot during the night (air con controls didn't seem to work). The hotel itself is lovely and full of character. The staff were very friendly and very helpful. Only disappointment before we left was the fact that leaving the front door open meant a huge draft coming into the breakfast area...I did mention this to a member of staff but the doors still weren't closed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank visitingwales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here on the 9th November for a night out with friends and was really pleased with the level of service we received,
Check in was efficient and the management trainee Tom on reception was extremely helpful, my room was amazing 306 and had a gorgeous view over looking the castle, the television was a new flat screen and had most channels including radio! This was especially nice while getting ready.
Although our room didnt have an ironing board one was brought to my room within 20 minutes with an apology for it taking so long ..I work in a hotel and see this as quick service considering the time of day I asked for it!
The security of the hotel at night is amazing with the doors being locked after 22:45 you need to provide your room key to gain access from the friendly night staff.
Although I wasn't really feeling breakfast in the morning (bad hangover) I did go down with my roomie and we were welcomed warmly by the lady covering the restaurant entrance also taking an interest in which hotel I came from!
Breakfast buffet was replenished quickly and again I was impressed with the level of service from restaurant and bar staff

I have booked again for my birthday night out in January and hope the level of service remains the same!
Well done to the general manager for the staff overhaul you guys have really outdone yourselves!!

Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ash D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012



I stayed at the Angel Hotel Cardiff on the 16th November 2012 and would like to express how unsatisfactory I found my stay.

You have the hotel advertised as 4 star, however I unfortunately experienced two different rooms in your hotel and neither of them made the bar.

The first room that I was shown to unfortunately had a broken shower. The bath panel was cracked and worn and the general appearance of the whole room was shabby and in ill repair.

When I tried calling reception there was no reply. Three times I called down with no joy and in the end my boyfriend had to go down to make the complaint.

Following a 15 minute wait we were then shown to another room (228). The bathroom in this room thankfully was a great improvement. However, the actual room itself was nothing short of appalling for a 4 star hotel. The carpet was threadbare, there was a broken pain of glass in the window and the air conditioning unit was not working.

Overall, I was deeply disappointed with the whole experience and while I feel your hotel may have once been 4 star rated, at this current time a budget hotel is more appealing than the Angel Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate_Jones85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

We booked our room as a late deal - after reading some reviews we were slightly apprehensive.
The hotel is lovely and the staff are extremely helpful.
Our room was huge. We didn't have a view just bars on the window. The room could do with a bit of redecoration but is clean there were a few long black hairs around (I'm blonde) but nothing over the top.
The bed was very comfortable apart from the pillows, I woke with a bad neck. All through the night there was a constant drone from one of the fans outside of the window so it did disturb you in the night.
But the overall experience was great and not everyone is going to have a fan outside there room. The room offered you everything you could need with trouser press and ironing board amongst just a few. So I would recommend this hotel to any one wanting to experience the heights of Cardiff and an excellent place if your going to the rugby

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Robson35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 November 2012

it makes a change to stay in a hotel where the staff are so welcoming from front desk onwards. the food,the service and the rooms are all first rate, I really enjoyed the stay and have already booked my next visit as it's central position is ideal to travel around Cardiff.

Room Tip: Rear facing as this side is quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
0.3 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 73 in Cardiff
1,187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Cardiff
Jurys Inn Cardiff
#13 of 73 in Cardiff
1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
906 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#8 of 73 in Cardiff
3,039 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 73 in Cardiff
2,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Angel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Angel Hotel

Property: The Angel Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Cardiff CF10 1SZ, Wales
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 73 Hotels in Cardiff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Angel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Angel Hotel is a beautiful Victorian landmark right in the heart of Cardiff. Neatly positioned between the Principality Stadium and Cardiff Castle, its the perfect location for city breaks in Cardiff and for exploring the beautiful countryside and beaches of South Wales.Find out about the city's history at The National Museum of Wales, admire the architecture of Llandaff Cathedral and enjoy shopping, dining and watersports at Cardiff Bay.With 102 modern, air conditioned bedrooms, restaurant and bar, the Angel Hotel Cardiff is the perfect place to stay when exploring this vibrant and historic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Lastminute, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Angel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Cardiff
Angel Hotel Cardiff
The Angel Hotel Cardiff, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing